Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lexington Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2012

This is an excellent school where children and their learning are a priority! They are striving to develop our children into 21st century learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

This is an average school intent on producing average achieving students. Don't expect help if your child is above or below their average tract. They are so concerned with narrowing the achievment gap on their test scores that they go out of their way to keep high performing students from reaching their full potential. As for students with learning problems, the school is so intent on not labeling students that they will not address learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

That is where all 3 of my children went to school, and it was a wonderful experience for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I have two children that have been going here for two years now. I am extremely pleased with the quality of the teachers and the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

LES is a wonderful environment for children. My daughter began there in 3rd grade after moving from another state - she was welcomed and loved it from the start! Her teachers were all wonderful, devoted educators whose main focus was ensuring the success of each child dependent on their needs. My daughter began middle school this year and I feel that LES prepared her very well. Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Best school I have ever seen. I have two kids that go there and they love it. Never met a bad teacher at LES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

I have two kids at LES, and it's by far the best school we have known. Two wonderful teachers absolutely devoted to their profession have given our kids not only education but love and human warmth like never before. Our kids were in several private schools, and LES has provided more to our family than all of the previous ones together. Thank you LES for helping us assure a better future for our kids through the best possible gift to a child: a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

We love the Teachers and the hands on teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Great School. My child is thriving here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

We can't say enough good things about LES. Before we moved to Lexington, we had our child in private school. Now there is no need - LES functions as well as our private academy did! We love the teachers and administration - 5 stars all the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2006

I cannot rave enough about LES! The teachers I have had contact with through my 4 years and 2 kids have been exceptional. The administration, teachers, and environment is fantastic! I cannot imagine a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

My daughter has been at LES for 2yrs. She has had great sucess in the the academic enviroment LES provides. We are very happy with the teachers in which we have had contact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I have been very happy with LES. The administaration is very helpful and the quality of instruction has been excellant. I feel that my children are going to be very prepared for middle and high school. My children are happy and interacting well the other students, and feel completely supported by their teachers and other staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

LES seems to be more focused on keeping their test score ratings and maintaining their image than with helping students excel and prepare for the world above Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Math

All Students75%
Female85%
Male66%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%

Science

All Students72%
Female78%
Male68%
African-American57%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals76%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
African-American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals93%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Writing

All Students68%
Female83%
Male56%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White74%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals81%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students78%
Female86%
Male72%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled35%
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant78%

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled45%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%

Science

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
African-American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals81%
Disabled30%
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant76%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled65%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant88%

Writing

All Students73%
Female87%
Male62%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White78%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals79%
Disabled35%
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female92%
Male79%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled50%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled42%
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant76%

Science

All Students74%
Female77%
Male71%
African-American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female78%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Writing

All Students79%
Female87%
Male71%
African-American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled42%
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 53%
Black 20% 36%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

116 Azalea Dr
Lexington, SC 29072
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 821-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT