Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ballentine Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 750 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2011

This is a national blue ribbon school and there is just none better. The teacher email you multiple times weekly, the social things are just right for the age groups, the teachers care, the parents participate. You will be lucky to find a house in this school area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

I MOVED FROM PENNSYLVANIA AND LOOKED AT MANY SCHOOLS IN THE AREA AND BALLENTINE WAS BY FAR THE BEST THERE ARE SO MANY GREAT TEACHERS THERE AND THE WHOLE STAFF IS VERY WELCOMING AND DEDICATED TO THE CHILDREN.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We moved from a wonderful district in another state. We didn't think we could find a school that met the special needs of our children. Ballentine exceeds our expectations! The staff love their jobs and it shows. The teachers have always welcomed me into their classrooms. Our family loves Ballentine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

I have 9 year old son and 7 years old daughter. Fourth grader and Ist grader. My kids are so happy in this school. Both kids love this school. All the teachers and staff are wonderful. Mrs. Setzer (4th grade) and Mrs. Duncan (Ist grade) and Mrs. Lane for 2nd grade are the best teacher I have ever met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

My son is in 5th grade and my daughter is in 2nd .My kids have been going to BES from last three years.I am highly satisfied with BES.School take care of all kids needs and education things.Teachers are really wonderfull.Ms Davis is best teacher in 5th grade. Garima Srivastava
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

BES is everything my wife and I had hoped. We added 1hr to our commute to send our kids to the best elementary school in the state. I met Dr. Brockhard (principal) at Dutch Fork Elementary prior to the opening of BES and knew that she would lead the school to its full potential. Parents have not been disappointed and she sets high goals. This school taps into the childs inner desire to learn and then looks at mom and dad and says
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

This is a nuturing, academically successful school. they have a wonderful library and information technology. BES has just won the SC reading exemplary school award. The teaching is phenomenal and parent involvement is encouraged.There are alot of parents and grandparents involved. There is an open door policy in all classrooms so you can come in anytime and watch how your child is taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

We have a daughter in kindergarten and as many parents are, we were nervous about sending her to kindergarten. We attended the kindergarten tea in May and we fell in love with the school. Everyone made us feel welcome and I was amazed at the childrens involvement even at the kindergarten level. We live close by and are fortunate to be able to walk to school. Daily we speak with the principal and other staff members. My husband and I both volunteer in the classroom and feel very welcomed from the time we step foot on school property. My daughters teachers truely love what they do and it shows in how they treat each child. I cannot say enough about Ballentine Elementary and the staff. We are very lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

This is our first year at Ballentine, and I must say that I am overly impressed with the quality of teachers, staff, safety etc. I feel extremely blessed to be involved with such a great school! The parent/teacher involvement continues to exceed my expectations every day. I highly recommend Ballentine Elementary and look forward to the following years as both of my children grow with the help of this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

My family and I moved to SC in June 2004. With two school aged children (kindergarten and second grade), I was concerned about the quality of schools in SC. After researching test scores for schools in Lexington/Richland 5, I decided that it was the best district. I then visited Ballentine and was amazed at the warm welcome that I received. Everyone from the custodial staff to the cafeteria workers were welcoming and friendly. Dr. Brockhardt is a wonderful principal who sincerely cares for all the students at her school. My children both have teachers that are phenomenal. The communtication between teachers and parents is great. I can (and have) e-mailed my children's teachers with questions and get answers the same day. I can't say enough good things about the school. If you are moving to the area, you owe it to your kids to visit Ballentine Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

My family moved here from PA last November(2003). I was nervous because my children had gone to private school and wasn't sure if i would like the public school system. I was told District 5 is the best in the state and Ballentine surpassed all my expectations. My kids and I love the school and all the faculty. It is a very safe, loving and wolcoming place for the students as well as the parents. I can honestly say I love it more then my old school in PA, and that says a lot. I never thought that would happen in a million years. I will even go as far to say that it is the BEST school in the entire district, then again I am biased With much Appreciation, Andrea Crusan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

My children attended both Ballentine and River Springs. I am not impressed with either schools, they tend not to push African American children in the correct directions. For example, the second grade teacher thought my child's expectations were to high. My second grader wanted to reach the high expectation of reading in higher grades. It is a struggle for teachers willing to tutor children, finally one teacher did. I was so excited. I would advise seek private school for African American children. These schools are not as wonderful as they seem to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Excellent teachers! Great learning environment! Much parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled86%
Not disabled98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled79%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%

Science

All Students88%
Female84%
Male93%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female89%
Male93%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%

Writing

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled79%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students94%
Female98%
Male90%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled90%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant94%

Math

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
African-American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled90%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%

Science

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled90%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female94%
Male94%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled90%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant94%

Writing

All Students91%
Female97%
Male86%
African-American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled70%
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
African-American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled64%
Not disabled99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male96%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled79%
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Not migrant95%

Science

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Not migrant95%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals98%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Not migrant99%

Writing

All Students87%
Female93%
Male83%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled15%
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 53%
Black 11% 36%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1040 Bickley Rd
Irmo, SC 29063
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 476-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT