Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hanahan Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 1025 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

I am a parent of a 2nd and 3rd grade student. We have been at hanahan for 3 years! What a wonderful school! The kindergarten did have too many kids, but the district brought in another teacher and fixed the problem in October of 2007. My kids have always been able to talk to any teacher whether it was their own or someone one else's. The kids that are dropped off early, must sit in the hallways and read a book. I see nothing wrong with that, that enables me to get to my job on time. There had never been any hollering in the halls! Hanahan is an excellent school, with excellent teachers and staff. They make you feel welcomed in the office!! Try it and you will fall in love with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

I have a third grader and kindergartener at HES - we are very pleased with the school! The teachers are caring and really go the extra mile to teach the children well. There is very little turnover with the staff - and that says a lot about the leadership! Just to clarify a previous post - Hanahan Elementary goes up to 4th grade. 5th grade is when they go to the middle school. The PTA does a nice job - but their communication with parents could be better (asking for volunteers for events like bookfairs with a little more than a day or two's notice). It's a clean, well-kept school - a great place for kids to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

We have been with hanahan 2 years now and everything about it is wonderful.My only dislike is tht my child will be moving up to the middle school for 5th grade.I just hope the middle school involvement is as good or better than the elementary school has been.Thank you Mr Sparkman for making this a wonderful time for my child. Mrs Stegall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I have a first grader and a second grader at HES who have both attended since the K-4 program so this will be our 4th year of experience with the school. We love the teachers, the atmosphere, everything...but I do have one nagging concern. The school no longer goes to grade 5 as shown in your overview. It now stops with 3rd grade. I am very concerned about my children moving to middle school when they start 4th grade. This seems very young to me to attend a school that goes up to 8th grade. I guess the real issue is a question of concern with the middle school and the staff's ability to address the needs of these younger kids coming into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

I think the school is great but would like to see something done with the Transportation. I have had MANY days where the bus has been 45 min. late to pick up the kids. Some days the bus never showed up at all. We MUST do better than this. All my phone calls and trips to the school got me know where. when I took my child to the office and asked where the bus was, The staff member told me I have no idea. Wow that made me feel great to send my child out into the world and the staff has no idea where my child is. I have gone so far as to keep my child home on the day the bus never came. Thats when I got some help from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

This is an excellent school. I have a child that attended there and one currently attending. Their test scores are consistently higher than that of other districts schools. The principal and teachers are very concerned and caring professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

Any employee at Hanahan Elementary that I have come in contact with has been friendly, concerned about the students and their welfare and an overwhelming joy to be around. The principal, assistant principal, teachers, office staff, custodions, it doesn't matter, they are all wonderful caring people. I thank them for taking such wonderful care of my children and molding their little minds in the right way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

One of the best public schools around. Have (2) children at this school and couldn't be happier with the faculty and staff at Hanahan Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Wonderful learning environment, with many after school activities for the busy parent. Latch-Key is a great program for the working parent. Teachers are more than accomodating when it comes to students who may need a little extra help. We have always been able to get in touch with our students teacher with no problem, and she has always been there when our student needed her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
African-American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled68%
Not disabled95%
English language learners78%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial83%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled50%
Not disabled90%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students79%
Female79%
Male80%
African-American71%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled39%
Not disabled86%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female91%
Male96%
African-American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals93%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled95%
English language learners90%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%

Writing

All Students81%
Female89%
Male76%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled52%
Not disabled84%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students90%
Female90%
Male89%
African-American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled50%
Not disabled95%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male89%
African-American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled50%
Not disabled93%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Science

All Students89%
Female86%
Male90%
African-American77%
Asian92%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled50%
Not disabled94%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female86%
Male93%
African-American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled59%
Not disabled94%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
African-American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled41%
Not disabled94%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 53%
Black 17% 36%
Hispanic 14% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Mabeline Rd
Hanahan, SC 29410
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 553-3290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Midland Park Primary
North Charleston, SC



Pinehurst Elementary School
North Charleston, SC


Northside Christian School
North Charleston, SC


Northwood Academy
North Charleston, SC


Northwood Academy
Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT