Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beck Academy

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

I went to Beck for 6th and 7th grade. I honestly have no problem with this school the kids are great when you hang out with the right crowd. The teachers are ok some I feel could be more understanding but there's only a couple I would say aren't so great most are good. We are getting a knew principal this year but from the sounds of it there should be no problems for your kid/ kids.:)


Posted June 15, 2014

This is an excellent middle school. It is well run and my children have gotten a good education at Beck. I like that the kids all wear uniforms. It eliminates a lot of issues that can arise at this age. The school administration is strict with discipline and does not tolerate any fighting or bad behavior. The kids learn from the beginning that there are consequences to their actions. The PTA is very active at Beck and you see strong parent involvement at the school. I was not sure what to expect when my kids moved to middle school, but the Beck staff takes good care of incoming students and I felt at ease right away. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2014

A lot of these review are old. I don't see these issues they are referring to at Beck now. I have a current 6th grader. I have been extremely happy with Beck as a whole. The current principal is excellent! Teachers and staff have been great. I was nervous about middle school because this is my oldest child. Beck has exceeded my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

I attended this school four years ago and I continue to hear great things about it. Everybody I met there was amazing. The students can be trouble at times but the faculty can resolve the issue in a quick, respectful manner. I can say this school truly changed my life. They gave me tools I can use for a lifetime. I was helped instead of put down like I was at several other schools. My grades went from almost failing to strait A's with the help of all the teachers. Today I still use the tools Beck gave to me. Of all 8 schools I've attended Beck Academy has to be my favorite. It is fun, reasonable, and everyone is great! It truly has a place in my heart and will be forever. Thank you, Beck, for helping me.


Posted May 16, 2013

Beck Academy teachers care about our children . They are a group of teachers that work together for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

Best middle school in the state. Very well run. Every school will have a teacher or two with issues, but all the teachers have been great with my kids and do a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

Don't even think about going to this school. It's horible teachers can't control the classroom and horible language is used to a teacher that can't hear, and when she turns around she tells another student to be quiet that didnf't even talk. The 8th grade administrator is also very weird. Her name is Mrs. Abernathey and she may seem nice at first but her attitude depends on weather you want to talk to her or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

I really like the organization plans and this school always tries to get money by having fundraisers and eventually gifts that are very pithetic....But this school is a the best in Greenville County ( education and organization vise)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

It is not the right learning habitat I want my child in. Teachers are weird and awkward, makes me uncomfortable to leave my child there every day of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

Beck Academy rocks!!! There teachers are awesome!!!!! So is The Administerator for 6th and 7th and 8th grade. They are all nice!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Beck Academy has teachers who work hard and care deeply for the education of their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 14, 2009

The staff needs to improve the safety and peer pressure issues at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

There is a lot of drugs and crime including assaults at this school. The activities and high school placement programs are great.. but the crime really pulls down the score
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

Beck Academy is a Great middle school . The principal really does a wonderful job with the students and parents, and is fair with everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

Beck Academy is a great middle school. The staff and principal do a wonderful job with the students. Excellent IB program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students81%
Female84%
Male77%
African-American59%
Asian94%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled36%
Not disabled85%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%

Math

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
African-American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial75%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled23%
Not disabled83%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant77%

Science

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
African-American53%
Asian100%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled17%
Not disabled85%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled53%
Not disabled92%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Writing

All Students80%
Female85%
Male75%
African-American60%
Asian100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled32%
Not disabled85%
English language learners72%
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African-American56%
Asian88%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals54%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled34%
Not disabled79%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant75%

Math

All Students71%
Female76%
Male65%
African-American47%
Asian88%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled17%
Not disabled77%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%

Science

All Students83%
Female86%
Male78%
African-American67%
Asian94%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled39%
Not disabled87%
English language learners78%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female73%
Male67%
African-American50%
Asian94%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial64%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled20%
Not disabled76%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant71%

Writing

All Students82%
Female89%
Male73%
African-American69%
Asian94%
Hispanic66%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled29%
Not disabled88%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
African-American51%
Asian95%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled24%
Not disabled84%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant78%

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
African-American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals57%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled27%
Not disabled86%
English language learners74%
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%

Science

All Students86%
Female83%
Male87%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled37%
Not disabled91%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female76%
Male83%
African-American63%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled17%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant80%

Writing

All Students85%
Female86%
Male85%
African-American70%
Asian95%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled33%
Not disabled91%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 53%
Black 29% 36%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (864) 355-1490

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Woodruff Rd
Greenville, SC 29607
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


GREEN Charter School
Greenville, SC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT