Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Greer, SC
Students enrolled: 1,541

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverside High School 4

Posted December 27, 2014
- a community member
Riverside in the mid 2000s was the academic superpower of Greenville County. However, that title has been handed over to the Generals at Wade Hampton. At this point, Riverside is slipping academically, and that was essentially the only thing going for them. Facilities are bland and extremely institutional, spirit is mediocre compared to that of other area high schools, and students are very cliquey. Drugs are also a prevalent issue at RHS. If you want athletics, go to Greer. If you want a community, go to Eastside. For academics, go to Wade Hampton. Riverside is second rate in these areas to local schools.

Riverside High School 3

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
School looks great on paper but if you are looking at moving to the area you might want to consider other schools. The atmosphere at the school is not welcoming.


Riverside High School 1

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
Moving to Greer, SC? Stay away from Riverside High School. Counselors & athletic coaches are pretty good, good band program but teachers are hugely disappointing and don't care about their students. School is clickish. Students not accepting of new students at all. Lack of school spirit and team atmosphere. Choose a different school. No reviews since 2012 until recently and there's a reason why the reviews are poor. Spent 1 year at Riverside and moved to a different Greenville County High School.

Riverside High School 2

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
New to SC, new to Greer, new to Greenville county, relocated from a very diverse Atlanta, GA. First two days of school for a sophomore and senior. Faculty and staff have been very informative and helpful. Students, well, it's High School, but....diverse it's not and it shows. Our children are coming from Gifted/High Achiever Programs. Oh, and our children are White, just not the mainstream, they are artistic, creative, musically inclined, don't play golf or lacrosse, look different than most. I fully realize it's very early, but to a teenager, it's now and forever. I'll post again related to what they take away, education, preparation for college. Very concerned about my choice to relocate our family..

Riverside High School 5

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
We are moving back home from GA just so that our boys can graduate from RHS! As parents we love the school, teachers and staff. Our sons love the school just as much if not more.


Riverside High School 5

Posted March 24, 2011
- a student
Very competitive school; the YIG program and speech and debate is great and the teachers are academically challenging; overall, it is a great school.

Riverside High School 4

Posted February 16, 2011
- a student
Riverside High School is VERY difficult! It is by far the most difficult school in the county. Most of the teachers are very good at what they do. They all have different teaching styles, but for the most part they are all well above the average teacher. This school has a reputation of being such a great school. I dont know how to define great but its forsure a totally academic driven style school, "Work first, play later", should be our school motto.

Riverside High School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a parent
We had hoped to find an equivalent school outside the Riverside district, because it is closed to students asking special admission from outside it's attendance area. People get a lot more for their houses within the district, simply because of the schools, and we could have found a dream home for half the price. Our daughter attended Riverside while we lived locally and looked for permanent digs. She came from a very progressive IB school and refuses to consider any alternatives here in the Greenville area. As a serious academic, I have to trust her judgment. All my interactions with the staff have been positive and there is a genuine sense of compassion for kids with issues. This is the school you want your kid in if they are a serious student, otherwise, one of the other schools will suffice. Eastside has leadership issues. If these were addressed, the school would no doubt be on par with Riverside.


Riverside High School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Riverside High School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
We are new to the area/state this year. I had much hesitation when I knew we were moving to SC because their schools have such a bad reputation. I have to say that we are pleasantly suprised! We are very pleased with Riverside schools - both elementary and the high school. Great teachers, touch curriculum, lots of activities and sports for the kids to participate in, great kids, great, involved families. Very happy with this school system.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverside High School
794 Hammett Bridge Rd, Greer, SC  29650
(864) 355-7800
Last modified Riverside High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Riverside High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top