Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Cooper Montessori Charter School

Charter | 1-8 | 239 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

I just stumbled upon these recent reviews of ECMCS and have to refute some of the comments. Regarding the lottery to get in, there is absolutely no priority given to students who come from a montessori school or any other specific background. It is purely "luck of the draw" and completely unbiased. Our children got lucky and got a spot as incoming 1st graders years ago. They did not have a montessori background. There was also a review stating that children leave ECMCS unprepared for a traditional school. Of course, all children are different and some may not handle change well, but the students I know personally are thriving - at schools such as Academic Magnet, SOA, Wando and others. The principal, Jody Swanigan, is professional and a visionary who has built a successful school from the ground up. The school staff is dedicated and caring with very little turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

I agree with the other post, the principal seems to have some vision of what children should be, and if your child doesn't fit, then prepare to hear how bad they are. We left last year after 4 years. Today, my child is doing great in her traditional school. Her math map scores jumped 30 points. She likes her teachers and not once have I received negative remarks from her teachers or principal. A school's first job is to ensure the children learn the material. They are not there to judge the children if they don t fit in some mold, or make sure they make right choices, or kind to the environment, etc. Of course these are very important, but they are NOT the first job of a school. This school puts all those things above actually teaching the kids, and then blames the kids for making the wrong choices if they are behind. Please consider all options in choosing a school for your child, and DO NOT be led to believe just because a school has desk and classroom structure that it is a bad school, and detrimental to your child. They will try to get you to believe that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

How is this school allowed to exist as part of Charleston County Schools? We were told our child would get preference for enrollment if she attended Sundrops Montessori Preschool. That means people who can afford 1000 plus a month can get enrollment preference? And a lot of the people who know the awful principal or who are affiliated with Sundrops have or have had a child who goes to or went to ECMCS. Sounds like someone created a school for her own control purposes to weed out the "riff raff" and inspire people to spend money at Sundrops. Pay attention to the staff reviews. Why is Charleston County giving this school a building when other charters are truly trying to help a diverse population of students?


Posted June 23, 2014

This school was a nightmare for all three of my children. The principal is detached and even cruel to children who do not fit into her mold of an acceptable student. The teacher turnover rate is horrendous, which is a direct result of her poor leadership ability. Children do not learn basic skills necessary to walk into high school prepared to organize their homework assignments, take notes, or understand the importance of tests and exams. The learning curve is massive. One of my children's ECMCS teachers were unable to show me how she determined grades, was unable to show me a workbook with my child's assignments. She was a disorganized mess. Parents are forced to volunteer because the leadership is unable to inspire volunteerism. So glad my children now attend wonderful schools where individuality and education are valued. Trust me, we did not find that at ECMCS. Please feel free to apply. Unlike other charters, there are always openings because of massive student turnover.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I have 2 boys at ECMCS, one in 1st and one in 3rd and we couldn't be more pleased with this school. My 3rd grader transferred to ECMCS in 2nd grade after attending a private school for K and 1st grade. What I found at the private school was a plethora of worksheets and zero use of critical thinking skills that left my bright child completely apathetic towards school. Transitioning from a traditional classroom to the montessori classroom took some time but within the first week at ECMCS I noticed a renewed enthusiasm and joy for learning. Admittedly, doing independent work and staying focused remained a struggle for some time but the rewards have been immeasurable as I see both of my children engaged and eager to go to school everyday. We love this school for so many reasons. To name only a few, one is definitely the dedicated teachers and staff. Also, the enriched learning environment, the opportunity to excel at your own pace and the emphasis on discovery and community. I can only speak to my own experience with the principal, which has only been positive. I know her only to be engaging, receptive, approachable and supportive. We are so thankful to be at ECMCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

My daughter loves to go to school since we moved her from a traditional school with its daily tests, quizzes, homework, and high stress levels. Now, she is so excited about what she's learning and wants to talk about all the wonderful things she's discovering at ECMCS. This school is a gift to any child lucky enough to be enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

My daughter has been attending ECMCS for the past 4 years and has never once asked to stay home. She simply thrives in the educational setting and loves her school. Her loving teachers have helped her develop into a well rounded child with strong values and good work ethic. I am saddened to see bitter comments from a couple of folks. Sometimes things just don't work out the way you plan... To displace blame because you don't understand the lesson present is weak. Montessori is not for every teacher nor for every parent. It is a way of life that requires sincere commitment. I am also a former employee of 2 years and had nothing but a great experience from that position. It is extremely difficult to make everyone happy all of the time but I feel like Ms. Jody and her team do a great job! The children are a direct example of what a great community they have developed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

Jody Swanigan, the principal, is a nightmare. As a past employee, I can honestly say that I was treated very poorly and unfairly. I witnessed with my own eyes, Jody putting on a fake smile to parents and then talking badly about them behind their backs. She is a bully, is unprofessional, and fake. It is not a pleasant place to work... just check out the turnover rate. I'm thankful to be out of that environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2011

I taught at this school and have only positive words. The Principal is open to new ideas, supportive of professional growth, and sets high standards for all. The staff she brings on are dedicated to Montessori education and their students. It was a place you loved to work at everyday - I haven't found a school quite like it yet. Public Montessori may not be for every parent or every teacher, and I feel some of the negative comments represent the small minority, vs. the large majority that feel ECMCS has changed their child's life.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 14, 2011

Another teacher just quit and the year hasn't even started! Honestly, you can't keep fooling yourself by the pretty building and smiling faces. Just look at the unheard of amount of teacher turnover at this school. In the five years since my son was there and later removed, the entire staff except for one teacher is gone. The excuses are always there but they all come from the true cause of these problems: the principal. It seems that people try to do something but give up because unless this principal is replaced nothing will improve or change. She is a control freak and has a horrible grip on teachers. It is unpleasant to work there as many have claimed because of their dealing with her, otherwise, it would be a dream job and school. It's a real shame.......many would return if she left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2011

I have 2 sons who attend this school, and they are very happy there. We are zoned for a "Blue Ribbon" school, but chose to go to ECMCS because of the impressive amount of time the teachers spend with individual children. There is a true sense of community, as well as an interest to do what is best for each student. I would gladly recommend this school to anyone who knows what a Montessori education is all about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

I was a student.This school is awful.The admin is completely incompetent. I came into the school ready to learn-however, my 3rd grade teacher decided that though I knew how to do long division,I needed to learn how to count to 10,with a 1st grader.To learn any real math,I studied by myself.Scores on standardized tests did not affect what I was taught.I was denied many opportunities offered to favored children.I was disorganized;never was I taught organizational skills.I had to learn organizational skills in high school.I was never told how to study.This lowered my grade dramatically,as I had never been able to gain these skills that everyone else seemed to have.Also, the social experience at ECMCS is horrible.The principle chooses favorites.ECMCS has more biases than any other school I ve heard of.It offers great opportunities to select children.The favorites are allowed to do whatever they want;without regard to anyone else.The favorites can bully the rest of us;the admin does not care.They lack compassion.They refused to investigate learning disabilities,which were revealed after I left this school.ECMCS overlooks every indicator.ECMCS is absolutely horrible.


Posted January 14, 2011

I have a feeling the negative comments on here are from one disgruntled parent. My daughter has shown phenomenal growth since in enrolling at ECMCS. I can't believe that anyone would have anything but wonderful experiences at this school. If you're thinking about enrolling, come for a visit, you'll see for yourself what a great school it is!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

We love ECMCS. We have 2 children at the school and they are both thriving in the nurturing environment provided by the teachers and staff. The teachers go above & beyond the call of duty. The individualized workplans are wonderful.....challenging/encouraging the child to their fullest potential. The school teaches the child to be a caring human being with Year-Long Peace projects. The principal is very dedicated and knows all the children and interacts with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

This is by far one of the best schools in the area. My second grader is absolutely thiriving here. She receives great academic instruction- her math skills are right on track for her grade level ( I am judging this by MAP scores) and she is reading two grade levels above hers, thanks to the individual attention she gets. Her self-confidence has increased dramatically since she began attending here. I love that children are taught how to treat one another with respect daily and to work to help one another. It is like a family there. This is definitely not something you find in other schools. The teachers and staff treat my child as an individual, not just a number. The principal is very responsive to concerns. I was surprised how well she knows all of the children and interacts with them. I was concerned that perhaps a public school would not be able to stick to the Montessori method and be public, but they really do. The science that she comes home and tells be blows me about and my husband away. I know she is learning things that she would not be learning elsewhere. I give the school an A and feel grateful that my child is fortunate enough to attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

When I first walked into ECMCS for a professional observation, I had no idea what the Montessori Method entailed, but I knew immediately that I wanted to be a part of this incredible school community. I waited two years and happily took a 50% pay cut so that I could join the ECMCS family. Every day, I am blown away with the level of parent participation, absolute dedication on the part of my colleagues and the administration, and, mostly, the wondrous minds and spirits of our students. How many first graders at a traditional school are given the opportunity to discover how plate tectonics work? Or can explain the fundamental principles of force and friction? Or are regularly encouraged to make an active difference in the world around them? In all my educational experiences, I have never encountered a better school. The faculty and administration strive for excellence in every aspect of school life and the students not only learn to read and write, but also learn to be globally minded citizens. If every child had the opportunity to grow in the care of ECMCS the world would be a significantly better place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2010

My children have only attended Montessori schools and are currently happy students at ECMCS. I have never seen a school more focused on the whole child. This school encourages children to reach their full potential. The academics are solid, but there is so much more. My children are contributing members in our household, our neighborhood and our community. I have friends at other Mt. P public schools whose children are regurgitating facts to "pass the test." My children are thinking critically, getting their hands dirty and caring for others (animals included!). The teachers at this school obviously care about the children and aren't just collecting their paycheck. In my humble opinion, none of this would exist without excellent leadership. I would highly recommend this school to anyone... in fact, I frequently do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

My daughter attended ECMCS for first grade. There was little instruction, independent learning served no purpose for my child who was struggling to learn to read and count properly. When I expressed concerns that my child needed speech therapy, they refused to test her. I expressed concerns that my child needed help with reading and counting. I was told she could add numbers in the thousands. I was referred to a reading tutor in the neighborhood down the street at a price of $75/hour for tutoring. My child was bullied by older girls daily. The school was unconcerned. In February, after the school refused to address my concerns, I registered her in a local public school. The new school, realizing that my child needed immediate assistance enrolled her in speech therapy and reading recovery. ECMCS has a great parent base and facility but fails because of one thing: poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

Be prepared to homescool your child. I can't believe this school received a Palmetto Gold award with cildren in the third grade not being able to do basic reading and math. Look closely at the numbers. The data is right there. The principal states it is because the students don't take tests. Well they should know how to do math and read. Montessori methods pride themselves on their math. My children were so behind and they were in a montessori school since they were toddlers and reading and multiplying at age of 4. But they never progressed. In fact, they regressed. This school should be closed down. The teachers are loving but some can't teach. The ones that can teach, can't do what they need to do with their dominating leadership. Find a better alternative. If you want your child to have a brain, the public schools are exceedingly better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

While ECMCS has a lot to offer, as a parent of several children who has been at the school over 5 years, I am seeing a disturbing trend. There are people who start in the school and leave to go on to other schools that offer more opportunities. The school needs to be careful that the Montessori method doesn't give the teachers a "pass" not to teach on a daily basis. Boys seem to have a harder time at this school than girls. Before enrolling your child, talk to some parents who already have children there. You will get mixed reviews. The method is not for everyone---a lot of independent work with very little instruction. And be prepared to assist your child with the course work he is not receiving instructions on in class. I give this school a "C."
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students94%
Femalen/a
Male92%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%

Math

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Male92%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%

Science

All Students78%
Femalen/a
Male85%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals78%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%

Social Studies

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%

Writing

All Students94%
Femalen/a
Male96%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students87%
Female95%
Male77%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals86%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant90%

Science

All Students84%
Female91%
Male77%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals83%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant84%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female91%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant90%

Writing

All Students82%
Female86%
Male76%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals83%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male94%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Science

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female90%
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant88%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students93%
Female94%
Male90%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male90%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Writing

All Students96%
Female100%
Male90%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%

Math

All Students84%
Female79%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals83%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%

Science

All Students96%
Female93%
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female86%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Writing

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals96%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Not migrant96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals85%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%

Math

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant93%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 53%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 1% 36%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jody Swanigan
Fax number
  • (843) 216-8880

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Ponsbury Rd
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 216-2883

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Trident Academy
Mount Pleasant, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT