Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Belleview Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 429 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

Belleview is a great school. I am all about providing the best I can for my son and this school meets my expectations for education. He has excelled at this school and continues to grow. The staff is friendly and very professional. The principal knows the students by name and greets everyone with a smile. A great school to send your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

Belleview is a wonderful school! I couldn't ask for my children to loved more than they are at Belleview. The principle is involved in daily activities and knows each student by name. The teachers are so wonderful my kids love going to school and visiting past teachers. Belleview makes learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

Belleview is a great school! We have been there four years and we've had several wonderful years! The teachers we've had (seasoned and new ones) have been very hands on and creative with their teaching skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I have children ranging in age from 15-9 so we have spent a lot of years in the school district. We have moved twice in those 15 years, once across state, so we have been in a few different schools. Belleview elementary is hands down the best school we have ever attended. The principal is top notch and the teachers are some of the most talented around. There is almost zero teacher turnover and they love those kids like they are their own. I love volunteering there and getting to know all of the staff and children in the school. It's truly a family, which I know is just so cliche but it's the truth. Belleview Rocks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

This a top notch school, because nothing is more important to the faculty and staff at this school, than the educational and personal well being of each of the students. I can't think of a better place or group of people I'd rather volunteer or work for, they are a tremendous asset to the community, the students as well families they serve. Two of my kids went to Belleview and now my grandchild attends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

My daughter loves Belleview. She is in the 4th grade, and she has had excellent teachers all 5 years. I love the school, and how they encourage parents to be involved. I feel welcomed as soon as i walk in the door....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My girls absolutely love this school! They have learned so much and grown in the year that they've been here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Belleview shows that it really cares for kids! They go the extra step to provide what each child needs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Belleview is a safe place where students are encouraged to do their best. The staff has high expectations for all students and work together to help their students be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

Belleview Elementary School is a wonderful place to work because of the family environment and the extra effort put in by all of the teachers at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

We have the best students and parents. They work so hard to make Belleview a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

It has been the most wonderful experience for my kids being at this school. We have excellent staff and they work very hard to not only meet each child where they're at, but challenge them in a positive environment to reach for the stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Being a part of Belleview School is like being in a caring, concerned family. Each child and family is important and the faculty and staff work together as a team to meet the educational needs of our students and families. It is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My daughter attends this school and I would not send her anywhere else. She has always had intelligent, caring teachers who know about their subject and how to teach it. The school is clean, well cared for, and inviting. The teachers treat the students as if they were their own children and really look out for them. The school integrates a lot of technology and has a lot of opportunities for the arts and physical education. I wish more people knew just how great this school is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Belleview has been great for my 2nd grader. She's had great teachers that put a lot of energy into the class. I like how they are trying to look for alternative rewards to fattening foods as well as trying to offer more healthy choices in the cafeteria to help with childhood obesity. Any concerns are always listened to and the staff are friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love Belleview elementary because not only do they care about the students and their success but you see it through the progress of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

This is a warm and caring environment where children are encouraged and expected to learn! My children transfered from a private school that we believed would give them the opportunity to excel in smaller classes and a more 'Christian' caring setting. What we found was that the private school could not hold a candle to the academic challenge and the sincere caring offered by the faculty and staff at Belleview. One of my children was suspected of having ADD/ADHD at the prior school. What a joy it has been to see that our child was not in need of medication but rather in need of greater challenges and expectations! Our child has risen to the challenge and is very happy at (in her words) this 'super smart school'! Hats off to Belleview!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Mrs. Sharp, the principal, is so hands on she is great. She is a fast problem solver and is very encouraging towards the children. She is a real gem. My daughter started school at Belleview 2002 after the reassignment at first we did not want her to go to Belleview but she is doing so much better there! She got honor role twice. Last year she attended Independence. At Independence, she had to go to summer school because she was doing so poorly. I found the teachers to be very hateful to the students at Independence Elementary but the teachers are much more attentive to childrens needs at Belleview. I feel the reassignment was a blessing in disguise for my daughter.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male86%
African-American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Math

All Students84%
Female79%
Male90%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%

Science

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
African-American64%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female100%
Male85%
African-American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized meals93%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Writing

All Students76%
Female79%
Male72%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students75%
Female81%
Male67%
African-American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled25%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant75%

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals80%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled50%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant84%

Science

All Students71%
Female69%
Male74%
African-American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled33%
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant71%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female79%
Male85%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled42%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant81%

Writing

All Students73%
Female81%
Male62%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled25%
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students77%
Female74%
Male82%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled67%
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant77%

Math

All Students82%
Female92%
Male70%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals83%
Full-pay meals81%
Disabled47%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%

Science

All Students90%
Female95%
Male83%
African-American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals91%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant90%

Social Studies

All Students74%
Female81%
Male67%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant74%

Writing

All Students67%
Female82%
Male48%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals80%
Disabled29%
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 36%
White 43% 53%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 981-1193

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Belleview Rd
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 981-1181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Anne School
Rock Hill, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT