Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arcadia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Arcadia is a joke to all schools. This school has issues they need to worry about kids and treat them all the same instead of trying to help out only certain ones. students need to come first and they need to listen to the students instead of assuming teachers there are saints. If you ever have problem don t bother trying to dicuss it you will be in the wrong to them there teacher couldn't possible be in the wrong. If there is any other school your child could attend besides this one I would go for it..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Arcadia elementary school needs improvement I picked my niece and nephew up 2 day of school they just got in my car no questions ask then lady that stands in middle telling cars to stop and go doesn't have no idea what she is doing. Then to stop this off just starting the school year and this being my child's first year there there is no safety. The first day he has ever in his life been to school they told mr his teacher would be waiting at door on him and Thank God I walked him in there was no one inside the door waiting kids was coming in going where they was suppose to while we just stood there anyone could have picked him up this was not safe...then picking him up they said he couldn't wear his shoes no more excuse me they costed money! Girls wear sandals are they told to wear socks with them? This school need important. They need to worry about safety and treating kids all the same
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

Arcadia Elementary is a joke. The secretary is evil. The principal doesn't do his job. The kids run wild. The nurse barely knows the right side of a bandaid. The two biggest bullies there are teachers that shouldn't be allowed to train dogs much less children. The parents are lazy and ignorant. They get everything handed to them on a platter. three square meals every day, clothing, groceries, furniture for their houses, english classes, christmas presents, rent and bills paid, free medical attention, free glasses, free medicines, and anything else they can beg. And they aren't even thankful for the help. STOP THE FREE-LOADING!!! Arcadia is just making the problem worse by enabling these moochers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

this is not a good school. They always have there haater primarilynd out asking for money. They cater to the mexican kids more then others. Almost all of the teachers play favorite with the kids.Alot of the staff is very rude also.The bully program here is a joke. My child informed the teacher and counselor 3 times and nothing was done about her being bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

My child is student at this school and I love this school. The Principal, Teachers, and the entire staff are very nice and always go the extra mile. They are there for all children, regardless of ethnicity. They have a bully program and because of this program bullying is at a minimum. My child is on the A-B Honor Roll and really enjoys school. The Principal encourages family activities and parental involvement that have allowed my family to play a key role in my child's education. This is very important, because, as a parent, I feel that it is better for parents to be involved in the education of our children and not depend entirely on the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

My children have been going to this school for 3 yrs i think its a great school. My kids love all the teachers there, the principal is nice too. They could improve on the seceraty she kinda rude but other than that i love this school and hope that my kids can finish out here


Posted July 14, 2009

I am very disappointed in this school. There is very little discipline over the children. I feel teachers are afraid to discipline certain children in fear of repercussion from parents. I have switched my child to a different school in the district and have a very happy and productive child now. What a difference a year can make at a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

My kids enjoy Arcadia. They do not teach Spanish more than English. They actually have a very good literacy program that helps Spansh speaking children learn English, as well as challenges English speaking children. The principal, teachers, parents and students all make up a great team at this school. I have been invloved with this school for many years and I have been very pleased with all of the policies, procedures and the ways they have handled situations with my children, as well as others. Some people seem to think that because this school is primarily Spanish speaking children that they must be teaching at a lower level, but that is absolutely not the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

My children attended Arcadia most of their young lives and each year has been a traumatic one. They focus more on teaching Spanish than english. I enrolled my children in Alexander Elementary in Greenville SC, where I saw an immediate change. There grade point average went from C's and D's to honor roll. Arcadia really needs to rethink what they're doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

This school was not a pleasant experience for my child there isn't any discipline or structure and few rules in this school. Children are able to do as they please at lunch, on the playground and in class. They wasn't able to give my child the confidence of knowing that there was an adult there that could be trusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
36%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students77%
Female85%
Male68%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White75%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled78%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%

Math

All Students63%
Female74%
Male53%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled65%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%

Science

All Students71%
Female84%
Male53%
African-Americann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled70%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%

Social Studies

All Students47%
Female67%
Male32%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled50%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant47%

Writing

All Students70%
Female91%
Male49%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled71%
English language learners68%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students66%
Female64%
Male67%
African-American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled46%
Not disabled71%
English language learners66%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant66%

Math

All Students70%
Female68%
Male71%
African-American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled46%
Not disabled76%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant70%

Science

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled54%
Not disabled80%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant75%

Social Studies

All Students78%
Female80%
Male77%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled62%
Not disabled83%
English language learners81%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant78%

Writing

All Students59%
Female73%
Male49%
African-American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals58%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabled31%
Not disabled67%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students72%
Female71%
Male73%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled76%
English language learners72%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant72%

Math

All Students69%
Female74%
Male65%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled75%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant69%

Science

All Students61%
Female65%
Male57%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled68%
English language learners67%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant61%

Social Studies

All Students81%
Female79%
Male82%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled89%
English language learners84%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant81%

Writing

All Students71%
Female77%
Male63%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Subsidized meals71%
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabled79%
English language learners69%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 7%
White 15% 53%
Black 13% 36%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (864) 595-2408

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

375 Spring St
Spartanburg, SC 29301
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 576-1371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT