Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St. James Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 860 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2013

We have 2 boys that attend and they are so happy - feel love, appreciation - getting the one-on-one attention, always, and they are so successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

I have two children at SJE and have been very pleased with the excellent teachers and the gifted/talented program. The GT teacher is just wonderful and sets such a great example for our students and fellow teachers! I can't say enough about her; my child's education has been enhanced by her talent to effectively reach/inspire children. The pick-up and drop-off procedures have drastically improved to the point where there is hardly any wait time. Thank you!!! The principal and staff do a great job to ensure the safety and well-being of all students. I would like to see more creative projects and service learning opportunities for our students. I would also like to see the students having more fun; for axample, creative learning projects and presentations. SJE is a happy/safe place for our children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

My child attended school at SJE for 5 years. He loved it overall and the teachers were wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

We LOVE this school! My daughter attended SJE and received such a nurturing and challenging education. THanks to all the wonderful teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

St. James has such a friendly atmosphere. You feel right at home as soon as you enter the doorsl My child LOVES going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

My son has better grades in his test, so i have to give a hand out to his teachers, and if you are reading this well...... I say this is the geatest school my son has ever attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Now that the second grade is coming to end, I want it to be known that my daughter excelled in her school work and at home. I do have to give Ms. Georgia Burroughs full credit for exceptional work with my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

I am proud and pleased to send my children to this school, however, the school has to communicate better via newsletters, flyers or a voice response system to enable busy parents to be aware of events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

There's always room for improvement with childrens concerns. SJE is a great school and I would strongly recommend it to anyone concerned about their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

I agree with the last parent. The communication between the school and parents is not good. I too have sent notes and have not ever gotten a response. We moved to the area and registered in plenty of time for school and they lost all our paper work. Also was not ever informed about the lunch procedures. So I just sent a check hoping it would get taken care of. I think the most important thing is communication and the school lacks it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

We, too, moved to our house because it was in the SJE school district, but my children have been there for three years and I have been very disappointed. The pick-up and drop-off procedures are ridiculous; The teachers do not communicate well with the parents; countless times I have sent notes to school with my children only to have them come right home again, unopened and unread. I had to come into school to talk to the librarian about Accelerated Reader and other programs my first-grader was participating in, because her teacher could not be bothered to explain anything. Children in Pelican (honors program) do not get their own class; they just get 'extra work'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

Part of the reason we moved to Surfside was for the SJE district. It's all about the children there from Mary Beth Heath to the front office staff to the PTA. Mrs. Heath has the best listening ears for the parents as well as the children,and every year the PTA comes up with even better ideas than the last. I appreciate Nurse Rice's TLC every time my kids have a boo-boo or tummy ache when I can't be there. The new playgrounds are wonderful, but I would like to see an improvement on the school lunch menus too. Ideally, an assistant for every teacher would be wonderful. My husband and I toyed with the idea of private shcool if we thought our children were not getting sufficient academics for their grade levels, or enough attention in some of the larger classes, they're still there. -A. Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

I love the teachers and staff. They are always willing to help and work with my child and myself. Mary Beth Heath is a fantastic principle, every school should be so lucky. Her concern is for the children, as it should be. The PTA is wonderful and work hard for our children. Everything is centered around the children and what is best for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2003

Principal Mary Beth Heath's drive for academic excellence and equality in education is contagious! She is a valuable advocate for successful, meaningful inclusion for children with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students87%
Female79%
Male93%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled43%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%

Math

All Students80%
Female72%
Male87%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled38%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%

Science

All Students75%
Female76%
Male76%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabled10%
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female77%
Male92%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled64%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%

Writing

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
African-American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled38%
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female91%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled70%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled70%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

Science

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled65%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%

Social Studies

All Students91%
Female93%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled78%
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Writing

All Students86%
Female91%
Male79%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial64%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled74%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female81%
Male87%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled45%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male81%
African-American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled35%
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%

Science

All Students73%
Female67%
Male77%
African-American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabled36%
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant73%

Social Studies

All Students77%
Female72%
Male81%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant77%

Writing

All Students79%
Female81%
Male79%
African-American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled30%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 53%
Black 9% 36%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9711 St James Rd
Myrtle Beach, SC 29588
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 650-8220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Burgess Elementary School
Myrtle Beach, SC



St. Michael Catholic School
Murrells Inlet, SC


Calvary Christian School
Myrtle Beach, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT