Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Hill High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

My school is okay. NOT handicap accessible, If in a manual wheel chair. The school spend money on things like golf carts(because the principals are to lazy to walk around) and the athletic department when we need more books/new books, new computers, new elevators, AND A LOT MORE. The teachers are pretty good. The Principals are decent. The counselors DON'T know how to do their jobs. If youre considering a rock hill school, South Points the worst. Northwestern is the best. Rock hill was the school I chose. I am no longer able to traverse the school therefore I am on homebound permanently, The school is good at making accomendations for students that need a 504, or IEP. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2010

The policy changes implemented this year have been extremely positive. Previous reviews mentioned IDs and dress code which are district policies, not those of the individual schools. Overall, RHHS has a caring environment with teachers striving for academic excellence from students.


Posted June 3, 2010

I am proud to be a RHHS teacher. We have great kids, committed teachers, and administrators who care about the kids. I teach social studies, and am proud to present challenging lessons that are standards-based (with real world application!) on a daily basis. Rock Hill High School is a great place to learn and thrive!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2010

I really dislike RHHS i agree they are very picky about stupid stuff like the ids and lunch and tardys the school is pretty big and to many kids 6 mins is not enough to get to class on time I refraise that i HATE RHHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

Rock Hill High School was overcrowded and they pay too much attention to their atheletic department rather than their academics. The students their are overly disciplined on small issues like wearing the id cards at all times.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

School is extremely overcrowded. when it comes down to lunch times for these kids, they wait forever in line and are left with only a few minutes to actually eat. I do believe that the teachers do an okay job but when they are forced to teach as many children as they have in one class, there is not much time for individual attention. Their school policies are extremely stiff. They have kids tucking in their shirts, they look terrible this way. Cell phone usage during school is not accepted or the phone will be taken away for over a week and they make the parent come get it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

The school mainly focuses on testing and discipline, and sports. Yet there are some teachers who really care about the students and what they are doing. I would like the school to be more supportive about all clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

RHHS is a pretty good school but they are way to picky about little discipline problems like ID's and dress code than stuff like drugs and violence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2004

I am a student at Rock Hill High School and I enjoy the atmosphere of the classes and the approach the teachers take to make sure we learn the requierd matrial. Compared to other schools I have attended Rock Hill is much more upkept and cared for. If I had the chance to move schools I would not. I also find that the way cetian situations are handled well and in a propper manner.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2004

I visited RHHS with my daughter and I am astounded with the friendliness and pride of the students. The principal takes exceptional care of the school and the students take pride in it. The staff is very helpful and has taught my daughter many useful things. The students hardly have any clicks and my daughter feels very at home there. The students are allowed to express themselves which will be very useful in life. The kids at RHHS are wonderful and I think that has a lot to do with the guidance of the staff and administration. I would recommend this school over any other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2003

I work at this school and am appalled at the lack of control the teachers have in the classrooms. Many teachers use the same street language as the students. The particular class I am in every day is a non-learning environment. The teacher spends too much time coddling the students and hardly any time teaching them. The teacher has shown 4 non-subject related movies in the last 4 weeks. The students are very disrespectful, and the teacher shows a great deal of favoritism. My daughter is supposed to be coming to this school next year, but I have opted to homeschool after I saw the environment of non-learning and direspect some of these teachers promote.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

499 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
African-American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native69%
White95%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled64%
Not disabled96%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%

Math

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
African-American64%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native75%
White91%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled49%
Not disabled88%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % level 2, 3, or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the High School Assessment Program (HSAP) to test grade 10 students in English/Language Arts and Math. The HSAP is a high school graduation requirement. The HSAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 2.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

495 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 53%
Black 30% 36%
Hispanic 7% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 West Springdale Rd
Rock Hill, SC 29730
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 981-1300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Hope Carolinas
Rock Hill, SC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT