Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rudolph Gordon Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2013

We are so fortunate to be zoned for this school!! The principal and teachers are wonderful to work with. They challenge the children to reach their potential through developmentally appropriate activities. They encourage parental support by providing an assortment of Family Fun opportunities. With a stringent safety policy you rest easy knowing your children are well cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

I am so thankful we were able to get my granddaughter in to this school .. It has been a great help.


Posted September 21, 2011

I HATE!!! the way that the staff treat the parents who are trying to drop off and pick up their kids. I personally witnessed one staff member yell and belittle a father infront of his children because the poor guy made a mistake in the carline. He did not endanger anyone with what he did and surely did not deserve the harshness that he received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

While the school is ok, they do not do much to control bullying. My child is being bullied. The teacher and principal have been contacted about this issue but nothing seems to done to put a stop it it. I am looking into putting my child in another school (preferably a private school) because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

Excellent school all around. The principal is fantastic, extremely friendly and caring, and a great leader. She sets a great tone for the whole school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

This school is wonderful. We are on special permission to RGG and we could not be happier. The teachers and staff are amazing and are very outgoing and easy to talk to. We have been here since the 1st year it opened and we have had great teachers who welcome communication and involvement. I am very fortunate to have my kids be able to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

I am a parent of a student who began K5 at RGG the year they opened, and we absolutely love it. The talent of many of our students rivals that of those at Bells Crossing and Oakview, and the teachers we have had are truly exceptional. Our PTA is strong and fully involved in seeing to it that our children are given every opportunity to not only excel at academics, but to also enjoy many social opportunities to enhance their school experience. The only reason I gave our school 4 stars instead of 5 is because our test scores are lower than those around us. However, with the changing population of the area only expected to INCREASE the scores at RGG, I fully expect RGG to be extrememly competitive in this highly sought-out area of Greenville County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

This is the first year my child has attended this school and I have to say I have been thoroughly pleased with all the staff. The teachers are wonderful and really care about how your child is doing. This is the third school my child has attended over the last 5 yrs in this area and it is heads and shoulders above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

RGE is a wonderful school and I am fortunate that my kids attend. This is the second year that it is open. The principal and vice principal are great - they are really involved with the kids. The PTA works hard to obtain things for the school - the school was not built with a playground, so the PTA raised thousands of dollars to build one. The school is not over-crowded like the other schools in the area. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2009

We love Rudolph Gordon Elementary School my daughter has a wonderful teacher who really loves teaching and makes everyday special for them. The principal and vice principal are very competent, thoughtful and kind. They really make the school a wonderful place for the teachers and the children. The PTA is always working hard to improve the school. We are so thankful for the loving environment that this school provides for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled58%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%

Math

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled58%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%

Science

All Students80%
Female83%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%

Social Studies

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%

Writing

All Students85%
Female92%
Male78%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled58%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students90%
Female98%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled54%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male87%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled54%
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant88%

Science

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled54%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled69%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Writing

All Students89%
Female94%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White89%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled39%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male86%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant90%

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%

Science

All Students87%
Female89%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant87%

Social Studies

All Students92%
Female84%
Male100%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant92%

Writing

All Students86%
Female93%
Male80%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 53%
Black 7% 36%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1507 Scuffletown Rd
Simpsonville, SC 29681
Phone: (864) 452-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bryson Elementary School
Simpsonville, SC



Five Oaks Academy
Simpsonville, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT