Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

McCracken Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 822 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2011

My daughter is a 7th grade student,she loves this school ,the teachers are wonderful,they always give their best for better teaching.My daughter was a good student,but now she is much better.Thank you very much to all staff that makes this possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My daughter is a 7th grader at Mccracken Jr High, and she really loves this school and so do I. The teachers are very nice and they excell in teaching in my opinon. My daughter is still maintaing an A average. Also Mr. Courtney the 7th grade conselor is excellence in his field of work he is sooo nice, and the principle Ms. peach is nice too. So far all my daughter's friends are sweet kids too. And last but, not lease Ms. Shelia, the front desk secretary is wonderful doing her job too. The policeman they have at mccracken works very well with the kids. They understands him and he understands them, and that's a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It's my son's first year but I am very pleases with the teachers and staff. They truly care about our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

My daughter loves this school. She has made a lot of friends and the teachers are wonderful. You can always email them about a problem or concern you have about your child. I absolutly love Dr. Courtney. He is a great guidance counselor. They have a lot of opportunities for students there and the parents are involved. Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

McCracken Junior High seems to be preparing well my 8th grader for high school curricula.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

Like most parents, we were concerned when our oldest child matriculated from Jesse Boyd Elementary to McCracken Junior High School as a seventh grader. That was in 2004-2005, he is now a ninth grader and it is the 2006-2007 school year. He has had a truly fantastic experience. An average student academically, good student athletic and 'Mr. Personality' in nature, he is the perfect well rounded student. The teachers, grade level guidance counselors and principals are all top notch individuals. I highly recommend McCracken Junior High School to all parents. We have experienced no bullying only warm caring faculty, staff and students. Our fifth grader wants to skip sixth grade and go to McCracken next year because of the fantastic experience that his brother has had! We will miss McCracken in 2007-2008 as he goes to Spartanburg High School. However, we will return in 2008-2009. GO EAGLES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

My child loved this school. He was so excited to be getting uot of elementary school. I recomend this school to everyone. Students are free and the are still obeying rules ever day. The dress code is fantastic. There are no drugs here and this school provides many opportunities. Last year my son was able to go to Australia, Hawii, and New Zealand, and China on a trip, that for that experience was at a great price. There are almost no 'bullies' and the standards in acedemics are very high. My child came out with all A's. The teachers give your child the help they need and devote sfter school time to you chhild to tutor them if they have any questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students71%
Female81%
Male60%
African-American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial64%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled13%
Not disabled77%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant71%

Math

All Students71%
Female75%
Male66%
African-American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial55%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals49%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabled22%
Not disabled76%
English language learners80%
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant71%

Science

All Students77%
Female82%
Male71%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals60%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled13%
Not disabled83%
English language learners70%
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Social Studies

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
African-American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial73%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals55%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled17%
Not disabled80%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant74%

Writing

All Students79%
Female89%
Male69%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals62%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled13%
Not disabled86%
English language learners90%
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled12%
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%

Math

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled24%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%

Science

All Students74%
Female74%
Male74%
African-American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals57%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabled25%
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Social Studies

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
African-American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled29%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant79%

Writing

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
African-American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled19%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Applied Biology

The state average for Applied Biology was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
97%
English I

The state average for English I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
84%
Mathematics for the Technologies 2

The state average for Mathematics for the Technologies 2 was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 60% in 2011.

309 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: %D, C, B, A

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP) to test middle and high school students in Algebra I, Mathematics for the Technologies II, Biology I, English I, US History, and US History and Government. The EOCEP provides tests in high school core courses and for courses taken in middle school for high school credit. The EOCEP is a standards-based test program, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score a C or above.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 53%
Black 38% 36%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Asian 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Webber Rd
Spartanburg, SC 29307
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 594-4457

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Spartanburg Day School
Spartanburg, SC






Montessori Academy
Spartanburg, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT