Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Pointe High School 5

Posted December 19, 2014
- a community member
South Pointe High School regularly produces high-achievers in academics, the arts and sports. Honesty and respect are emphasized and students are encouraged to believe in themselves. The staff is friendly, teachers willing to provide extra help, and the buildings and grounds are excellent. In addition, class size is smaller than that of the other two Rock Hill high schools.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
South Pointe High School is a cut above the other high schools in the Rock Hill area. The class sizes are smaller and the curriculum is too notch! SPHS offers IB/AP classes for ALL interested students beginning in the 11th grade. The other schools in the area make their student apply and there is a selection process. The school Principal Dr. Al Leonard is highly regarded in York County (even among teachers at the two other high schools!). He loves South Pointe and you will be hard pressed to find any school event where he is not in attendance! I have 2 children at SPHS and 1 who graduated last year. The parent involvement is wonderful and we have been extremely pleased with our children's education at South Pointe!! We highly recommend South Pointe !


South Pointe High School 1

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
South Pointe High School Teachers and Administrative Staff do not follow District Employee Guidelines are absent quite often even durning exam reveiw and exam dates. Administration Staff do not know what is going in the class rooms of the teachers nor do they know if the teachers are present or not present for the day. AP History did not even cover the material needed to be covered in order for the students to be ready to handle or pass the AP exam. This school has so many issues that need to be dealt with that our three year experience has been a total nightmare. The Rock Hill School District Office does not know nor do they care about the problems with South Pointe High School. As was stated in the last Academic Awards Ceremony as long as we keep sending great football players to the University of South Carolina that is what matters. There is at least 10 to 15 disicipline problems a week fighting in lunchroom hallways bathrooms and classrooms. This school is out of control.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
South Pointe has a strong emphasis on academics, as evidenced by the percentage of students who take IB, AP, and dual credit courses. My daughter's graduating class led the district in terms of the monetary value of scholarship offers - an outstanding feat considering it is the smallest of the district's high schools. My daughter was able to exempt several courses during her freshman year in college and has done quite well. South Pointe is an outstanding school in all aspects - academics, arts, and athletics.

South Pointe High School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
SPHS seems to have a singular focus on athletics, to the detriment of academics. The staff, up to and including the principal, do not know how many students from last year's graduating class went on to university. Or, for that matter, how many received scholarships. But you can get a blow by blow account of last Friday's football game. The priorities at this school are out of whack.


South Pointe High School 5

Posted December 08, 2008
- a parent
I am parent with a sophmore at South Pointe and I am very pleased with the administration there..Each time that I had an issue, it was handled with professionalism and care. The teachers that have taught my child are caring and they really care about the students. I am grateful for South Pointe. Now as far as the coaching staff in some of the sports areas, I do have issues with the favortism shown to some of the players and not to others. Not just with the coaching staff but the training staff as well. All the athletes deserve the same attention as the so-called 'stars' not taking away from those star players, but develop other players to become stars as well.

South Pointe High School 0
no rating

Posted May 26, 2008
- a parent
Staff is very unorganized and uninformed about their own the school system's policies as well as federal special education laws.I had to go to the school 3 times to try and enroll my child (this was after speaking with a guidance counselor and setting an appointment which she 'forgot' on the first 2 visits). A few of the teachers my child had really cared about their students and how they did, but the school as a whole did not impress me as having much respect for its students.The administration was always hard to reach.The attendance person did not classify my child's absences correctly and it took several phone calls and a visit to the central office to correct it. The staff at my child's special education meetings were not knowledgeable about federal guidelines for the Exceptional Children's program and I often had to correct them or have central office call.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted March 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


South Pointe High School 3

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Pointe High School
801 Neely Rd, Rock Hill, SC  29730
(803) 980-2100
Last modified South Pointe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Pointe High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top