Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean Bay Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My daughter does very well at Ocean Bay Middle School, The staff gives 100% plus and they do more then just their jobs, They care and it shows, It would be unfair to just name one or two teachers, they work together. Way to go Ocean Bay Middle School. I hope they win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

I have 2 children currently attending this school, one in 8th grade and one in 7th grade. I cannot express how disappointed I am in this school, its principal(s) and its staff! They do NOT stand by their anti-bullying policy for which they have received awards, they do NOT support their student's or even attempt to meet the parents half way on important issues. They, themselves, are bullies including their SRO(School Resource Officer), and you don't make the cut for any of their sports teams unless your family is in good with the coach. This school is a perfect example of where NOT to send your child, unless of course you make a certain amount of money or have a powerful last name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

From the principals, to the guidance counselors and teachers they are all extremely involved and have ALWAYS taken any concerns I have had in the past seriously. They provide top-notch teachers who are dedicated to our children. My son had a rough start into middle school and was just an average student who struggled with his studies and even with himself with self-esteem. He is now in 8th grade and an honor roll student again like when he was in elementary. I owe so much to each and every teacher and staff member at Ocean Bay Middle School who I truly believe played a key role in helping him believe in himself and had faith and confidence in him as much as I did as a parent. Kudos!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

This is the cleanest school in Horry County and it recived a red carpet award for the best staff , the teachers are incredibly nice and helpful, they aslo have after-school tutoring program where assistant principals and teachers can help you with your work or if your struggling in a certain subject..The school also has great theatre,music, and sports prgrams , you can also attend after-school clubs , and lastly they have something called power school where you can check your child's grades in subjects or if there missing assignments so they cant hide thei report card i would positivly recommend this school to anyone.


Posted November 25, 2009

there is nothing special about this school, i should know; i attend it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

It's a wonderful school with wonderful teachers and the principal really cares about the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

My son just started his second year here. He enjoys attending the school. I have been impressed with the electronic communication I get from his teachers. I get an updated grades report every couple of weeks,which makes it easy for me to monitor his grades and make sure there are no surprizes on report card day. My son has two honors classes, English and Math. He struggled somewhat in English last year, by which I mean his grades were dropping to C's. His teacher not only let the students retake tests (they were given the average of the two scores for their grade), but she also let them do as much extra credit as they wanted to pull their grades up. I must say the teach was very tough, but that is what makes our kids the bright individuals they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

In all three years of my middle school career at Ocean Bay Middle, the teachers were compassionate about making sure we understood the concepts they taught. Dicipline is handled well, students who do the wrong thing are never passed over. Over all I would say that it is a great school that pressures it's students to strive for success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2009

This is my son's first year at middle school. He loves Ocean Bay Middle, which is a relief for me because of concerns that he would hate it. He likes it more than elementary school and is even getting better grades (all A's and B's). This is child that struggled all through elementary school. His teachers and the administration have all been wonderful and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

I like it a lot but i get bullied sometimes.It has a very good teachers and classes. the teachers mostly care about you and your work ethic it will be easier to get ino a good highschool if you succeed in this school(i am a student,please excuse any typos)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

I disagree with the upset parent...I am sorry for the negative experience but my children had, and are having, a wonderful and successful experience at Ocean Bay. Sometimes we, as parents, think we know what's best for our children. However, educationally most teachers and administrators know better. We also must understand and accept that there is a need for zero tolerance in our schools. I feel that Ocean Bay Middle School provides both a physically safe and educationally sound environment for all of the children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

My son is having a great experience at Ocean Bay Middle School. I recently chaperoned a field trip with the seventh graders and was amazed by respectful and attentive behavior of the students. The teachers were very involved with the students on an educational level as well as a personal level. The teachers were also very appreciative for the help and support provided by the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

Teacher's are not intrested in students success. Difficult to get in touch with anyone involved with the school. Treated as if you are a bother to the administration and the teachers. How dare you question anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

395 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students88%
Female91%
Male85%
African-American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial78%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled71%
Not disabled91%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
African-American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled74%
Not disabled93%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%

Science

All Students85%
Female88%
Male84%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial92%
White87%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled64%
Not disabled88%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial73%
White92%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled83%
Not disabled91%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female94%
Male83%
African-American72%
Asian93%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial95%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled70%
Not disabled92%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled60%
Not disabled91%
English language learners93%
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Math

All Students84%
Female85%
Male82%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled57%
Not disabled89%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Science

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled64%
Not disabled93%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Social Studies

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
African-American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial88%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled49%
Not disabled86%
English language learners72%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%

Writing

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled62%
Not disabled94%
English language learners86%
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial71%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled53%
Not disabled87%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant82%

Math

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled61%
Not disabled92%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled68%
Not disabled91%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant88%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female85%
Male87%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled58%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant86%

Writing

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
African-American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled60%
Not disabled92%
English language learners53%
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 53%
Black 10% 36%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

905 International Dr
Myrtle Beach, SC 29579
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 903-8420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Andrew Catholic School
Myrtle Beach, SC


Chabad Academy
Myrtle Beach, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT