Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Ladson, SC
Students enrolled: 786
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
OES creates a wonderful learning environment. As a new student from another state my grandchild was quickly taken into the fold. His teacher identified a problem and quickly set plans in motion. He loves school now. I think his teacher went beyond expectations. The school offers so many opportunities for students to grow.

Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
We love this school. The staff are extremely welcoming, professional and just seem to love their jobs. My little one actually loves heading off to school everyday and I'm always amazed by what she's learned. Some schools just strive to cram in knowledge for testing but OES seems to really care about the overall growth of children. We love it.


Oakbrook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
We have been at this school for a year and a half now, and I have nothing horrible to say about it. We were military and have been to several differant schools, but this is by far the best. Everyone in the office is wonderful, the teachers we have had so far are wonderful and both of my children have exceeded all our expectations. The traffic that people complained about is also no differant than any other school. For the amount of kids in this school, they do a great job keeping everyone informed and making their students feel important:0)

Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
We have been at this school for only a FEW months. I have a son in 2 nd grade and a daughter in k5 who has learning issues. My son has had a great time and is learning alot.he enjoys his teacher and is encouraged to be and do his best. My daughter has been in other public schools since coming to live with me at age 3 (adopted). The other schools must have just let her play because she would come home and still have a very hard time writing her on name , even with daily help from me. since coming to oes, she is writing her name , remembering her letters and even starting to read some small words on her own... I can't say enough good things about what these teachers do and hope that others fill the same

Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Oakbrook Elementary School 2

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oakbrook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
We just started going to this school only a week ago and I am blown away. The staff and office have been wonderful with our transition for only a couple of months left in the school year. My son has been in many elementary's since we were military and this is one of the best. I am also impressed with the programs such as Oakie Book Club and what they have to offer even our little ones 2-4. The traffic also is no differant than any other school we have gone too either.

Oakbrook Elementary School 3

Posted November 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Oakbrook Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2007
- a parent
My son has been at Oakbrook Elementary for 3 years and loves it. The Elementary school school continues to rank high among area schools. I am an involved parent and have gotten to know all of his teachers and administrators and they encourage parent's involvment as they are aware it makes a huge difference in a child's academic life. The area around Oakbrook Elementary school has changed for the better. There are new 3 new, safe and beautiful neigborhoods where kids can walk to school. Flashing school lights have been installed and we have a police officer on site for traffic issues morning and afternoon. What could be better?

Oakbrook Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 10, 2007
- a parent
I have had over 15 yrs experience with either my children or grandchildren in oakbrook elementary school. The faculty is overworked and underpaid and trying to meet the states standards is killing them and hurting our students. For example...Due to the pac testing, this year, my granddaughter supposedly passed to 4th grade, yet she has the reading level of a second grader and i obtained her math 'workbook' and over half of the book was not even gone over, and she has been 'rush taught' some math objectives without even knowing the basic things needed. Teachers had no choise but to 'skip' sections of the book in order to comply with studying for pac testing. Well i know better....Parents...Do not put your kids in oakbrook...It is overcrowded as it is. Move away from ladson area. Traffic is horrible!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakbrook Elementary School
306 Old Fort Dr, Ladson, SC  29456
(843) 821-1165
Last modified Oakbrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakbrook Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top