Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestview Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2013

Crestview Elementary is an Outstanding School, it is very Structured with great programs for their students. My child had previously attended a private school and due to relocation, my husband and I decided to try Crestview to see how we liked it. I am impressed and Extremely Satisfied with the education that our child has been receiving. Mr. Langston, Mrs. Suber and the staff at Crestview are Wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

This seems to be a great school on the whole. I have two very different students, and they both are challenged daily with the work they are doing. My first grader has another great teacher this year, but my fourth grader is struggling with a teacher, but I appreciate the attention and advice I've received from the principal and the school psychologist. The staff is wonderful, friendly and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I love this school my son has been attending Crestview since k5 and is now in second grade. The teachers are absolutely wonderful, they are caring and teach very well. My son has learned so much, and is excited about school every day! GREAT principal Mr. Langston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Our 2 children moved to this school from private school and I was very concerned about the quality of education they would receive and how attentive the teachers would be. We have been very pleased with the staff at this school and how much our kids have learned in the short time they have been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The school is exceptional in academics and and the teachers are great. They have also won awards nationwide. I have 2 grandchildren who attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The absolute caring of the personnel and the quality of the teachers and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I'm a new parent to this school and my daughter (1st grader) has adapted wonderfully to the school. The pickup system was a bit of a curveball for us, as we had never heard of such a thing, but seems to be well-organized and mostly problem free. Meals are much better than the other public school system we came from, and my daughter comes home daily with lots of positive things. Parent/teacher communication seems above par. Teachers actually have email - and read it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I love the school Crestview, but as far as picking up your child, the system is totally messed up. There is always problems picking up my daughter. The whole picking up ordeal is totally unorganized. My views are changing toward the school because of this. There is no one at the door in the mornings-not one aduld to properly ensure your child enters. If this keeps up then my child will not resume here next year. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

With three kids that go to Crestview, we have over the years dealt with nine different teachers. Each and every one has been wonderful! They have each been well educated, caring, and involved, taking the time to get to know my children on a very personal level. I believe the quality of teachers at Crestview also speaks volumes about the leadership at Crestview. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I think this is a terrible school. My daughter was in this school for k-5 through 4th grade and learned absolutely nothing with the exception of being in mrs. Young's 1st grade class. They should clone mrs. Young and put her in every classroom and then the school might be ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

I have a 7 year daughter at this school, this school is wonderful! Haven't found nothing to complain about yet and thats a plus for me because I usually find something. Wonderful school, great principals, and A-1 wonderful teachers and staff! Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students93%
Female97%
Male87%
African-American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals89%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled76%
Not disabled96%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%

Math

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
African-American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White80%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled29%
Not disabled80%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%

Science

All Students56%
Female48%
Male65%
African-American47%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Subsidized meals42%
Full-pay meals79%
Disabled43%
Not disabled61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant56%

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female89%
Male64%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%

Writing

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled50%
Not disabled94%
English language learners93%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female91%
Male88%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students78%
Female72%
Male84%
African-American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled82%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%

Writing

All Students84%
Female93%
Male77%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students84%
Female92%
Male78%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled39%
Not disabled93%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant84%

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled28%
Not disabled88%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant79%

Science

All Students78%
Female79%
Male78%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant78%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled40%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant81%

Writing

All Students77%
Female81%
Male74%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled29%
Not disabled86%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 53%
Black 21% 36%
Hispanic 16% 7%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 American Legion Rd
Greer, SC 29651
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT