Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter 5

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Coming from a private school in the area and transferring to PALS I must say that this school is terrific. I do not mind the holiday sweets for my child. What I want is a good education. PALS has been able to educate my child and help her quickly get up to speed. The front office is AMAZING, Very helpful and polite. The assistant PRINCIPLE is SO GREAT. Very engaged and very helpful. So nice. The PRINCIPLE has been exceptional towards our daughter and my wife. The Teachers seem to care. They all seem to want the children to succeed and all seem to care. The teacher who teaches our child IS AMAZING AMAZING AND AMAZING. Great SCHOOL.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Grateful to: School leader

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
MS WASQUITO has helped us in every way possible including letting us know where our child need most help to rewarding her accomplishments.


Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the teachers care about the vision of the children through the process of learning. I have not seen anything bad about this school. We see many positive lessons and effective behavior towards our child.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Just right, The homework seems to be enough for my child My child has enough for her grade.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
I agree that this school does what it needs to do with each child. This is allowed by keeping the classes small and also by keeping my child accountable.


Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Great respect for the administrators and the help they provide my child to be a better person. The staff brings positive roll model attributes in our child.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 18, 2015
- a parent
Coming from a private school in the area and transferring to PALS I must say that this school is terrific. I do not mind the holiday sweets for my child. What I want is a good education. PALS has been able to educate my child and help her quickly get up to speed. The front office is AMAZING, Very helpful and polite. The assistant PRINCIPLE is SO GREAT. Very engaged and very helpful. So nice. The PRINCIPLE has been exceptional towards our daughter and my wife. The Teachers seem to care. They all seem to want the children to succeed and all seem to care. The teacher who teaches our child IS AMAZING AMAZING AND AMAZING. MS WASQUITO has helped us in every way possible including letting us know where our child need most help to rewarding her accomplishments. Great SCHOOL.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter 2

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The school has AMAZING teachers. However, most teachers are dedicated to their job and therefore good teachers can be found at any school. Unfortunately, the administration is abysmal. They seriously lack personal skills and speak down to others. They seem to pride themselves on how rude they can be as they power trip their way through the year. It seems as though there is a serious lack of communication in the school and teachers and administration are not on the same page. Last minute seems to be the way of things, which is highly unprofessional. Administration does not seem to plan more than a day or two ahead (and sometimes not even that far!), which is a real headache. Another commenter mentioned sweets. It does seem as though any celebration revolves around unhealthy foods being engorged, and it doesn't help that the over-sized principal has openly stated her disregard for physical education... Once again, thank god for the fantastic teaching staff!


Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter 4

Posted February 09, 2014
- a parent
Overall we are pleased with PALS. I love the small class size and the family feel. My daughter absolutely loves it there! There are only a few things that we are not satisfied with. I feel that there is lack of communication among the staff. Sometimes we receive conflicting information about events, or are not aware of changes of schedules. The front office is not well organized as it could be, and sometimes unprofessional. Also, field trips seem to be scheduled short notice with funds needed immediately, which can be challenge if you are on a budget.

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is a charter school in Horry County School district. While the school district has several fantastic schools, the district is large (over 40,000 students) and sometimes there are issues that arise from a student body that large. PALS provides a small school atmosphere and great class sizes. There are two classes per grade and no more than 18 students per class. Parents are expected to be involved with their student, and there are many activities that allow parents to get involved with the school. Field trips are common, and there are many fundraisers, get-togethers, and after-school programs. Uniforms are worn by all students and the administration is strict on conforming to the dress code. I have two students in the school, both in elementary grades, and we've been very pleased with the academics and the support the students receive. There is also a full-day gifted and talented pull out program for those who qualify, and this provides quality enrichment activities for high-flying students. The administration is supportive, easy to talk to, and willing to listen, but will not be pushed around by parents, which I think is a plus. We could not be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter
3530 Pampas Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC  29577
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (843) 492-7400
Last modified Palmetto Academy Of Learning And Success Charter is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top