Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
We have had a great experience at Oakview. Dr. Reavis is great, and the school has such a welcoming atmosphere. Parents are very involved, teachers have been great, and my daughter has thrived there. When she's sad to hear that it's almost summer (because she will miss school), I know they are doing something right.

Oakview Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
I feel very thankful that my daughter has had Ivie Greaves as a teacher this year for first grade. Ms. Greaves has helped my anxious daughter thrive and continue to love school. Love Oakview!


Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a parent
Love this school and support. The teachers brought my child from a child with auditiory response delay to all A's and a B that was a pt from an A. A-B honor roll for two years. There are the right programs in place to have supported and corrected this. So grateful. Love and passion for teaching and learning are at Oakview. The school fair. The scjool is positive. The school is absolutely beautiful.

Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted October 20, 2014
- a community member
(Oct. 2014) This school used to be a much better school. Now it has degraded quite some. If you look at the PASS scores, this school is behind Monarch Elementary, and some other good schools in this area. If you look at the School reports, this school is not any better than other schools that have the same/similar students profiles/demography. The school committee (Principle etc.) seem to be more focused on Fund Raising than academic education. Some real experiences, 1) the school allowed a teacher to take a 8-week leave for a cosmetic (optional) surgery when it can be done at any Summer time, the substitute teacher was someone who works at Staples office store (seasonally); 2) the school would arrange a well-into-pregnancy teacher to teach for just a few weeks (from beginning of Fall to mid Sept.) and then go-on maternity leave for ~9 weeks with a substitute covering that time. In this situation, there should be a better arrangement for the benefit of everyone, especially for the innocent children! 3) Similarly, when a teacher was known to retire soon she was still put to teach and was only to be replaced right in the middle of the year - children are the ones who suffer!

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Great school and great staff! Teachers are wonderful, and they are always encouraging parents to be involved in our chidlrens education.


Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school! We could not be happier with OES on all fronts! We believe OES far surpasses private schools in Greenville. My third grade child is doing higher level math than our neighbors in same grade at two different, quite expensive schools. If you child is smart and can handle him/herself, he/she will excel at OES!

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
My 6 year old daughter and I moved from Detriot to Greenville after a TERRIBLE divorice and I was worried sick that my daughter would have a rough time in school. By about the 5th day of school she would come home with a huge smile on her face and talk about her new friends and wonderful teacher trust me, Oakview is WONDERFUL.

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
My child attended Oakview k5-5th grade and we loved it. The staff and PTA was wonderful. The principal was not always envolved with student activities.


Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2011
- a parent
We moved to the area two years ago from Maryland and our kids had been attending one of the best schools in Montgomery Co, MD which are well known for being greats schools. In comparison, Oakview is more progressive with sciences and math than MD. Kids recieve significantly more homework than they did in MD and were exposed to more things like the gardening club, planting crops, harvesting apples, recycling and more. One of my daughters who has special needs has performed exceptionally well in regular ed classes with an aid. GREAT SCHOOL!! GREAT COMMUNITY!!

Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted December 07, 2010
- a parent
Time to do a little critical analysis, which few people tend to do these days. Recently received the report card from the state of SC on Oakview's rating. The rating was excellent. Instead of jumping up and down and giving each other high fives, let's look at what that means. It seems that nearly every other school similar to Oakview's surrounding socioeconomic status also received the same rating. So, it seems the excellent rating is more a function of a school's surrounding income level, not necessarily the quality of the teachers and admin. Not a very meaningful rating and it certainly should be addressed by the principal instead of claiming the rating is due to the specific achievements of the school. It always pays to read the fine print.

Nearby schools

Oakview Elementary School
515 Godfrey Rd, Simpsonville, SC  29681
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (864) 355-7100
Last modified Oakview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top