Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mauldin High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2013

Mydaughter graduated in 2009 and attended Clemson. She graduated in 4 years Magna Cum Laude in microbiology and now works for LabCorp. Mauldin High's programs and teacher help keep her on the path that Mauldin Middle and Oakview set her on. The opportunity at Mauldin is there to succeed if taken with some work and disciplin. Read, study, work hard, and ask for help when you need it. I have two other daughters who graduated from Mauldin HS. One graduated from USC Upstate and the other is a sophomore at Clemson and has made Dean's list the past 3 semesters. Parent involvement is up to the parents; Principals have changed and can't address but teachers care and want their students to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

I'm about to go into my 3rd year at Mauldin. If you are a parent looking for a nice school to send your child to. I do NOT recommend Mauldin. Your child's learning environment is constantly tempered with by the intolerance and ignorance of students and even some teachers. Even with resource officers always on campus, the drug problem is still pretty bad. Hopefully with the new principal starting this school year (2013-14) we will shape up and come together as a school to improve academically and in other extracurricular activities. Even though it's not my first choice for a school, it is my school, and I have to show some pride in that, GO MAVS!


Posted June 13, 2013

This school. I wont miss it at all, except for some friends. Word to the wise DONT get sucked into all the drugs being sold. Some of the people are genuinely scary once you get to know them. It all isn't worth a few grams trust me. No matter how much it improves your grades. It comes back later and makes everything soo much worse. Best advice I can give is join clubs or sports. I enjoyed some teachers, it was really hit or miss. I noticed the honors and college prep kids are basically kept separate, which is kinda weird. Also, whenever the hobbit comes out of her cave for food, she is rather rude to the students. Oh well, life lessons i guess. GO MAVS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2013

Mrs. Miller is absolutely detached from her role. Very rude and impossible to speak with. Ms.(Dr.) Reaves the Vice Principal is nothing short of a narcissist and is obsessed with her "Dr" status. Ridiculous. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

Overall my Mauldin expirience has been a positive one. There are some great teachers here, of course there are also some bad ones, many sports programs that are recognized state wide, and plenty of student clubs and organizations. The student council here is particularly outstanding and hardworking! The main problem as most other people have already pointed out is the administration. I really don't feel like they care about anyone in the school but themselves. They can be very rude and disrespectful, which in turn makes the students rude and disrespectful towards them. I feel like there are some better things they could be doing with their time. However, like I said all things considered this is a great school, especially considering some of the other options nearby.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2009

From my perspective there seems to be an adversarial relationship from the current administration towards the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2009

My overall view of this school (I have one '08 graduate and an 08-09 sophmore) is that the school is very good for a public school, in spite of the principal. I spoke to my daughter and her friends near the end of their freshman year, and they said they almost never saw the principal. The senior agreed when asked later. These are two prime examples I can cite of a principal who seems detached from her students. Most of the teachers I've dealt with appear committed to giving the students a good education, and most of the students are there to learn (though I know there are a few exceptions, even in honors courses).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Not a good school. Too many students goofing off. I can't learn anything because so many distractions in class by other students. When I talked with the teacher about it, she informed me, 'Administration normally doesn't do anything about it.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

I had a freshman at MHS and she did get a great education; however the principal, Mrs. Miller and her administrators need to learn their role in the school setting. We had a lot of problems with that! Education is most impt so I overlooked the absence of the administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

I have a senior and a freshman at Mauldin this year ('07-'08). Like any school it has many pros and cons. There are many great teachers here...Mrs. Autry, Dr. Deshpande, Mrs. Farmer, Mrs. Ward to name a few. The student population is pretty diverse, which I think is great. There is a lot of Maverick pride. I would say the one down side to Mauldin is the principal, Mrs. Miller, and her administrators. Mauldin is a huge school and does require discipline, but the administrators tend to walk around the school assuming every kid is doing something wrong. I feel there is a general lack of respect for the students (on the administration end). There is also dislike between many of the teachers and the administration and this is't a healthy environment. Academically, however, I feel like my children are getting a very good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

I am an alumni now, 07. But Mauldin is an amazing school, and one of the best places to spend those unforgetable high school years. Once a maverick always a maverick!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2007

Mauldin High is a diverse school with a lot of great programs. It is the largest high school in Greenville County. The MHS Band is one of the top bands in the state along with several state championship sports teams that compete in AAAA. The school offers a wide variety of AP courses. There are many great teachers in the school. The Guidance department is excellent also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Great School, with school spirit and a drive for academic excellance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Dramatic population increase has really hurt this school over the past fifteen years. Mauldin tries to act like an urban school by offering numerous AP's and loads of extracurriculars, but this is still predominantly a rural or bedroom community where a large number of parents don't really support or understand education. Too many teachers and administrators have lived here for too long - giving the place a flavor of nepotism and near in-breeding. Extracurriculars are a plus, there are some talented teachers, but many of the best things about Mauldin are superficial. This is not a community that promotes critical thinking or creative learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 11, 2005

As an alumni of five years, I found that Mauldin did an excellent job of preparing me for college (at a well respected out of state private university) and for life. The teachers were amazing, and very passionate about teaching (at least they were on the honors and AP level classes I took...though I believe they were on all levels. I don't know the new principal, so I won't comment on him. The band program, which was absolutlely horrible and a joke while I was there has turned into a magnificent and well-respected program. A great school. Don't move to the area unless your kid is awesome.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2005

So far we have been very happy at Mauldin High. They offer the advanced classes our son need. Mrs. Autry is a wonderful math teacher. Dr. D. is also kind and caring. Both teachers expect the best and bring out the best in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

516 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
African-American91%
Asian93%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled59%
Not disabled98%
English language learners85%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
African-American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial85%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals83%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled46%
Not disabled95%
English language learners89%
Proficient in English92%
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

548 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

392 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
69%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 53%
Black 22% 36%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (864) 355-6657

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 East Butler Rd
Mauldin, SC 29662
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT