Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jesse Boyd Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 524 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2009

We moved from a large school in a large city that was rated a 10. Much to our surprise, this school has much more to offer than the previous school my son attended. He has thrived with the smaller class size (18 students instead of 32!) and the more individual attention he receives because of it. The fine arts program is excellent - all children learn to play the recorder well over the course of two years in music, art classes cover a variety of mediums and acadmics are excellent. The school is currently in the process of becoming an IB school and I have no doubt they will continue to grow and improve over the next few years,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Once at jesse boyd, my daughter blossomed! its the best thing that has happened to us!! love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Jesse Boyd is a wonderful school with an outstanding group of teachers and staff. However, I have serious concerns about the lack of socialization. I do not approve of 'silent lunch' or restrictions on recess for any grade level. A successful school is not just measured by test scores and academics. Students need time to interact in situations not structured by adults in order to develop interpersonal skills. However, with this being said Jesse Boyd is one of the very best schools in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My children and I love JBE, but I have had some concerns about favoritism by the Principal or others who choose parents to go on field trips. I have twice sent my money in the very first day and have not been allowed to go along. I have two children in the 4th grade and want to go with them. I am however, very please with the school over all. I feel the teachers and staff have the best interest of of children in mind, and trust that my children are safe. I would not want my kids going to any other school, they are doing well in class and their grades are great. 4th grade and 1st grade parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

My second grader loves the school and all that it offers. I was a product of this school, and was delighted to find that the programs and education have continued to progress over the years. Staff exhibit involvement and engagement with the children from attending baseball games to Chic-Fil-A Night. Awesome area to live and raise a family, with the perfect facilities and faculty to endourage growth both mentally and physically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

JBE is the best. My son was in a private school and we moved him to JBE. He loves it and the teachers or great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

We love Jesse Boyd! We moved one of our children here from another elementary school in the district that is supposed to be 'the best' and that child is doing so much better here and is so much happier -- with peers, with teachers, with administration, with everything! We also started our youngest in kindergarten at Jesse Boyd, and this child is thriving! Our oldest, who is now in high school, wishes we had sent them to Jesse Boyd, too. If only we had known better when we first moved to the area! After experiencing other schools, Jesse Boyd is the best for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

A job transfer just moved my two girls from Jesse Boyd to another school in SC. That school is rated a 10 vs JBE's 6 so you would think they have struggled.....Not so! They were very well prepared at JBE and have not missed a beat..still making all A's. JBE is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

From the first day, I have been impressed with Jesse Boyd Elementary School. Beautiful murals of nature adorn the cafeteria, hallways and library providing a stimulating atmosphere. The buildings and grounds are well maintained. The teachers, administration and staff are welcoming and helpful. Parents are encourage to be volunteers in various programs at school and are even encourage to eat lunch in the cafeteria with their children. The PTSO makes very effort to be inclusive to all new families. The school offers a wide variety of challenging programs, academic and extra-curricular, for the students. Support and help is readily available for those who need special attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

I believe Jesse Boyd to be one the best school available in the country. What these teachers do for these children, kindergarten up to sixth grade, is remarkable. There is an enormous amount of parental support, which accounts for the numerous things the school can do for its students. The related arts programs are superior. Our Bulldog Chorus was recently aired on the local radio program during the Christmas Holidays. If you are thinking of relocating to the Spartanburg area, I highly recommend the neighborhood school, Jesse Boyd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My child had a great kindergarten and is having a great 1st grade. We are very happy with how our child has prgressed. The principal, teachers, and staff are very friendly and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

'Jesse Boyd is an outstanding school where students receive a very good education in all subjects. The entire staff make every attempt to make every student and parent feel comfortable. Many of the parents act as substitute teachers, which is highly encouraged by the principal. All of the schools organizations are extremely helpful in helping meet the needs of each and every student. Staff personnel are always courteous, helpful and welcome any questions and or concerns which may arise. A very good school.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Great school! Everyone was friendly and helpful from the moment I walked in the door. Parent involvement is welcomed and encouraged. New ideas every day. The students are getting a fantastic education. Well prepared for the advancement to junior high. Curriculum is challenging. The building itself is decorated with the children's artwork. It is also clean and neat. I highly recommend Jesse Boyd!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school is outstanding as obviously is making a comeback. The education my children have received from Jesse Boyd has been oustanding. The encouragement of parents involvement oustanding. The goals set for the school are reachable, yet strive to constantly improve the school. The diverse group of students is reality, and yet our children are educated, and well-rounded in math, english, history, science, art and PE. I am excited about the school, and what it offers. The teachers are oustanding, and make a difference in their student's lives because they care, and know every day makes a difference. My children are loved, nurtured, and educated, and I am proud to say they attend Jesse Boyd Elementary School. Keep up the good work J.B. and thank you!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted June 1, 2005

This school is concerned with all aspects of educating a child. Parents are welcomed to volunteer and interact. It is a community that recognizes the cooperative effort of parents, teachers, and the entire school to educate a child. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

Great school. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to volunteer and visit. The very first day I met with my daughter's teacher, he asked if my husband and I would volunteer in the classroom, not only to help students, but to keep up with what's happening in school. Volunteer sign-up forms were given to all parents. Caring teachers go beyond the call of duty to reach all children, no matter what their ability level may be. There are lots of after school activities. Great chorus and district-wide band program. The best quality about Jesse Boyd is it's caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

Textbook teaching. Some very good teachers but they are creativity is encouraged/allowed. Focused on math, spelling, social studies. Arts, P.E. and Science are extremely lacking. Very COLD environment. Parents are not welcomed, many attempts are volunteering are ignored. Issued addressed both at the school and district level ignored. General feeling when speaking with other parents is that we do not count. Would strongly encourage a different district/school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students87%
Female97%
Male76%
African-American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Math

All Students81%
Female88%
Male72%
African-American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Science

All Students73%
Female80%
Male67%
African-American46%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals53%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

Social Studies

All Students97%
Female100%
Male91%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Subsidized meals100%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%

Writing

All Students80%
Female89%
Male69%
African-American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Subsidized meals64%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female80%
Male88%
African-American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals82%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

Math

All Students76%
Female67%
Male80%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant76%

Science

All Students71%
Female67%
Male73%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Subsidized meals50%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant71%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female80%
Male89%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Writing

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African-American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White90%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals94%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
African-American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Subsidized meals72%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant81%

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male71%
African-American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Subsidized meals68%
Full-pay meals73%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant71%

Science

All Students87%
Female85%
Male88%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Subsidized meals77%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Social Studies

All Students72%
Female68%
Male77%
African-American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals75%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant72%

Writing

All Students84%
Female85%
Male82%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals88%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 53%
Black 30% 36%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 3% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1505 Fernwood Glendale Rd
Spartanburg, SC 29307
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 594-4430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Spartanburg Day School
Spartanburg, SC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT