Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lambs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 405 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

Bullying, immoral students and parents, poor and clicky staff, filthy building, cafeteria staff that is very unprofessional, etc....no wonder this school continues to decline. The CCSD, as a whole, is horrible. The military children are the ones who are educationally lifting this poor school up in test scores, morals and values. I had high hopes for this school but sadly that changed over time..the truth came out. They drag their feet on taking care of the MANY nasty and mean students and parents, and then they cater to them by offering special assistance to them! office staff is nice, so they can lure you in. The security personal at this school is not to be trusted at all. Some of the teachers are wonderful, they are fighting a loosing battle with the majority of students. They are really wasting their talents on kids and the parents who don't care and I feel bad for them. When you have a choice as to where to send you child, this is not that place. Surrounding area is in the worst & most dangerous parts of Charleston. The extras/clubs offering here is nonexistant. They offer no real PE, but sit and watch dance videos on rainy days. Waste of a child's potential and life here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

My son is in second grade at this school, and we love it. We are a military family and have the choice between this school and Hunley Park. Everyone at this school has been extremely friendly and helpful in every way. We absolutely love his teacher, Mr. Seagle. I am glad we decided to go to this school and not go by the community ratings, because we are extremely pleased. If I could say anything to help make your decision, I just wish people would give things/places a try before judging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This is my son's first year at lambs. He is autistic so he is in a special class. His teacher Ms. Dobson is AWESOME! The principal Mr. Plaster is great and very friendly. I feel like I can talk to him about anything concern that I have. He has only been at Lambs for two years. I unfortunately had to deal with the past principal Ms. T when my son went to AC Corcoran last year. She was HORRIBLE! I moved my son specifically to Lambs to get away from that woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

The principal this year (2009-2010) is great. His name is Mr. Plaster.He is very approchable unlike Janice Timko. Volunteers are coming back to the school becuase the school has such a positive warm climate, now. I am so glad that my child will have one good year at Lambs.He has been going their since Kindergarten. Mrs. Timko always talked to my wife like our child did not matter. Mr. Plaster speaks to the students and the parents very warmly.The whole climate of the school has changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Some teachers focus so much on reading not knowing how important the writing and the math skills are too. I would not recommend a parent send their child to this school unles the they are being taught all three skills as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

05-06 Was the first year for my child at Lambs. He came from a private school. He loves Lambs and especially his teacher, Ms. Clymer. I cannot say enough about this teacher, she is great. When my child started Lambs he had difficulty in reading. They have a great reading program, he has progressed very well. He says he don't want to go to any other school,and his self esteem has greatly improved. Every time I have visited the school the principal has always shown a concern in my child.A very pleased parent and child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Great school for military. Teaching is progressive...Ms Way is great! Would be alot better if you did not have to go so slow for ESL students but that comes with the territory, right?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

VERY POOR school!! Some of the teachers cannot even write a coherent sentence. It's no wonder people go to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have a 4th grader at Lambs & I've been very happy w/Lambs. I think it's always hard being the Principal. They have to focus on what is best for the kids as a whole rather than addressing each individual child. I volunteer weekly in my child's class & I am welcomed each time. We are military & have lived all over. I think school is always what you make it. People search out private schools because they want more--but you have to pay for 'more' as well. I think Lambs focus on the 'big test' is state govt money-driven more than Principal-driven. As a working parent, I know that everyone answers to someone. When it comes to our kids--we sometimes get tunnel vision! Give Lamb's a try-I think you will be very happy. Ms. Timko has always been empathetic & kind to us (but we have a great kid!):)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

Being a military family, we have experienced numerous schools. Lambs Elementary is by far the WORST our children have attended. The pricipal has NO communication skills and relies on bullying tactics to either scare the teachers or run them off. She is unapprochable and has no desire to be approachable. Our principal, Janice Timko, chose the wrong profession and the school has to suffer for it. Too much emphasis is placed on the 'big' test. Because of the above statements, parents are yanking their kids out left and right. We have lost so many children because of her. Volunteers? There are none because they don't want to deal with her. We have some great teachers but they are packing up too. I wouldn't recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

Principal is only interested in the tests. Not the children. Many AFB families leave the area. I don't blame them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

Principal is very difficult to deal with and primary focus is on testing. School based on 'tough' love for all when not all require it. Many Charleston AFB personnel choose to live off-base in different school districts, home school, or pay for their kids to go to private schools. Better alternatives are readily available in the local community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

The Principal of this school is only interested in statistics and not the children. My children attended for 2 years. And I have never had so many problems with a school before. The teachers do not care about helping any child that is not of average learning ability. I would not recommend anyone sending there children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

This school is extremely unfair to special needs children, especially ADHD kids. My son attended for 3rd, 4th, and 2 months of 5th grade before he was pulled out and homeschooled. The teachers has no interest in truly teaching these kids. I do not recommend this school for anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students72%
Female78%
Male67%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Math

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
African-American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%

Science

All Students48%
Female46%
Male50%
African-American46%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals47%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%

Writing

All Students43%
Female48%
Male38%
African-American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals39%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled47%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant69%

Math

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant67%

Science

All Students56%
Female50%
Male60%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals51%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Non-migrant56%

Social Studies

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
African-American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant74%

Writing

All Students60%
Female75%
Male48%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students49%
Female58%
Male44%
African-American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals43%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled0%
Not disabled76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English49%
Non-migrant49%

Math

All Students52%
Female59%
Male48%
African-American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals48%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled0%
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant52%

Science

All Students57%
Femalen/a
Male50%
African-American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals57%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant57%

Social Studies

All Students35%
Female40%
Male31%
African-American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals21%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Non-migrant35%

Writing

All Students52%
Female65%
Male45%
African-American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals48%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled0%
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 36%
Hispanic 19% 7%
White 15% 53%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jarmalar Logan
Fax number
  • (843) 767-5928

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6800 Dorchester Rd
North Charleston, SC 29418
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 767-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hunley Park Elementary School
North Charleston, SC


Eagle Military Academy
North Charleston, SC


W. B. Goodwin Elementary School
North Charleston, SC



Midland Park Primary
North Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT