Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mauldin Middle School 2

Posted October 19, 2015
- a student
The students will bully and belittle everyone else to gain popularity. The quality of education lacks due to the classroom atmosphere.

Mauldin Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 19, 2015
- a student
Mr.Steven Rogers. He was a math teacher at MMS, and sadly no longer is at the school. He taught his students more than math. He taught them life lessons, and shared insightful stories to help motivate us to do better. He is the most amazing, caring, hardworking, loyal, perfect teacher anyone could ever ask for.


Mauldin Middle School 2

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Although this school is not the worst in the district, I am severly disappointed. It should be no more than a 7 star. We have had more bad or mediocre teachers than good, and one of the worst teachers I could imagine as well. By all means, avoid Mrs. Lee, she completely extinquished my son's enthusiasm for math in one year. Mrs. Gardner is also disappointing. There is too much focus on the band, and not enough on academics. Lastly, the communication at this school compared to other area middle schools is very poor. Think twice before sending your child here; I wish I had been aware of all the charter school options before we moved.

Mauldin Middle School 5

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is in 7th grade and we love Mauldin Middle School! The academics are strong, and the teachers really care. The extracurricular activities are excellent, from band to drama, and sports.

Mauldin Middle School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
My daughter just, started 6th grade and the transition from elementary has been great.


Mauldin Middle School
no rating

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
I think to get the truth about the school you have to have the perspective of a student, like myself. I've gone to the school for one year so far, i'm in the sixth grade, and it's wonderful. If you're looking for a rich private school, then you need to look else where. But, if you're looking for a school whose teachers do more than teach, then you've found the right place. The teachers here have warm hearts and are probably more earning and educated than most teachers at other schools. They care, they can relate to your problems, and they absolutly love their students. The principle is warm hearted and very giving. the students here are intellegent and are just looking for an open door to success. I'm a student here and i've found my success. I have teachers that beleive in me, for once. I love this school!

Mauldin Middle School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
I dont have a straight A student nor an extra activities student ,but, i have a team of people who truly want my child too succeed not only in school but life itself. Thats the difference in MMS.

Mauldin Middle School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
I must say the this is a great school , my daughter had excel in this last 2 years, the principal y very kind and knowledgeable and the staff has been very supportive. The school itself is clean. Ihave no regrets in getting my child in this wonderful place


Mauldin Middle School 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
MMS is a fantastic school. My oldest son is in his last year there and has had no problems what so ever. I recommend this school to children.

Mauldin Middle School 3

Posted December 16, 2008
- a parent
The principal will tell you MMS is a 'good school', but there seems to be little initiative to become a great school. There is inconsistency among grade level teacher-teams regarding academic rigor - some teachers dole out very little homework, other teams pile on project after project. The lack of technology use is embarrassing. Most 6th grade students had complete computer labs in elementary school with instruction by technology teachers. Now, their computer time is limited to standardized testing days. 'Keyboarding' is the only computer course offered, in 8th grade! Websites/pages are not updated. Some teachers post student handouts on the school district's 'Portal' so parents/students can access copies if needed, but most do not. With the exception of the outstanding band director! He makes sure every handout given to students is also available to parents either on a website or via his email loop.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mauldin Middle School
1190 Holland Rd, Simpsonville, SC  29681
(864) 355-6770
Last modified Mauldin Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mauldin Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top