Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Charleston Collegiate School

Private | PK-12 | 211 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Johns Island

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

Loving the teacher ,students and class sizes at this school. No to mention the the specials twice a week. Plus all the extras like character building, yoga classes and outdoor classrooms. We toured many other schools but half way through the tour we looked at each other and said this is the one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

My daughter loves to go to school. She wants to be there all week, even the summer. To me, that says CCS is doing something right. Is she learning? You bet! She reads 2-3 grade levels above her own, enjoys the Outdoor Education Class, loves taking drama, has been learning Spanish since kindergarten, etc.... etc! Is it right for your child? Come to an open house!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Even though CCS is not a religious school, I sense God's good pleasure with this campus and faculty. It is a bit of heaven where each faculty member is on the same team as the student, nurturing in them the best that they can be, seeing them through God's eyes of appreciation instead of being out to get them. They are caught doing something good. There is consequently a sense of family among the students, a trust and support of one another. It is not cool to be against the school or teachers because the school and teachers are not against you. CCS provides a positive learning environment in small classroom settings where the tension level is reduced significantly because the school believes that most of a student's work, including projects, should be done at school. Family life is restored. School spirit is high. Hacker Burr is the embodiment of the schools ideals as headmaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

We are new to the school this year and both of our kids are doing great in middle and high school. Having transitioned from a very competitive school in the northeast, we have been very pleased with the variety of academic opportunities, including an entrepreneurship class. The student body is amazing. I have never seen a group of kids so polite and friendly. It is truly a family environment with great school spirit. The school is truly diverse which provides a real life environment. The new head of the school will make great things happen. Can't say enough; good things. It has made our family's transition to the area very smooth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Awesome school with dedicated staff and beautiful surroundings. There is such a feeling of family at this school, which is why it is so loved. A nice mix of hands-on and traditional curriculum, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

I have been a parent at CCS going on 9 years and we are very pleased with the education our children are receiving. We are fortunate to have found such a wonderful school where our children can flourish and grow into young adults. It is a nice feeling to know that when you drop off your child in the morning you know they are happy, safe, and well taken care of. A great place to have your children thrive preschool through 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

My children have attended for two years. We love the small environment but would have to agree with another parent reviewer that the school standards seem to be slipping for the sake of admitting anyone. There seems to be no push for the students to do well and the curriculum this past year seems even more easy and not challenging. Location can't be beat for the area but not sure if this school fills the needs of the students that can be challenged academically which is why they tend to lose the good students each year to other private and charter schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

This is my sons fourth year at CCS. I have been increasingly impressed with the school each year. Dr. Shirlely has opened the school to a more diverse population which has met with some controversy with some parents. I have found that the acceptance of all types of students adds to the realness of life learning skills. The teachers are outstanding, in my opinion, and the attention given to my child has been wonderful. I know that he feels like an important part of the school and that he really enjoys his relationships with the faculty. There is a definite feeling of family here, and a sense of caring about the future of the students. His grades have been great and the opportunity for extra-curricular activities is abundant. I feel that the school has a very safe and secure environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

Good school. The headmaster is a great man and leader. With good teachers (for the most part) and good athletics, it is hard to pass up. And they just added a state championship in football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

Under Dr. Robison's leadership, this school soared. My children excelled, were qualified for college, and both were accepted at the colleges of their choice. Since Dr.Shirley's arrival, much of the good that Dr. Robison had done seems to be disappearing. The school is growing, but at the expense of academics. Admission standards were lowered, so that more students 'could' be accepted. Academics appear to be on the decline, and student publications have drastically declined in both quality, maturity, and the use of correct English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

This school is much better than the best local public schools. The biggest asset is the head master. He is open to new ideas and has a strong sense of what this school can be. The athletic dept. is improving continuously. The teaching staff overall is good but still needs some adjustments. There is a growing parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Charleston Collegiate's strongest attribute is it's excellent faculty. My child has been in four different schools and I have not seen a more dedicated faculty. They are willing to work with him in academics, athletics, and in the arts. I could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

I think that this school is extraordinarily good. My child has been going here for roughley 8 years. She has never had many problems with this at this school. She has attended through the Shurlds headmastery and now through the Robinson headamstery (for he is leaving the school after this year) and I expect her to be there through some of the Shirly headmastery. I have to admit that the school wasn't at it's fittest while Shurlds was running it but ever since Robinson took over, I think that he restored it to fine working order and Shirly will do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2004

Both of my children attended Chas.Collegiate when it was Sea Island Academy. While they were there, they were both honor-roll students. When we decided to move them to another school (for many reasons: concerns over the lack of discipline, nagging fears about the academics, etc.), we were stunned to discover that they were extremely far behind their peers in many areas, most noted and most importantly, in math and English. Both children were tutored extensively for several years, and only the younger child was really able to make up the lost information. Since that time, Sea Island has changed its name to Chas. Collegiate and the faculty/administration has made great efforts to improve the school. And while many parents are pleased, I have met many who still voice the same concerns that I had when my children were there. Clearly, there is still work to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 53%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Black 7% 36%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (843) 559-6172

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2024 Academy Road
Johns Island, SC 29455
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 559-6172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Haut Gap Middle School
Johns Island, SC


St. Johns High School
Johns Island, SC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT