Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakview Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

Great school and great staff! Teachers are wonderful, and they are always encouraging parents to be involved in our chidlrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Wonderful school! We could not be happier with OES on all fronts! We believe OES far surpasses private schools in Greenville. My third grade child is doing higher level math than our neighbors in same grade at two different, quite expensive schools. If you child is smart and can handle him/herself, he/she will excel at OES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My child attended Oakview k5-5th grade and we loved it. The staff and PTA was wonderful. The principal was not always envolved with student activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

We moved to the area two years ago from Maryland and our kids had been attending one of the best schools in Montgomery Co, MD which are well known for being greats schools. In comparison, Oakview is more progressive with sciences and math than MD. Kids recieve significantly more homework than they did in MD and were exposed to more things like the gardening club, planting crops, harvesting apples, recycling and more. One of my daughters who has special needs has performed exceptionally well in regular ed classes with an aid. GREAT SCHOOL!! GREAT COMMUNITY!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

Time to do a little critical analysis, which few people tend to do these days. Recently received the report card from the state of SC on Oakview's rating. The rating was excellent. Instead of jumping up and down and giving each other high fives, let's look at what that means. It seems that nearly every other school similar to Oakview's surrounding socioeconomic status also received the same rating. So, it seems the excellent rating is more a function of a school's surrounding income level, not necessarily the quality of the teachers and admin. Not a very meaningful rating and it certainly should be addressed by the principal instead of claiming the rating is due to the specific achievements of the school. It always pays to read the fine print.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

We chose this school for our children because everyone raved about it; however, we were disappointed by the lack of antibullying at the school even when teachers/principal are aware of the issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

We like the school. It is your typical public school with good teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

This is a good school and my son has enjoyed his time there. I do wish there wasn't so much homework at such a young age and more time for play and sports after school though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

We moved to the area from up north for the elementary school. However, we were dissapointed in the level of education compared to the public schools in Massachusetts. We will try Bell's Crossing next year since that school offers more of a well-rounded atmosphere with less emphasis on testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

Oakview is an excellent school by any standard anywhere in the country. My son just finished Kindergarten and had a fabulous experience. The school is run very well with tons of parental involvement. You cannot go wrong with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

My child is a third grader at Oakview and she loves it. In fact when we moved her from the Montessori school to Greenville, we were pleasantly surprised that she likes Oakview better than her old school!. Also I am very impressed with the Principal Mr. Reavis. He is strict and fair which is what we need in the present day. We are not moving from the neighborhood till my youngest daughter who is starting kindergarten next year finishes her elementary school there! Does that give enough reason - why we like Oakview so much?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

This school is fantastic. 2006 National Blue Ribbon School... among many other awards. The PTA is great at running a very meaningful volunteer organization and raising significant funds. The school is run like a 'tight ship'. I am impressed with the technology in the school. They are getting new interactive whiteboards in every classroom. Very high tech! Great emphasis on science (nice, well equipped lab for an elementary school) with very interesting science programs which have been recognized nationally. I can't say enough good things (we've attended elementary schools in OH and England and Germany). Come see for yourself: Oakview is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We have been at Oakview for just 1 month now. All I can say is I'm impressed! The school is so organized and well planned. There is so much involvement from parents, it is wonderful to see. The communication is great between the parents and teachers via email and web pages. I'm also impressed with the academics, my children have already learned so much in a short time. The homework is a time commitment, but I think it is needed. Even the Safety patrol, (yes they still have safety patrol, unlike some states who are concerned about legal issues) the safety patrol helps keep things organized in the mornings and afternoons, with the students, and even the parents in car line. So far I can't say enough good things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This is great school in SC, or even in USA. Our kids learned a lot after 6 years in this school, and all parents I met expressed very positive on almost every aspect of school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

This is an EXELLENT school! I have a daughter who attended 1st through 3rd and a son who attended K5 and they loved it. The cirriculum is outstanding, LOTS of parent involvment, and we never had or heard of a bad teacher. We came from over-crowded schools in Miami,FL and we found my daughter was behind in reading and math. She became a stright A student and a real achiever. My son has learned to read in kindergarden - and in such a relaxed and unpressured way. I can not say enough - dedication to the children is clear, all the way to the principal. The PTA is VERY involved also, and volunteering by parents is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

My name is Bobby Rathier and Im currently a Sophmore at Smithfield High School in Rhode Island, but attended Oakview for grades 1 to 5. The school was one of the best if not the best elementry schools out there. They have a great staff, teachers, and school programs to keep your kids active and learning. One of the most unheard of things in an elementry school is a closed circuit telivision system which Oakview has. Not only is a great learning tool it also teaches some of the kids responsibility who take part in there morning news that they have. The morning news is Oakviews way of sharing news and information. Not only do students like watching in it but they also love taking part in it, from camera work to a morning news anchor. Oakview also has one of the best student council programs. I highly recomend this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
African-American80%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled69%
Not disabled99%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male93%
African-American65%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled63%
Not disabled93%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Science

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female92%
Male98%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Writing

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African-American65%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled63%
Not disabled96%
English language learners94%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
African-American80%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled80%
Not disabled97%
English language learners89%
Proficient in English97%
Non-migrant96%

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male95%
African-American67%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled70%
Not disabled97%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

Science

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
African-American67%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabled60%
Not disabled94%
English language learners89%
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant93%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
African-American93%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White99%
Subsidized meals90%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabled90%
Not disabled99%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant98%

Writing

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
African-American71%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled70%
Not disabled96%
English language learners95%
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
African-American75%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learners93%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant95%

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African-American67%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant93%

Science

All Students94%
Female93%
Male95%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant94%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
African-Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled99%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant95%

Writing

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
African-American67%
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals84%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled97%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 53%
Black 10% 36%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 Godfrey Rd
Simpsonville, SC 29681
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 355-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Hope Academy
Greenville, SC



Palmetto Prep
Greenville, SC


Monarch Elementary
Simpsonville, SC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT