Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
North Charleston, SC
Students enrolled: 2,088

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fort Dorchester High School 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
FDHS has allowed for violence and fighting to become the norm. Due to the location of the school the diversity of the students is not taken into consideration. You have a high % of students with no support at home concerning their education or behavioral issues and the minority of students with an excellent support system. This diversity is not handled well by the Administration. New Administration with fresh eyes is needed to re-structure how this school functions. A lot a potential is falling by the way side. (both students & teachers)

Fort Dorchester High School 4

Posted December 17, 2012
- a student
Fort Dorchester is one of the best schools around!!! The teachers are actually helpful and make class enjoyable to learn. Sure it may be a little crowded in the halls, but thats the sacrifice for going to suchja great school!!!!


Fort Dorchester High School 4

Posted September 30, 2011
- a student
Fort Dorchester may be slightly overcrowded and uncomfortable, but after about the first month everyone seems to learn their way around the hallways. The academic programs that FDHS offers are highly advanced and in some cases can even count as a free college credit. Such programs in the AP and IB programs, along with Honors. Although violence, fighting, is a some what normal occurance, the administration deals with the students accordingly. Fort has many positive programs such as academic awards, pep rallies, homecoming, and patriot pride referrals. Although Fort can be a somewhat tough school to adjust to if coming from a small school or private school, the faculty and staff are a generous group of people that want to help students succeed.

Fort Dorchester High School 1

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
A high school that shows more than 25 full length movies, such as GI Joe, Transformers and Gladiator has to be asked how serious they are about educating the students of their school. Teachers that routinely scream at them and call them idiots and have melt downs in the class is not my idea of educating our future generations.

Fort Dorchester High School 3

Posted February 26, 2010
- a student
Fort Dorchester isn't a bad school at all. It's a normal school compared to charleston county school So what if the teachers aren't the best but they try there hardest to teach. It's just hard for them to teach when there is rowdy students. Principals don't do there job to stop the rowdy kids so the teachers don't teach. It's nobody fault but there own. I love FDHS:)


Fort Dorchester High School 2

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
I find that Fort Dorchester is the worst school in DD2 county. The administrative consequences are far too harsh for such petty troubles. They do not discipline you on what you've done but on how many write ups you've had. The teachers don't want to teach. Majority of them throw tempers, and are very biased on discipline. I'm a student and Fort Dorchester is wack

Fort Dorchester High School 0
no rating

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
I find the violence (fights) very disturbing. I worry about our daughters safety. She is very unhappy at this school but it is the one we are zoned for. We have hopes of relocating her next year for Ashley Ridge.I feel the school worries more about not having any lunch charges then about her ability to learn. Let's not get started on the pushing and shoving in the halls just to get to class. At 4'11' and 90 pounds she gets pushed around a lot.

Fort Dorchester High School 4

Posted November 15, 2009
- a student
I absolutely love Fort, I'm pretty sure that this is the only high school I would want to go to. There is some violence but it's only bad if you involve yourself in it. Overall the Fort is a great place to send your kids. I'll admit that some teachers seem like they don't want to be there, but the others can change your lives for the better.


Fort Dorchester High School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a community member
Fort Rocks, I just graduated from there and whoever 'a student' is does not understand that they just split the high school and are now in a transition, with a relatively new principal and has about one forth of its teachers only being there for there second year, and this is because the new school that just opened 1 year ago needed many new and competent teachers to add to their faculty. ;) ok there 'a student'.

Fort Dorchester High School 5

Posted June 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fort Dorchester High School
8500 Patriot Blvd, North Charleston, SC  29420
(843) 760-4450
Last modified Fort Dorchester High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fort Dorchester High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top