Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fort Dorchester High School

Public | 9-12 | 2257 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2012

Fort Dorchester is one of the best schools around!!! The teachers are actually helpful and make class enjoyable to learn. Sure it may be a little crowded in the halls, but thats the sacrifice for going to suchja great school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2011

Fort Dorchester may be slightly overcrowded and uncomfortable, but after about the first month everyone seems to learn their way around the hallways. The academic programs that FDHS offers are highly advanced and in some cases can even count as a free college credit. Such programs in the AP and IB programs, along with Honors. Although violence, fighting, is a some what normal occurance, the administration deals with the students accordingly. Fort has many positive programs such as academic awards, pep rallies, homecoming, and patriot pride referrals. Although Fort can be a somewhat tough school to adjust to if coming from a small school or private school, the faculty and staff are a generous group of people that want to help students succeed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2010

A high school that shows more than 25 full length movies, such as GI Joe, Transformers and Gladiator has to be asked how serious they are about educating the students of their school. Teachers that routinely scream at them and call them idiots and have melt downs in the class is not my idea of educating our future generations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Fort Dorchester isn't a bad school at all. It's a normal school compared to charleston county school So what if the teachers aren't the best but they try there hardest to teach. It's just hard for them to teach when there is rowdy students. Principals don't do there job to stop the rowdy kids so the teachers don't teach. It's nobody fault but there own. I love FDHS:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2010

I find that Fort Dorchester is the worst school in DD2 county. The administrative consequences are far too harsh for such petty troubles. They do not discipline you on what you've done but on how many write ups you've had. The teachers don't want to teach. Majority of them throw tempers, and are very biased on discipline. I'm a student and Fort Dorchester is wack
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2009

I find the violence (fights) very disturbing. I worry about our daughters safety. She is very unhappy at this school but it is the one we are zoned for. We have hopes of relocating her next year for Ashley Ridge.I feel the school worries more about not having any lunch charges then about her ability to learn. Let's not get started on the pushing and shoving in the halls just to get to class. At 4'11' and 90 pounds she gets pushed around a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

I absolutely love Fort, I'm pretty sure that this is the only high school I would want to go to. There is some violence but it's only bad if you involve yourself in it. Overall the Fort is a great place to send your kids. I'll admit that some teachers seem like they don't want to be there, but the others can change your lives for the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

Fort Rocks, I just graduated from there and whoever 'a student' is does not understand that they just split the high school and are now in a transition, with a relatively new principal and has about one forth of its teachers only being there for there second year, and this is because the new school that just opened 1 year ago needed many new and competent teachers to add to their faculty. ;) ok there 'a student'.


Posted May 1, 2009

I dont think Fort Dorchester deserves to be rated as a great school. Its a very rough transition, and the teachers genuinely do not want to be there. That said, there are great teachers there, but the majority are anything but. This past year, Fort has seen an increase in violence, and the school is becoming out of control population wise. If you have a choice of where to go to school, or where to send your kids, try to avoid Fort Dorchester.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2008

My husband serves in the USAF, and we choose to live off base so that our children can attend the better schools in DD2! FDHS has a lot of courses and will prepare your child for a future right out of hich school. It is also offers the IB program, which is very important to me. Knowing that this school offers higher quality education is great. The low crime rate is an added plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

I attend FDHS and it is great. Everyone is so nice & all of the teachers try their best to teach you. Principal Atkins works very hard to keep everything under control & he does a fine job of it. You should definitely send your kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

This is a good school that is truly becoming an excellent school. I had one child graduate from this school under a different administration team. It was an okay school with bright spots at that time. However, under the leadership of Mr. Jim Adkinson, it is becoming an educational force to be reckoned with! His compassion for students is beginning to be reflected in the improved attitudes of the faculty. Faculty members such as Richard davis, Lori Rowsey, Dr. james Hinson, and Daniel Barron are showing students how much they care about them as people as well as students. I am really impressed with the changes. kepp up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

In my opinion I don't think it is a great school to go to. I currently attend Fort Dorchester High School. The violence and drug issues have increased very rapidly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

As an alumnus of the school, I thought it was a great place to go to high school. The teachers cared about us, and the honors classes were excellent preparation for college. I went on to do well in college and have earned an MBA and JD since leaving the Fort. I would definitely send my kids there if I lived in the area.


Posted June 6, 2007

If you are moving into the area, this is a very difficult school for the kids to get acclimiated to. The counselors, teachers and principals were awful. We ended up moving our kids to a different school. I will say if you are in the gifted program (IB program/advanced) your chances at a good education are much better. However, if you are not, you will quickly find that they cater to the lower end as they try to make sure 'that there is no child left behind'. Hence, the middle of the road kids are the ones that get 'left behind.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

I was a freshman the 05-06 year and it was one of the worst years i have ever had in school. This school has too many problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

I have been at Fort for a year now I will be a Freshman/Sophmore next year. The school is great they had an excellent tutoring system. For FREE. I had an awsome time at Fort my freshman year. The pep rallys and football games were great I went to evry single football game. But school isnt always about fun its about getting the education you need . Fort is the best place to get your education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2005

I have been at fort for a year now and I love it! I am an Pre-IB Student and the education quality is excellent. I feel that I will be ready for college in no time and I am only a Sophomore. The only thing I have to complain about is that Dorchester District 2 does not have a real good discipline policy unfortunately. Other than that, Fort is an EXCELLENT SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2005

Fort Dorchester High School is far and away the best high school in the greater Charleston/Summerville area. We moved into the area just for this school. Its IB (International Baccalaureate) program is rigorous and highly rated. Its completion almost guarantees a full ride with many SC universities. The well rounded approach to academics, sports, music, and community programs is first rate, and the staff are professional and highly approachable. The number of national, state and regional award and scholarship recipients is very extraordinary - particularly given the southeast US's tolerance for third rate public schools generally. I would encourage any one to check out this school carefully before committing to any other school or school district in the greater Charleston area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2004

My son's learning experience at fort dorchester was not a very good one. He needed more hands on learning and did not seem to grasp the 'block schedule' concept. The school was also too large and he needed smaller class sizes. He was getting lost in the shuffle in other words. The music program did not offer him a chance to continue with playing the bass since it did not offer strings. I opted for a private school further down the road. Generals academy with smaller class sizes & hands on. He now has a 3.2 Gpa and hopefully is on his way to duke!!! we could never have accomplished that at fort dorchester. If you like frills and thrills then fort is for you. However, for this rising senior - we could'nt take the chance on his education so that he could be 1 of 1936 students. No thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

515 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
African-American89%
Asian79%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial100%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled67%
Not disabled94%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant92%

Math

All Students87%
Female86%
Male89%
African-American79%
Asian93%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial95%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled69%
Not disabled88%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

510 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

405 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
67%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

1024 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 53%
Black 43% 36%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8500 Patriot Blvd
North Charleston, SC 29420
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 760-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Coastal Shores Christian School
North Charleston, SC


Cathedral Academy
Charleston, SC


Eagle Military Academy
North Charleston, SC


Riverbend Christian Academy
North Charleston, SC


R. B. Stall High School
North Charleston, SC


Northside Christian School
North Charleston, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT