Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West View Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

West View is such a fantastic school. The teachers and administration staff are outstanding. My children went there for 2 years and have now moved on to Middle School. I have only good things to say about this school. Their PTO is outstanding. I was not on their board, but they were very thankful for anyone who volunteered. The PTO are not cliquish. They just love helping the school and the children in the school. Thank You West View!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

WestView is an outstanding elementary school! The Administration and teachers never stop working to make sure ever student has the best chance to succeed. We moved to our current neighborhood so that our now 5th grader could start kindergarten here. We also have a 1st grader here, and both boys have had an incredible educational experience. And the best part is...they both love their school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My children began attending West View in January of 2012 following our move to Spartanburg from Birmingham, AL. Hands down, WV is the best elementary school any of my four children have attended. The entire staff is superior. Getting involved - spending time doing volunteer work, choosing to be of service - all I can say is that opportunities abound for anyone ready and willing to step up, put yourself "out there" and get busy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I am a grandparent of a West View Elementary student and this is the second time around for our family to be involved. This school is changing with the times to have a more Global outlook in its approach to teaching. The make-up of the student population is very different than it was 20 years ago and adjustments are being made. One idea this time around that is very nice is to offer more varied clubs of interest to students who may not be in the Horizon program and may not have home opportunities to try varied avenues whether a cooking club or a cultural dance group. As a parent or grandparent you can be as involved as you want to be in your child's life and it is up to us to make that happen. I like the idea of my grandchild being exposed to many different cultures and hopefully will be a better citizen because of it. Our eyes need to be opened, our ears need to be listening,our hands need to be working together and our hearts need to go out and support our school. signed, a Grandma


Posted September 25, 2013

I am a parent to a West View student and feel that this school is an excellent school and deserves extremely high ratings. Not only are the teachers fantastic, but the front office staff is amazing as well. Letitia and Lois are so very understanding and caring, not just to us parents but to the kids as well. Any time I call or am volunteering, Lois treats me with kindness and makes me feel right at home! She also treats the students as if they were her own and talks to them in a caring and loving manner. West View truly could not have a better staff. My child loves going to school there and I am very happy with it as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I am a parent at West View Elementary School and I am very offended by the last persons comment and could not disagree with it more!!! You in no way, shape or form have to be a certain type of parent to be involved. With close to 900 students we value parent involvement and need parent involvement to keep some of our programs going!!! I know this from experience and being part of the PTO...every PTO opportunity we get we ask and beg parents to donate one hour of volunteer time a year!!!!! We pride ourselves in having new parents volunteer and hearing how much they have enjoyed the opportunity and many times it leads to them volunteering more and more!!! It is not remotely clickish.....we have people write down their names, contact info, and what they would like to volunteer for and we call them or email them....not knowing or caring what they drive, what color they are, or any of that silliness. We are a very diverse school and we open up volunteer opportunities to everyone!!!!! Once again with close to 900 students we need parents help. As far as fundraising and pictures....every school does pictures...don't buy them if you don't want them. Lastly..our 3 Principals ROCK!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Westview, academically, is a great school. I'm rating it low on principal/parent involvement because you have to be a certain type of parent to be allowed to be involved. It is horribly clique-ish (think white, blond, soccer mom, minivan and you will have a good picture of the parents that are allowed to be involved). I volunteered for simply classroom helper 3 years straight and was never called once. The fund-raising in non-stop all year long (ex. 3 separate school pictures, one for fall, one for holiday, one for spring) which ultimately makes you feel like you are getting nickel and dimed to death. Very frustrating experience this has been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

This school is great academically, but needs to pay more attention to the minority students. Also, staff/principal seem to be very "click-ish"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2010

Caring Staff and excellent parent participation. The principal is fully invested in the children's experience. This school has exceeded my expectations. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I have had three children attend West View Elementary School. They are honor students due in great part to the support and encouragement of the teachers at West View. Teachers believe in children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

West View Elementary School is an excellent establishment offering incredible opportunities for studnets and housing the finest teachers in the state of South Carolina!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

The teachers and administration are outstanding. High expectations are in place for all students. WVES is an award winning school. As a parent, I would suggest this school to any parent moving into the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

I have two daughters who have excelled in school due to the administration and teachers at West View Elementary School. As a parent with high expectations, this school has exceeded them by chanllenging and supporting my girls. They are stronger students due to the leadership examples and enriching content received at West View Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This is an excellent school. It is quiet when you walk in and learning is taking place. It is safe and inviting there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The teachers and staff that give their all to help Every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I switched my daughter to this school. I have seen an incredible change for the better in her learning ability and social interactions. The teachers are excellent in addressing all the children's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

I substitute taught at this school 3 years ago. They have a tremendous program and great teachers. I also went to this school as a child and they still have what I beleive is one of the best programs in the state. I did see some parents assisting teachers at this school while I was substituting. I'd send my kids to Westview anyday. Their programs (foreign languages, music, etc) are excellent, well organized, and the teachers had good lesson plans too. Definitely in the top 5 in Spartanburg County.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students93%
Female90%
Male96%
African-American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Subsidized meals91%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled73%
Not disabled95%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%

Math

All Students83%
Female79%
Male86%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabled55%
Not disabled85%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%

Science

All Students84%
Female81%
Male85%
African-American67%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%

Social Studies

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
African-American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals88%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%

Writing

All Students82%
Female78%
Male85%
African-American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled64%
Not disabled84%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female87%
Male91%
African-American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled30%
Not disabled94%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students93%
Female90%
Male95%
African-American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals99%
Disabled40%
Not disabled97%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant93%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male86%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals65%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled30%
Not disabled87%
English language learners82%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant82%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female87%
Male94%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals86%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled60%
Not disabled93%
English language learners100%
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant90%

Writing

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabled40%
Not disabled92%
English language learners91%
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female95%
Male80%
African-American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial90%
White94%
Subsidized meals83%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabled50%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
African-American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial70%
White91%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals96%
Disabled44%
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Not migrant84%

Science

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant87%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Subsidized meals56%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled30%
Not disabled78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant71%

Writing

All Students83%
Female90%
Male74%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial90%
White87%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled44%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 53%
Black 32% 36%
Hispanic 13% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Oak Grove Rd
Spartanburg, SC 29301
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 576-1833

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT