Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mauldin High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
Mauldin is a resource-rich school; there is constantly something to do and be a part of. But, things aren't just handed to us on a platinum platter. Mauldin is extremely grass-roots oriented, and in order to be successful, you have to work for it and rise above, and if you cheat or take shortcuts, you might get away with it at that moment, but you will not get away with it in the end. The one thing that I do believe Mauldin lacks sometimes is fairness. I've only taken a few CP courses at Mauldin, and when I did, I noticed I was treated with blatantly more disrespect than in honors courses. I think there is an obvious disparity between teachers of the different levels at Mauldin, and this is where Mauldin is unfair.

Mauldin High School 5

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
By far the best all-around, holistic high school in Greenville County (out of all public, private, and charter schools). Extremely underrated: It prepares students beyond-belief for higher education and the "real world." I learned soo much inside and outside of the classroom and met some of the greatest, deepest, friends I could ask for.


Mauldin High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
Best teachers from my experience. Period (well...mostly, other than the few who made me lose some faith in humanity...but it was more because of their attitude than their actual teaching skills).

Mauldin High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
Junior and senior year I had the best balance of great teachers (who actually taught in class) and relevant, important-to-learning, homework. If I saw this question freshman or sophomore year, however, I would have put WAY TOO MUCH. It got to the point where I was averaging nightly sleep that was detrimental to my health.

Mauldin High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
I have developed more physical, mental, and moral strength in the past four years (just from going to this school) than I have in the other 14 years of my life combined.


Mauldin High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a student
I can sit after class and talk to most of my teachers like they are my mom or dad. Also, clubs at this school do a great job of becoming involved in the community, reaching out to others, and teaching valuable lessons. I have had one or two teachers, though, who have made me lose some faith in humanity.

Mauldin High School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
Worse school in Greenville county. Teachers have no respect for students, and are just there for the paycheck. I have had many problems with my child's teachers. Maybe the school would be better if the teachers made the environment for learning better by fixing their attitudes.

Mauldin High School 5

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
Mydaughter graduated in 2009 and attended Clemson. She graduated in 4 years Magna Cum Laude in microbiology and now works for LabCorp. Mauldin High's programs and teacher help keep her on the path that Mauldin Middle and Oakview set her on. The opportunity at Mauldin is there to succeed if taken with some work and disciplin. Read, study, work hard, and ask for help when you need it. I have two other daughters who graduated from Mauldin HS. One graduated from USC Upstate and the other is a sophomore at Clemson and has made Dean's list the past 3 semesters. Parent involvement is up to the parents; Principals have changed and can't address but teachers care and want their students to succeed.


Mauldin High School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a community member
I'm about to go into my 3rd year at Mauldin. If you are a parent looking for a nice school to send your child to. I do NOT recommend Mauldin. Your child's learning environment is constantly tempered with by the intolerance and ignorance of students and even some teachers. Even with resource officers always on campus, the drug problem is still pretty bad. Hopefully with the new principal starting this school year (2013-14) we will shape up and come together as a school to improve academically and in other extracurricular activities. Even though it's not my first choice for a school, it is my school, and I have to show some pride in that, GO MAVS!

Mauldin High School 2

Posted June 13, 2013
- a student
This school. I wont miss it at all, except for some friends. Word to the wise DONT get sucked into all the drugs being sold. Some of the people are genuinely scary once you get to know them. It all isn't worth a few grams trust me. No matter how much it improves your grades. It comes back later and makes everything soo much worse. Best advice I can give is join clubs or sports. I enjoyed some teachers, it was really hit or miss. I noticed the honors and college prep kids are basically kept separate, which is kinda weird. Also, whenever the hobbit comes out of her cave for food, she is rather rude to the students. Oh well, life lessons i guess. GO MAVS!!

Nearby schools

Mauldin High School
701 East Butler Rd, Mauldin, SC  29662
(864) 355-6500
Last modified Mauldin High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top