Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Simpsonville, SC
Students enrolled: 1,241

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted October 20, 2014
- a community member
(Oct. 2014) This school used to be a much better school. Now it has degraded quite some. If you look at the PASS scores, this school is behind Monarch Elementary, and some other good schools in this area. If you look at the School reports, this school is not any better than other schools that have the same/similar students profiles/demography. The school committee (Principle etc.) seem to be more focused on Fund Raising than academic education. Some real experiences, 1) the school allowed a teacher to take a 8-week leave for a cosmetic (optional) surgery when it can be done at any Summer time, the substitute teacher was someone who works at Staples office store (seasonally); 2) the school would arrange a well-into-pregnancy teacher to teach for just a few weeks (from beginning of Fall to mid Sept.) and then go-on maternity leave for ~9 weeks with a substitute covering that time. In this situation, there should be a better arrangement for the benefit of everyone, especially for the innocent children! 3) Similarly, when a teacher was known to retire soon she was still put to teach and was only to be replaced right in the middle of the year - children are the ones who suffer!

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Great school and great staff! Teachers are wonderful, and they are always encouraging parents to be involved in our chidlrens education.


Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school! We could not be happier with OES on all fronts! We believe OES far surpasses private schools in Greenville. My third grade child is doing higher level math than our neighbors in same grade at two different, quite expensive schools. If you child is smart and can handle him/herself, he/she will excel at OES!

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
My child attended Oakview k5-5th grade and we loved it. The staff and PTA was wonderful. The principal was not always envolved with student activities.

Oakview Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2011
- a parent
We moved to the area two years ago from Maryland and our kids had been attending one of the best schools in Montgomery Co, MD which are well known for being greats schools. In comparison, Oakview is more progressive with sciences and math than MD. Kids recieve significantly more homework than they did in MD and were exposed to more things like the gardening club, planting crops, harvesting apples, recycling and more. One of my daughters who has special needs has performed exceptionally well in regular ed classes with an aid. GREAT SCHOOL!! GREAT COMMUNITY!!


Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted December 07, 2010
- a parent
Time to do a little critical analysis, which few people tend to do these days. Recently received the report card from the state of SC on Oakview's rating. The rating was excellent. Instead of jumping up and down and giving each other high fives, let's look at what that means. It seems that nearly every other school similar to Oakview's surrounding socioeconomic status also received the same rating. So, it seems the excellent rating is more a function of a school's surrounding income level, not necessarily the quality of the teachers and admin. Not a very meaningful rating and it certainly should be addressed by the principal instead of claiming the rating is due to the specific achievements of the school. It always pays to read the fine print.

Oakview Elementary School 1

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
We chose this school for our children because everyone raved about it; however, we were disappointed by the lack of antibullying at the school even when teachers/principal are aware of the issue.

Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
We like the school. It is your typical public school with good teachers and staff.


Oakview Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2009
- a parent
This is a good school and my son has enjoyed his time there. I do wish there wasn't so much homework at such a young age and more time for play and sports after school though.

Oakview Elementary School 2

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
We moved to the area from up north for the elementary school. However, we were dissapointed in the level of education compared to the public schools in Massachusetts. We will try Bell's Crossing next year since that school offers more of a well-rounded atmosphere with less emphasis on testing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakview Elementary School
515 Godfrey Rd, Simpsonville, SC  29681
(864) 355-7100
Last modified Oakview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakview Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top