Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Oaks Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 901 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2013

I love this school! All like everything from there! Great teachers, electives, social, etc. The only good thing about lunch is that you can buy extras such as candy, chips, icecream, etc. But this school is great! People should come here.


Posted February 5, 2013

I am a student here at ROMS and I love it.All my friends well i've know them forver because we all went to the great elementary school next to us.I remember at lunch on the other side of the cafetiria i see my big sister.So is you have a middle schooler and a "younger" one i suggest this school.Just so all you parents know there are no bullys at all and if there was one all the teachers help as much as they can!!!"I LOVE ROMS WITH ALL MY HEART!!!<3 <3 <3


Posted March 8, 2012

Good school. Great teachers, fully engaged and supportive. Positive all the way around. Blue ribbon education, hurry up and send your kids now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

We are new to S.C. and new to River Oaks. My child is very happy there and so are we. My child has seen no signs of bullying, at least in her grade. There are bullies in every school. It is how you teach your children to deal with it and how you as a parent deal with it. The one issue that I would address is the fact that there are children in the class that seem to cause a disturbance on a regular basis and they are sent out of class and no further punishment is pursued especially with repeat offenders. Parents always are looking for the schools and teachers to fix their children and their issues. It is time for paretns to take responsibility for THEIR children. I feel that RIver Oaks is a very good sc and I am happy with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Our child is constantly called the N word at this school. they are told to ignore it and nothing is done to the student. The teachers claim they are too busy during transition to see anything as students get from class to class. You will be told your child is the root cause of them getting bullied because they are too emotional. Even when they get the activity on tape you will be told that what was not caught on tape justifies the actions of the bully. If your child IS a bully this is the best, most advanced school you can get. If your child is not a bully...good luck. The more you push back and get involved the more frustration you will get dragged into with no resolve. Once you know these rules, this is a GREAT school ... if your child is a bully,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

I love ROMS. I have been teaching there for three years and love my students. I wish there was more parent involvement. Middle school is difficult and when parents back off at this age it makes it more difficult for the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2009

I attend River Oaks Middle School. Yes, this school has bullies, but what school doesn't? My experience has been beyond great. All the teachers are very intentive to their students intrests and needs. The Administrators do their best to get the kids who are trying to take away from others' learning out, but not every single kid can be delt with. The principal could be more cordial, but she trys her best to stay with it at ROMS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

We have the greatest students, faculty and administrative staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I have a son who is the kind of kid who gets lost in the crowd. I attended 'Meet the Teacher' night, introduced myself to every one of his teachers, and explained to them that we had just moved to Charleston. I gave them each my e-mail adress and cell phone, and asked them to look out for my son a little bit, understanding that he is just one of many students. My son came from the gifted program at his elementary school, but we chose to enroll him in regular classes at River Oaks. Imagine my surprise when my husband found out, two weeks before the end of the school year, that our son was about to fail one of his classes, and get Cs and Ds in others! We had no warning, no contact, and no explanations. According to our son, throughout the school year, everything was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

ive went to river oaks for two years and im now attending fort dorchester high school. but my experiences at river oaks were astounding i absolutely loved it there.. i dont understand why parents are complaining about this school they dont go there and learn they have no idea with what really goes on. of course your child is going to say there are bullies thats there excuse for not doing their work. but every school has bullies its natural. if you took every person that has ever bullied someone out of school then you would only have about 5 people in school.. everybody bullies somebody at least once in their life. and another thing is the teachers are great. they do pay attentiopn to everything that goes on. and trust me they do their best to teach us imagine if you were one person trying to teach 25 children.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2009

Each time I have visited my 7th grader at River Oaks, I have encountered a different experience. Front counter receptionists can be friendly or distant, administrators and teachers often appear overwhelmed, tired and unhappy; special education staff has been friendly and supportive to my child; principals/counselors are no-where to be found; lunch and support staff have been helpful, my child reports daily class interruptions because of loud and aggressive behaviors (behavior/reward system (lack-of) is a frequent joke among students); school tolerates far-far too much poor behavior, instead of removing aggressive students from school they appear to give-in to them, this is particulary troubling as our child reports being scared at school; our experiences with dances, athletic events and academic contests has been positive. As is probably the case everywhere these days classes seem to focus only on very-simple preparation for state testing nothing more...we have been disappointed thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

This school is a far cry from what I expect from Dorchester District Two schools. My children have attended private schools and other DD2 schools -- Oakbrook Elem, Ft. Dorchester Elem -- that were 150% greater at communication and parent involvement. This is my first involvement with middle school so maybe I'm still not acclimated to middle school culture/independence -- if the child doesn't get it then woe is him/her. The principal is not very friendly nor people-oriented -- she never smiles. I was really disappointed when my 5th grader asked 'Can I go back to private school? I do not want to go to River Oaks. There are too many bullies'. I questioned my other child that attends ROMS, the response was Yes, there are bullies. The teachers just tell you to deal with it---speak up. Come on DD2..let's improve this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

After being a parent of a child here at River Oaks for 2 years, I can see there is a lot that this school has to do still to get our kids ready for high school as well as life. Very little is parents involved in what goes on in the day to day drama of this school. The school's idea of involvment has been automated calls that come about dinner time, notes home that may or may not explain what is going on and very little interaction after that. What's worse is if you have a student with special needs. That's when things will get nasty. IEP's have to be requested over and over, many times it is not followed and more often than not, there's an excuse as to why they can't 'stick to the plan' and it's almost always your kids' fault.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

River Oaks Middle School is top notch in technology, with a solid staff vision to train the students for their future in an ever changing global environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled58%
Not disabled83%
English language learners86%
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male77%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled47%
Not disabled83%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant81%

Science

All Students70%
Female69%
Male72%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial100%
White88%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant70%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female85%
Male90%
African-American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled73%
Not disabled89%
English language learners92%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Writing

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled21%
Not disabled83%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled50%
Not disabled80%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant77%

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male73%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled37%
Not disabled77%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant74%

Science

All Students80%
Female79%
Male81%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled47%
Not disabled83%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female69%
Male73%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals82%
Disabled43%
Not disabled73%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant71%

Writing

All Students83%
Female85%
Male82%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial81%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled33%
Not disabled88%
English language learners79%
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled26%
Not disabled78%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%

Math

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
African-American69%
Asian60%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled35%
Not disabled82%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant78%

Science

All Students85%
Female81%
Male90%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled36%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant85%

Social Studies

All Students72%
Female71%
Male72%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals78%
Disabled25%
Not disabled76%
English language learners53%
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant72%

Writing

All Students81%
Female86%
Male76%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled30%
Not disabled85%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 36%
White 40% 53%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8642 River Oaks Dr
North Charleston, SC 29418
Phone: (843) 695-2470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Coastal Shores Christian School
North Charleston, SC


Cathedral Academy
Charleston, SC


Eagle Military Academy
North Charleston, SC


Riverbend Christian Academy
North Charleston, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT