Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wando High School

Public | 9-12 | 3700 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

Wando is a fantastic school. Having been in a very small school for nine years, I felt that I would be uncomfortable with the size adjustment. But the faculty and staff members are the best, much better than I saw in any other high school that I visited. My mother went to Wando when she was in high school, and it's great features haven't changed. Yes, it can be difficult to navigate and can be tough during class changes, but you really do meet someone new every day. It is a great environment full of people who want to help with any problems you might have, and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2013

I agree with the previous post ("Simply the best...")! I'm the parent of a high-achieving freshman who has just finished a great year! Just go visit! The opportunities are endless and the level of instruction/ coaching is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

Simply the best high school I've ever seen! Wando is an outstanding school in a state that's traditionally struggled to produce great public education. Its faculty, administrators and support staff are wonderful, concerned and focused on promoting excellence always. Yes, it's a big school - a very big school - but therein lies the opportunity for so many students. I've had two children at Wando, both of whom found their niches and have had marvelous experiences there. (My younger son, who loathed sitting still in class, has a straight-A average in his first semester at Wando and is doing terrifically on all levels there.) The amount of extra opportunity available - both during and after school - is a result of the large population - and having students majoring in an area with college-level courses (business, health sciences, pre-engineering and others) puts them way ahead of their peers at other schools. Their extracurricular programs range from cooking to sports to robotics to ROTC and more. I can't say enough about this school and am thrilled that my children are fortunate enough to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

It's true, mostly all of the guidance counselors and teachers are very nice and polite. But it's also true that this school is very big. Which is not a problem itself, but the school gets very unfamiliar with the bigger size. Plus the newer campus is not even big enough for all the students, some have to study in trailers. Yes, the academic programs are good and it may be the best school in that area, but still, I think the size really matters. And let me tell you this, studying in a trailer because even the new campus is to small for the number of students isn't nice at all. So size matters after all!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2011

Out of all of the magnet and private schools available in the Charleston area, I would rank Wando High School as the very best. They don't hand-pick their students and still manage to have top-notch scores. The honors and AP classes are the most successful in the area. (AP scores are higher than Academic Magnet.) The teachers and principal are excellent, as are the number of clubs, sports, and arts available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

I have 2 older children that went to Wando and a junior at present. We have always had great things to say about Wando. Besides the obvious beautiful appearence Wando has great teachers and staff. Having a teenager is hard work and having them stay focused and on task is also hard. However, I have learned that Wando has chosen their teachers and staff very well as they always seem to have the childs best interest at hand and willing to work with each parent to provide assistance where needed. We are very proud to say that our children have gone to Wando. Keep up the great job, we only have 2 more years and maybe our grandchildren will go to Wando; if we have a say in it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Wando High School because the teachers, guidance councilors, other faculty care so much about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

As a recent graduate of the school, I had an excellent 4 years at the new Wando. It has excellent leadership through the principle, it offers a wide range of classes, and is the best general acceptance public school in South Carolina.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2009

My son just graduated from Wando. I love this school! My son has a learning disablility that was handled in emelentary and middle school by placing him in special education classes. When he got to Wando they pushed to place him regular classroom studies. He struggled but in this last year he was on the honor roll both semesters and graduated with honors. This would never have been possible without the dedication of staff and teachers. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

The school is large, no lie. But it is ran as if it were a private school. It is very seperated by grade and the classroom sizes are no different than any other school. People tend to freak out over large schools, why??? There is no difference between classrooms and classrooms in a school. It is ran better then most schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Too large. Pushing the kids academically is one thing, but telling them 'they will even get into any college' unless they take a bunch of AP courses is silly. The block schedule severely hampers learning. (1 semester of Spanish is NOT equal to a year somewhere else--ridiculous to think so). And, my child was not given all the credits they earned in school in another state--pretty ironic considering SC is 49th in the U.S!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

School's strengths are breadth of academic offerings, extracurricular programs (particularly fine arts and sports), and new facilities. Drawbacks are large size (though they try to minimize impact on 9th graders with their Academy), cultural expectation for youth drivers, and rather rigid disciplinary policy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

My son graduated from Wando last year (attended 9-12th grade) and loved it! Wando is one of a handful of 'bright spots' in an otherwise marginal district. The Honors/AP program is great (although block scheduling sometimes limits course selections). AP passage rate is very high. On the whole, the teachers are good. Great extracurricular activities, especially soccer and fine arts. Beautiful facility although it is lacking a new stadium. There is a lot of school spirit and parental involvement in the school. Not everyone is fond of the principal, but I attribute that to her no-nonsense approach. She does not tolerate those that are not there to learn or who do not follow the rules. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I was a former student at wando and attended there for two years. Let me first say that it is in fact a beautiful campus so i can understand the strictness of the school. Some of the things i disliked about wando was that it felt very limited and closed in for the students(the only time students were allowed to get fresh air is if they took p.e. or ate lunch in the back of the school), and the fact that there is no school spirit. Okay and now for the good things wando has. -safety -and okay teachers
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 26, 2006

Good programs, good new facility, average leadership, above teachers, Great for kids that excel, terrible for kids that struggle Bit of a division between the haves (wealthy whites) and the have-nots (working class blacks)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Wando is a rich environment that allows my son to grow academically (honors program is demanding, creative and engaging) and personally (engineering focus plus outstanding fine arts programs) We are very pleased with the academic program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2005

Is this school in an area where only 20% of the population is Black. If not I'd like to know why only 20% of the school population is Black.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

This school is the best school in the state of South Carolina. We are top in the state in sports and education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 19, 2005

Wando rates high in Charleston County Schools, in academics and sports. Some sports tryouts are obviously based on who you know, not necessarily potential and talent. This is discouraging for many students who never get a chance to play on a team. I have been pleased with the academic curriculum my kids have. I am quite discouraged at the lack of response from administration via phone calls or e-mails. Numerous times I find this an issue. It does appear that it's 'who you know' in this administration before you get results. The teachers respond quickly, administration, i.e., principal, asst. principals do not. Guidance department is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

As a parent I belive that Wando High School restricts students ability to express individuality. This school is more concerned with looking good than with the sucess of students. Students are not introduced into a career oriented atmosphere. Wando does not care for students needs or feelings. Due to these and other cicumstances I have taken my child out of this school and moved to a move goal oriented enviornment where personality is rewarded and not punished. I urge parents who look at this school to think about your childs futre as a person and reconsider this jail like school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

900 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

899 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
African-American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Subsidized meals92%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabled80%
Not disabled99%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant98%

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
African-American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial80%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled68%
Not disabled96%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

680 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

876 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

882 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

927 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

664 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 53%
Black 15% 36%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lucy G. Beckham
Fax number
  • (843) 849-2890

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Warrior Way
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29466
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 849-2830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmetto Christian Academy
Mount Pleasant, SC


Trident Academy
Mount Pleasant, SC





Academic Magnet High School
North Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT