Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hilton Head Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 52 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hilton Head...

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $359,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $873.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

The School challenges students to excel in every matter. My son is in Kindergarten and He is already reading at the First Grade Level. I am very happy with the quality of education teachers provide and the sense of family towards the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Hilton Head Preparatory is the best possible fit for my daughter and I believe this would be true for most students. What I think is the most important is the sense of family or inclusion. It is a relatively small school and that is the strength of the experience. My daughter has attended an excellent highly rated school prior to Prep, but since we moved here, she has easily embraced the new experience. She "loves it" her words and although she misses her former school, she has settled right into Prep seemlessly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

The Athletics and Arts at PREP are strongly supported by the parents, as is the fundraising. Thats what makes a well rounded school and this faculty know they are all appreciated. I am delighted with all of my childrens math & science teachers so far. As well as math, science & english my lower school children study spanish, computer, strings, piano and singing, as well as passing Presidential fitness awards, cheerleading and participating in extraordinary Arts productions. The great guidance/health team offer these small children big buddies & mentors as well as an environmentally conscience campus and a new progressive approach to discipline. A well-rounded, happy child is what I require from a great school and thats what you can acheive at PREP by embracing the program and supporting the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I've had three children graduate from HHPrep and am very pleased with the preparation and opportunity that resulted from their 12yrs there. After Prep, my children have attended Dartmouth College, Loyola University and UPenn Law School. I am confident that the combination of quality teaching, college prep curriculum, faculty support and extra-curricular opportunities encouraged them to pursue higher goals and has contributed to the success they each are beginning to experience. Prep can be a special place for each child, whether scholastic, athletic, artistic, technical or 'undetermined'. The faculty, staff and administration are mindful to do what they can to prepare the child for college and ultimately for life. I highly recommend the Prep experience to parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

I have three children at Hilton Head Prep and have experienced the educational and developmental benefits at all three levels - lower middle and upper schools. I came from a large highly rated independent school in the northeast and have been 100% satisfied with our experience at Prep. My children have excelled academically, have been loved and cared for by a very special group of teachers and have been given the opportunity to participate in a huge number of available activities. My children are very different and Prep meets all of their needs. I have also enjoyed the close community feeling that encompasses the whole school from the faculty, to the students, to the parents. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

I am a upper school parent and I can tell you that the academics are very old and dull. Many parents are complaining that kids are not being challenged. Yes they have great ARTS and it is all you hear about. They focus more on the ARTS then anything else, except sports. The school recently wasted nearly $100,000 on a drama production but, like someone else here said, science takes a backseat. SAT scores are low and most of the kids graduate and go to Univ of South Carolina Beaufort so those with kids in the Upper School are not impressed. We have one year left at Prep and I am worried because the headmaster and many others are leaving or have been fired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

I think HHP is an excellent school but I would like to see more focus on math and science and less focus on fundraising, drama and sports. - Mary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

The school is outstanding and boasts a new athletic facility that would rival any top-notch boarding school. The arts at this school are incredible -- with some of the best performing arts and visual arts around. HH Prep is by far the choice for the serious student in math. The teachers at Prep are caring people.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2006

Great involved school - all students accepted to good colleges. Most students from wealthy families so there is some keeping up with the Jones, but teachers control and give a well rounded education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

The school is well run and all students have been accepted to good colleges. For a small school they offer good sports program and good teachers. We are pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

Hilton Head Prep is a FANTASTIC school! The teachers are wonderful. The staff is incredible. HHP is by far the best educational choice on the island. They offer a variety of programs and educational opportunities. My daughter was in public school last year and there were so many problems. (Overcrowded, behavior issues, lack of teacher experience, etc). I am so glad we switched to Prep. My daughter is so happy and excited to go to school each morning. Her skills and abilities in math and reading are much more advanced as compared to her public school friends. Prep is worth every penny. I couldn't be more pleased and proud to be part of the Prep community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

I recently moved with my three children to Hilton Head and wouldn't have made the move without a quality school like Hilton Head Prep available for my children's education. During this first year at the school I was continually impressed by the faculty, the administration, the other families and the community feel of the environment. Teachers know and love my children and I feel 100% confident that they are getting the best possible education. The curriculum is challenging and the faculty work hard with each individual child challenging them to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

I had 3 children attend this school and one graduated while the other two switched to the public school. I found that the school offers different things for different children. It definitely benefited my oldest child with its small size, safe environment and 'community like' atmosphere being its strongest assests. As far as the educational experience it is not any different than the public schools, in fact it offers far less choices academically. My children who attend the public school have many more options open to them both academically and extra curricular, which will better prepare them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Black 5% 36%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • SCISA Master Teacher (2006)
  • SCISA Master Teacher (2006)
  • SCISA Teacher of the Year (2005)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:30 1:30 fri
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Anthony Kandel
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (843) 671-7624

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College preparatory
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8 Foxgrape Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 671-2286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sea Pines Montessori Academy
Hilton Head Island, SC


Heritage Academy
Hilton Head Island, SC





Hilton Head Island High School
Hilton Head Island, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT