Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Pointe High School 5

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
SPHS offers a wide range of diversity . The staff is terrific and the teachers go out of their way to help their students. The theatre program and Art programs are amazing! My daughter feels safe and cared about at SP. It is definately a nuturing environment!

South Pointe High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Dr. Leonard, is truly there for the students, parents and staff when they need him. He cares about each student and wants all of his students to be successful.


South Pointe High School 4

Posted April 30, 2016
- a community member
South Pointe has great teachers and great programs for students. There is help for students who aren't getting the best grades and programs to help those excelling to continue to make strides.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
We recently arranged a transfer for our son to go to South Pointe for his senior year after attending a cross-town school. We did it for the strong journalism and dual credit programs: journalism beats all other options hands down and he wants to work in sports journalism.

South Pointe High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 28, 2016
- a parent
There is no safer or more welcoming place in public schools for a different personality.


South Pointe High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
Mr. Chrismon, the theatre teacher, is the best teacher I have ever had. He cared for his students, from his students in Intro to theatre to those in his most advanced classes. He is the most accepting, friendly, and wise person I know.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
South Pointe High School is the best, most well-rounded school in this Rock Hill area. Teachers encourage students and care for their success, both in and out of the classroom. Administration is on top of any and all problems that arise within the school and work well to keep everyone at the school staff. Students support each other, no matter who they are or what they are involved in. We had just as many people in the auditorium to watch the arts students perform as were in the stands to watch football games and other sporting events. Al Leonard is the best, most supportive principal out there. He works to make sure he meets his students and works extremely hard to ensure that they succeed in academics and curricular activities. I have nothing bad to say about my experience there. GO STALLIONS LIVE THAT SOUTH POINTE WAY!

South Pointe High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
The theatre teacher at South Pointe inspired me to pursue a career in theatre and is the best mentor I could ever ask for


South Pointe High School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a community member
South Pointe High School was the perfect school for me to grow as a performer and a learner. I left prepared to college academically, and prepared to function in a place with people from all different parts of the country and world due to my experiences in the IB program. Doctor Leonard works hard to be fully invested in everything going on at school from football games to musicals. I transferred to South Pointe for its opportunities and it was the best decision I've ever made.

South Pointe High School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I was able to have a unique experience with having 2 high school students at 2 different high schools at one time due to rezoning. We were much more pleased with the administration and teachers at SP than we were at the school across town. Our 2 children that graduated from SPHS were both prepared for college. All around they had wonderful high school experiences. Proud to be Stallions!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Pointe High School
801 Neely Rd, Rock Hill, SC  29730
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (803) 980-2100
Last modified South Pointe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top