Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Charleston High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2013

Very pathetic school that is very very poorly run. Need a new type of fix to make this into a working school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2013

I am very frustrated with the continued decline of our school. There are so many good schools near the Park Circle, but No. Charleston HS is not keeping its best principal and teachers. The current principal and group of teachers are wholly inadequate. The collapase of the basketball from champions to 4-19 can be traced to the inept and inexperienced Caucasian principal whose attitude towards students and parents is completely unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

Principal is bad. Classes are taught by subs. PTA meeting no help they just ask for money. I will not send my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

This is an awesome school I make new friends every year. I'm currently in the top 5 of my class and i wrestle, play soccer and run cross country =D.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2007

I went to this school & I see the changes--looks like a prison. I am embarrassed to have this school's name on my diploma. I will say only a handful of good teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 21, 2005

I have two honor students enrolled. More focus and money are spent on 'security systems and cameras' than on educational programs and needs. The money should be spent on paying for summer classes for the students who can't afford it or paying the teachers who also work as coaches instead of firing them. North Charleston is supposed to be a school not a prison. There is no PTO/PTA. Bulletins are sent a month late when and if they are sent. Tardy students are given ISS which stays on their permanent record instead of sending them to class and giving them extra assignments or tasks to perform during lunch; however, if they skip school until second or later periods they don't. That makes alot of sense. The principals (there have been three in less than a year) only speak to you when it makes them look good. It has potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

I think since Roy Holloway left a few weeks ago, the school has changed for the better. The new standing in principal is doing a great job and seems to see eye to eye with not only the students but teachers also. That is what makes the school function better. The ROTC program is outstanding. The teachers that my child has in 9th grade are also outstanding. My child has went above my expectations. Keep up the good work and get ready for an excellent year next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

This School is great. It has an outstanding band and other establishments of the activities they have in their school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students71%
Female76%
Male68%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals73%
Disabled30%
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant71%

Math

All Students64%
Female73%
Male57%
African-American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals67%
Disabled25%
Not disabled73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant64%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
30%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
27%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
30%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
15%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 91% 36%
White 5% 53%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (843) 566-1954

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1087 East Montague Ave
North Charleston, SC 29406
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 745-7140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Charleston School of the Arts
North Charleston, SC


Garrett Academy Of Technology
North Charleston, SC


Academic Magnet High School
North Charleston, SC


Military Magnet Academy
North Charleston, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT