Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Strom Thurmond High School 5

Posted September 21, 2012
- a student
Great school. I was class of 2012 and really enjoyed my 4 years as a Rebel! Great teachers (for the most part) who really care about the students and love the subjects they teach. I would highly recommend Strom Thurmond to anyone.

Strom Thurmond High School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a student
Strom Thurmond High School would be the best high school to send your child to if you live in Edgefield County School. The school has so much to offer academically, numerous award winning extracurricular activities, and a family friendly enviroment that helps with the students learning experience and education. The school has its own magnet school, Thurmond Statesmen Institute, and has a career center that offers a diverse number of career furthuring classes. The career center is right behind the school and also has a terrific teaching staff like the high school itself. Thee school is a great school but also recognizes it has problems but what school doesnt. Except at Strom Thurmond administration dont overlook the problems but strive to fix them so the students can continue recieving the best education they can get. I am a current student of the school and I am proud to be student at Strom Thurmond High School. If I had to do it again I wouldn't change a thing.


Strom Thurmond High School 1

Posted August 09, 2012
- a student
Strom Thurmond High School is a terrible school and I would not recommend it to anyone. When I am older, I will make sure that my children do not attend such a school! The lack of discipline is awful; the majority of the student population is impudent, not willing to learn, and are lacking a proper education. The advanced classes that are offered at STHS can be a little challenging at times, but let me tell you, the majority of students in them are nothing to be proud of. In STHS it seems as if the clubs and sports are more important than getting an education. The school itself is rather unsanitary; they've got cockroaches and mice running around in the place! The teachers are not entirely thorough in what they teach. One thing I especially hate is the forced participation: Several of the teachers will force you to get in front of the class and force you to work out/answer problems while at the disposal of the class, not even realizing how stressful/nerve-wracking that can be for some of the students. It should be an option to get up in front of the class and make a fool of yourself. I mean presentations are one thing, but working out problems for the whole class? No!

Strom Thurmond High School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Strom Thurmond High School 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
We have the great teachers working to develop tomorrow's leaders


Strom Thurmond High School 4

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Strom Thurmond High School 4

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
I am impressed with the pride and care the Teachers and students have for the school. If you like small town and big football you will like this school.

Strom Thurmond High School 0
no rating

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
Pretty good school. Not as great as these other reviews say but whatever. I will say that most of the teachers truly care about the students but a lot of them aren't very good in my opinion.


Strom Thurmond High School 3

Posted January 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Strom Thurmond High School 5

Posted November 08, 2008
- a student
its amazing. great teachers. great friends. great sports. great everything.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Strom Thurmond High School
1131 Columbia Rd, Johnston, SC  29832
(803) 275-1768
Last modified Strom Thurmond High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Strom Thurmond High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.