Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

St. John's is a small school, this is an advantage for our student. some can get the one on one that is needed by some of our student. Our teacher's work very hard with out student . We have various learning style hear at St. John's. We have teacher's that star after school to work with our students. Some come in early morning, some meet students at the library.
November 04, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Johns High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
Respect is a big issue in the local community and St. John's works hard to make sure every student feels that they can gain and give respect. Students are encouraged to treat each other with respect.

St. Johns High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
Many students' natural tendency is to look for the easy way out of a situation. Teachers at STJ do not allow students to be slack; rather, teachers encourage students to learn things the right way and to push for daily successes.


St. Johns High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
St. John's works hard to make sure students are prepared to life after high school by holding them to realistic standards of honesty and integrity. With the small student body there is no room for unfairness- everyone gets treated with respect.

St. Johns High School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
The administration has a vision for success and the teachers are very supportive and caring. Most teachers arrive early and almost all stay late to work with students. The AP academy is just starting out but offers plenty of opportunity to prepare for college. There are ample electives and all the teachers are working hard to make St. John's a great school to attend.

St. Johns High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
In fitting with the administration's vision for success at STJ each teacher demonstrates their efficacy through student scores, parent contact, and standards-based teaching.


St. Johns High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
The teachers work hard to show a kind and caring attitude to each student, even when the student behaves poorly. The faculty and staff lead by example at St. John's.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
St. John's is a small school, this is an advantage for our student. some can get the one on one that is needed by some of our student. Our teacher's work very hard with out student . We have various learning style hear at St. John's. We have teacher's that star after school to work with our students. Some come in early morning, some meet students at the library.
Posted November 04, 2015

St. Johns High School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a teacher
Small school setting that has experienced teachers that care about the students. Student teacher ratio helps reinforce individualized instruction.


St. Johns High School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a student
The classes are great especially the teachers they go beyond their work times to help kids out and try and do everything to help the kids understand the work.

St. Johns High School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are very motivated and invested in their students. They care for the education of the students in their care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Johns High School
1518 Main Rd, Johns Island, SC  29455
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (843) 559-6400
Last modified St. Johns High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top