Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Francis Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hilton Head...

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $873.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2009

My 2 children have been at Saint Francis school for the last 5 years and I am absolutely thrilled with the school, it's staff, and curriculum. The environment is wonderful, as a parent, you are always welcomed to involved in activities and programs. I have a personal relationship with just about every staff member and can attest to the professionalism and caring environment they strive to maintain. Sain Francis School is fabulous!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Both my sons attend St. Francis and I could not be happier with the education and Christian foundation they are learning here. It is comforting to a parent to know that my child is safe and in a loving environment when at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

This school is exceptional. The expectations are that of a college prep school and students leave well prepared for high school. Most enter honors programs with ease due to the education they recieved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I have experience with three different schools on Hilton Head. St. Francis is, by far, tops in my book. The academics are strong and the extra-curricular opportunities continue to grow. The recent addition of the fine arts center and the completion of the new gym in 2010 allow for a well rounded scholastic experience. The teachers and principal are also top notch and responsive. I have always found them willing to listen and respond when necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

This is a small school with a nurturing environment where the teachers know every student in the school and know students' families. The academics are challenging and students are never left behind. My fifth grader's work was an entire year ahead of that of a fifth grader in the public school. Character and spiritual development is emphasized and the students are generally happy, considerate and kind to each other. Expectations are high and students are encouraged to do their best. Teachers are always available. The student population is diverse. The ecomonic status of families is diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

This is a great school. Our children have attended for four years. Our middle schooler went into all honors classes at the high school like most of her classmates and found them a breeze after attending St. Francis.n The English program is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

St. Francis is the best school in the area. I have had children at both the public and another private school and St. Francis is far better than either of them. The academics are far above avergae and the teacher expectations are high. A lot is ecpected of the students, especially at middle school, but the help they need is provided. My son is an excellent writer because of the school and has excelled in high school. There is no way I would put my other children in any other local school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

We extensivley reviewd our choices for our children and sent them to St. Francis Catholic School this year. The school has far exceeded our expectations. The school Principal Dr.Rockers does an amazing job leading the teachers and students through the school year. The teachers and especially the Dominican Sisters are fabulous. This year has been a wonderful journey and I am so happy with every area from curriculum to the religous aspect. It is a sweet family school that is well rounded. I would surmise that anyone that is not happy with the school is not truely involved with what is happening in the classrooms. It is a special and lovng school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I am a parent with one child currently at this school. Since we moved here five years ago the school has been steadily improving each year. We are very happy and know that this is the best school for our daughter in this area. We are especially pleased with the presence of the amazing young Sisters who have made an undescribable impression on our daughter as well as us. The school is small but succeeds in offering sports and camps etc. If you are in search of a school with true Catholic teaching, you will be content here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

St. Francis School is a fantastic school. The education is outstanding, the teachers do a fantastic job of meeting each students individual needs. The dominican nuns and teachers are very religously based. The teachers are strict, but only when they need to be. The school easily meets its mission statement, and its always nice to see the kids taking a part at the school masses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

As not onIy a parent of a student here, but a public elementary school educator, St. Francis is one of the best educational environments in the area. Expectations are not only high for all students, they are attainable. The principal and faculty work together with the students and parents to ensure success academically, socially, and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

Our children have been attending St. Francis for three years. We are very happy with the education our children are receiving at St. Francis. We look forward to our daughter starting Pre-K in the Fall. Just as at any school 'It is what you make of it'. When the parents are involved the children thrive. All of the teachers are very approachable and are a willing to work with the students with special concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

My son has been attending St. Francis for the past two years. St. Franics has exceeded our expectations. The teaching - both on academic subjects and in developing student's individual faith - is outstanding. Parents are involved, the principal is level-headed and approachable, and the teaching - particularly by the school's young sisters from the Dominican Sisters of Mary - is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

I have 2 grandchildren is this school and am very disappointed in the teaching, loads of homework and the strictness of grading. Their expectations of kids these ages are much too high and is taking emotional tolls on kids and parents.


Posted February 23, 2004

This school needs help! It is inconsistent in its teaching and discipline. The principal is a dividing force and the teachers follow along. They do not use and resources they are given. It is a shame they couldn't attempt to reach their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

i think that this school needs a lot of improvment. the uniform codes are ridiculus. the middle school needs more independence and the principal needs to get a lot more realistic.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 53%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 36%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Beach City Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
Phone: (843) 681-6501

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hilton Head Christian Academy
Hilton Head Island, SC


Hilton Head Island Middle School
Hilton Head Island, SC




Heritage Academy
Hilton Head Island, SC


Hilton Head Preparatory School
Hilton Head Island, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT