Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-8
Private
Mount Pleasant, SC
Students enrolled: 600
Before care: No
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

COKSM instituted the President - Principal Administration model beginning with the 2012 - 2013 school year. It has been a great year for our school, students, faculty and parent community. We strive every day to improve on our very successful 63 year history of providing a quality Catholic education in our Mt Pleasant community.
May 3, 2013

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Our children have attended COK for 3 years now. I could not be happier. The administration handles situations promptly and carefully regarding our Catholic values. The teachers show an immense love for their job and our children. I have found there is not a perfect school but COK for our family has been the right choice and have never regretted leaving public school.

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 2

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
This school once had a waiting list to attend, but the staff settles on their choices for teachers. My son's computer class was learning how to build chairs out of paper rolls instead of coding or programming. Spanish is given in the 1st-8th grades and the students are unable to speak Spanish upon exiting the school. Most middle school teachers should be replaced, great elementary teachers.


Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
There is no place I would rather have my three children educated than a place full of heart, wisdom and the desire to evolve into something greater than the day before. No person, place or thing is perfect, but a perfect light from above shines on this school guiding it's way. I believe not only are my children getting the best education possible, but are also learning how to develop their unique gifts and talents in order to make a difference in this world. Each child matters at COKSM!

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
We transferred our two daughters (2nd and 4th grade) to Christ Our King-Stella Maris School this year and couldn't be happier! Our girls had a smooth transition and were welcomed into the school by both faculty and students. The administrative staff is also helpful and welcoming. All of the teachers have been fabulous and we have found it to be an extremely positive learning environment. The teachers really care about their students, are responsive to questions, and are dedicated to the school. Our children have felt very comfortable in the smaller classes and are thriving here. So far, we have had an outstanding experience and are so happy that our children attend school here.

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
Christ Our King - Stella Maris is a Blue Ribbon winning, IB Catholic School. I love the size of the school (not too big, not too small), it's emphasis on academic excellence, personal responsibility, involved parents, dynamic teaching & administrative staff all in a generally caring, compassionate environment. My only complaint was that the teachers, while excellent at identifying children with minor learning differences, have not been trained to work with these children. I've learned some early childhood teachers will be attending a summer education series on learning to teach using a multi-sensory learning approach. LOVE IT! Private schools are NOT one size fits all & this is no exception, but for us it's been a great fit for our daughter.


Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted December 31, 2013
- a parent
Christ Our King Stella Maris is a wonderful place. We have two children who have been enrolled since the 4K program. The teachers are exceptional people who go out of their way to show love and wisdom to our kids. Both of them have loved their teachers every year and we have been very blessed to say, we've had nothing short of an amazing experience. The staff is kind and helpful. The nurse is wonderful. I couldn't be happier. My children feel loved and cherished by their teachers but they know that they aren't going to get away with much either! They are above average for grade level and we are pleased with their progress. They are growing up with good friends and we've made some as well. Overall, we couldn't be more pleased.

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
We have four children attending COK-SM. They all attended the 4K program and are now in 1st, 3rd and 5th. We are extremely pleased with the teachers, staff, President & Principal. We love the small class sizes as well as the community feel of the school. We feel very lucky to be able to send our children to COK-SM.

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
We love COKSM. Our daughter is thriving in this environment. We love the combination of church and school and the teachers provide comfort and confidence to our child. She feels loved and special everyday. The only thing I wish the school would improve on is the amount of candy and junk food they administer to the students. We would love to see some healthier options for rewards and special celebrations.


Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 4

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
We are non-Catholics and have been at Christ Our King School for 8 years. Both of our girls have loved coming to school since the beginning. Our entire family has established wonderful friendships here. The class sizes are small enough to allow for effective teaching but big enough that the children can make new friends each year as the classes are rotated. We love the challenging curriculum of the middle school IB program which is providing a well rounded experience for our middle schooler. While I think studying from e-textbooks is difficult, I think that the Ipad program is allowing the 5th thru 8th graders amazing opportunities to utilize a wide variety of apps to improve their knowledge and skill base. Now that the school has adopted the President-Principal model the changes have been amazing. We love the focus on education, leadership, character, sportsmanship and doing for others that is incorporated seemlessly into daily life at school. The one aspect I feel is lacking at Christ Our King is an option for the more advanced elementary aged children to stay challenged through a Talented and Gifted program or the ability to learn advanced material within the classroom.

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
We could not be happier! We have three children that attend Christ Our King Stella Maris, and can truly say they are receiving a wonderful well-rounded education. The community of parents is amazing. We have similar values and it shows through when you see how the children behave and how they treat one another. We have had a first year teacher and we have had a teacher who has been there for over 30 years, and they were both wonderfully qualified, devoted to their students and in touch with current standards of education. Our children are eager to go to school everyday, they love their school community and so do we.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christ Our King-Stella Maris School
1183 Russell Dr, Mount Pleasant, SC  29464
(843) 884-4721
Last modified Christ Our King-Stella Maris School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Christ Our King-Stella Maris School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top