Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Buena Vista Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all of the other parents out there that have been willing to put their foot down on policies that take away lunch and recess from our children and the inordinate amount of homework that is assigned at the higher grades

Buena Vista Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
There are some great teachers at this school but the focus seems to be on test scores rather than learning and bad school policies have a negative impact in the classroom


Buena Vista Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
The recommended amount of homework for a 5th grader is 50 minutes. My daughter could easily do two or three hours of homework every week day with what is sent home, but I try my best to limit it.It has ruined our evenings.

Buena Vista Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been so turned off from from learning that she has asked me to pull her out of the school. This school places an impossible workload on its students to the point where it is not uncommon to see children doing school work at lunch. I am sure that some students are so discouraged that they just want to give up

Buena Vista Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
A parent's rights are not respected at the school. Students can see that their parents are not welcome in the building, in the classroom, and seem to have no say in the types of punishment their children receive. I once parked my car in the school parking lot so that I could walk my children to the door. I was held at the crosswalk in front of the building for an extended period of time, and was not permitted to cross until literally right after the late bell rang. The principal later explained this was the new policy in order to discourage parents from parking and walking their children to the door. When I noted that the policy was not in the handbook at that time and the crosswalk appeared open and expressed my concern that I would intentionally be held outside until my children were late I was threatened with being banned from the school. All of this happened right in front of my children. I had not raised my voice or anything, just stated that the policy was mean spirited. I left in tears that day. I firmly believe if you want to teach respect you need to model that behavior to children and that is not what the school does


Buena Vista Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
Students are sometimes humiliated in class when they do not know the answer to a question. an electronic system displays answers for the entire class to see. Students are punished with silent lunch where no one can speak to them and they may not speak to their friends. They face this punishment if they have not completed homework, were unable to finish classwork, or had a behavior problem such as talking in class.

Buena Vista Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
If students are not treated with honesty, integrity, and fairness it will be difficult for them to learn these qualities

Buena Vista Elementary School 1

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has faced many problems while attending this school. She is in the fifth grade and comes home with a mountain of homework, classwork, and projects to complete. It has interfered with both family and play time. At school, if unable to finish her work, she is given a silent lunch as well as work to complete instead of finishing her meal. She has been threatened with receiving a zero for assignments she does not complete at lunch. I have had much trouble ensuring that her IEP is followed and that she is not continually humiliated in class. There are other problems with the school as well. Access to the school is severely limited. Parents will find it difficult to observe a typical day or even walk a younger one to class. Safety is a concern also, as I have found gates to the water retention pond behind the school wide open on more than one occasion and in the past even observed children directing traffic on school property.


Buena Vista Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
everyone at buena vista cares about our children.have always had good experiencs with all the wonderfful teachers.

Buena Vista Elementary School 2

Posted August 07, 2012
- a parent
My son had a terrible situation with his teacher and we only got lip service from the administration. By the time I realized that nothing was going to change, it was too late in the year to change classes or schools. This school has some wonderful teachers. We were fortunate for have them for 4 years, but the last year was a nightmare. If you suspect a problem with a teacher, try to check it out immediately. Don't assume a school that has some excellent teachers can't/won't have an awful teacher(s). Don't assume the administration is going to help you. They have allowed this teacher to behave this way (to some degree) for years. If they make it inconvenient for you to spend time in the classroom or if they won't let you show up on short notice, assume something is wrong. It's a waiting game. If they can stall you long enough, you won't be able to pull your child out of the class without disrupting their academic experience. I am so disappointed that this last year tainted all the good memories we had at this school

Nearby schools

Buena Vista Elementary School
310 South Batesville Rd, Greer, SC  29650
(864) 355-2200
Last modified Buena Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top