Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

College Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

great school, teachers and staff.. love this school...my boys grade went up when they started at cpe...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2013

I feel very blessed that one of my boys has been able to attend CPE. He was involved in many activities. The teachers kept me updated at a moment's notice. The instruction is out of this world. The teachers are very inviting not only for the students but parents also. The school has an open door policy. It is obvious the main focus is the success of each and every student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

College Park Elementary's teachers are extremely hard working and dedicated! The negative aspect of the school lies in the main office personnel, mainly the secretaries. I have never been to a school with such unprofessional and rude staff members in all my life!


Posted May 9, 2009

My daughter has gone here from kindergarten to 5th grade. She loves the school, the teachers, and her fellow schoolmates. I, as a parent, have never had any problems with the school at all. Every year the school has tried to improve. Remember, it's us parents who have to teach our kids to be focused on school, not the teachers. They are there to teach, not babysit our children. Children represent their parents. They learn more from us than from anything, or anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Hard working staff and great student make working here wonderful!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2008

this school has more after school activities than any other school my child has been at,but there is no comunication between myself and the teacher. Also when my child was in the extended day program one of the doors were locked on the trailer at all times with a padlock that is not safe. my child is in fourth grade and never brings home spelling words. i guess spelling doesnt matter in his class. i give the overall school a 2 but the office personel a 5 for letting me call and check up on y child when we firt moved to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

This is my 3 boys First Year at CPE! All I can really say is its much better than the Charleston County School they attended last year. Though I will say That the Chas. County school which will remain nameless was fairly good considering the county its located in. But i am so thankful that I moved over to Berkeley! Much much better! The teachers and staff is so very nice and understanding They work with children better. Previous years for every little thing they would call me to come get at least one of my children. AT CPE they do everything to keep the children in class which makes it easier for me to work outside the home. Last year I lost my job because They would refuse to teach my troubled 4 year old.CPE is working hard to make sure that I dont have to take off on every little whim. This is what I like most. There is more of a Structured system of doing things instead of calling parents for every little misbehavior. The Kindergarden homework load is much lighter compared to the previous school Yet they seem to be learning more. Which is awesome! I love this school and would recommend it to anyone looking to buy a house or rent I would suggest looking around the CPE attandance areas for sure you will be Thankful that you did because not only is the Elementary school awesome but I've heard marvelous things from friends and family members whose children attened the middle and high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I have a 7 yr old in 1st grade and a 5 yr old in K5. They love College Park Elementary. The staff makes great effort to great every child that they see. My girls have started to recognize some of the staff and its not because they have been in trouble or anything its just the friendliness that they are given by the staff. I like seeing my girls wake up every morning and saying I wander if I will see Mr. Boston today. He is very nice and I like talking to him. I just love it. I wouldn't change schools for my kids for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I attended College Park Elementary and I really don't understand the ratings that have been given. I am about to start college and CPE was the best school i went to. I was in every extra cirricular activity. Those being the newspaper staff, chorus, art club, and astronomy club. I had something to do everyday after school except wednesdays. Now, i dont understand how the school didnt get that many stars in this category. Obviously you have to try to be in these clubs and extracurricular stuff. It doesnt just come to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I have two children that attend college park elementary located in Ladson SC. So far so good. The teachers are working very well with my two little ones. One in kindergarten and one in first grade. The staff seems to be very observant and there is good communication between the teachers and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
32%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
African-American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled57%
Not disabled89%
English language learners74%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Math

All Students63%
Female64%
Male62%
African-American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial60%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White76%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals68%
Disabled29%
Not disabled66%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%

Science

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
African-American71%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled62%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female69%
Male74%
African-American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals79%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled73%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%

Writing

All Students68%
Female79%
Male58%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial60%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White77%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals76%
Disabled29%
Not disabled72%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students75%
Female76%
Male73%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled39%
Not disabled79%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant75%

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
African-American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled33%
Not disabled94%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant87%

Science

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled22%
Not disabled85%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant78%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female74%
Male86%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled33%
Not disabled86%
English language learners70%
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant80%

Writing

All Students68%
Female77%
Male58%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled26%
Not disabled74%
English language learners59%
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students83%
Female89%
Male78%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial73%
White89%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled48%
Not disabled90%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant83%

Math

All Students72%
Female78%
Male67%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial46%
White77%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled31%
Not disabled80%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant72%

Science

All Students77%
Female81%
Male75%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled31%
Not disabled85%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant77%

Social Studies

All Students69%
Female74%
Male63%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled31%
Not disabled77%
English language learners77%
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant69%

Writing

All Students70%
Female80%
Male61%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial80%
White73%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals78%
Disabled12%
Not disabled80%
English language learners74%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 53%
Black 21% 36%
Hispanic 19% 7%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (843) 820-4022

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Davidson Dr
Ladson, SC 29456
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 797-2711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT