Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summerville Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 260 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Summerville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Avoid SCS and go elsewhere. After 7 years there we are moving our kids to public school. There are a few good teachers which we re thankful for, but each year at least one of our 3 kids had a horrible experience. Bullying is downplayed and things that would get a kid kicked out of public school are treated with only minor punishment. The academics are on a downhill spiral. My son questioned an answer, providing multiple examples of why his was correct, and the teacher told him "that's not what the answer key says." Critical thinking is apparently not a skill they wish to foster in this school. They've had a new Spanish teacher almost every year and start over each time. There's no real advanced GATE-like program for bright kids, which is a shame. Extracurricular activities are few and far between. One boy has spit on, hit, choked, kicked, scratched and drew blood with different kids and he's still there. I told a Dorch II district rep this story and she said he would have been expelled from public school a long time ago. Check out the dates on the good reviews and read the recent ones from parents. All signs point to an admin failure with no change in sight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

Poor, it is quite sad due to the former prestige of this establishment. While my child was in first to third I had no complaints. After that, however, I do believe that it has gone downhill. My child is in eighth grade now, and believes that it is miserable to go to this school. The teachers are somewhat engaging but I was very surprised when my son lacked basic knowledge of USA history and seemed to have a better understanding of Latin history. I do remember the days when my child was joyful coming home from school, alas those days are over. Unsatisfactory, poor monitoring of bullying, very strange use of rules,and overall, very poor. Limited Resources. Very disappointied. (2014)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

I learned more as a student teacher at this school than I could from any book. These students are being geared toward success by a fine, caring staff.


Posted August 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this school to anyone wanting a quality education for their children. The teachers ARE compassionate, they do have and express Catholic morals and values, I have never experienced or witnessed the faculty ignoring any issue that needed attention. I have NEVER been ignored by any staff member, they are very courteous, kind and sincere. I'm not sure where the" problem teachers year after year" are but I haven't seen one in 4 years and we are current with the school. teachers do tailor the lessons to individual kids who may be struggling, in addition they offer other teachers aids to help students who may need extra assistance. This a great Catholic school, education with God the father included, great staff, great kids, friendly atmosphere, you will feel welcome here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

SCS really seems to care. The school advisory board sponsored many opportunities for parents to be active and share their ideas. The teachers are willing to work with students and their families for success.


Posted June 12, 2013

Summerville Catholic School is great because it has a small family atmosphere with dedicated parents and staff that are welcoming and open to students. This setting makes it easy for teachers to know their students learning abilities. The learning environment is positively reinforced where kids know and practice their faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Parental concerns are given the impression that they're being addressed, but are swept under the rug. Teachers lack compassion and do not offer struggling students help. Student body severely lacks the values and morals of the Catholic faith. Poor lunch program. Parents responsibility to transport children on field trips. Numerous families pulled out mid school year. That's a definite red flag.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

If your child is in the lower elementary K4-1, good teachers but any older I would avoid. If you look at the dates of the reviews, you will notice they are all very old. None are recent. There is a reason for this! Look elsewhere.


Posted March 25, 2013

This school remains on a downhill slide. If you are looking for a school stuck in the Middle Ages where parental concerns are ignored, issues with problem teachers continue year after year, and differential learning is discussed but not actually effectuated, this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

We love this school! Plenty of communication between teachers with parents. Lots of sports programs offered for a range of ages. Offer Spanish, scouts, before and after school program, great summer camp offered. Beautiful school grounds with large grassy soccer fields, pavilion, nice playground. School offers a carnival in the spring, a circus presented by the pre K and K5 students, all Saints Parade, Pet Blessing. Mass every Wednesday (with exception of K4). Hot lunch offered. Uniforms. School has website where homework is posted along with all teachers' and principals emails are listed. School puts out a weekly newsletter that can be e-mailed directly to you. Children are encouraged to participate in community outreach. Parents are required to participate in 20 hours of school service per year. High parent participation rate. PSA active in the school. Son does regularly have homework during the weekdays. Has learned so much from this school - both academically and morally. They teachers are strict but very involved with students and their progress. The hallways are usually filled throughout the year with the students' projects. Grades offered are K4-8th grade. Junior high students area is separated from the elementary school. Most of all, our son loves and insists he does not want to go anywhere else. Hope this review helps!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2008

I have been a parent at summerville caholic for 10 years and i am very satified. The teachers are very nice and coorpative and the students are very polite!! You will not be making a mistake if your child comes here. The principle is very involved as are the parents. You wont be disapointed!!! (trust me)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My son went to this school from kindergarten (no K4 program at that time), through 8th grade. The school prepared him very well for high school. He was involved in the elementary choir and the Jr High Musical group. There is a quality before/afterschool care and a summer program. High level of parental involvement, our family has made lifelong friends. Excellent caring teachers, You can not ask for a better education or environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

Summerville Catholic is a great school! I have noticed our school is advanced in subjects compared to the public schools. Students can learn in a safe environment. extracurricular activities are available, golf, basketball, baseball, soccer, singing saints . Parent involvement is exceptional and thats what I think helps to make our school so great. Our principal is involved with the students ,he is great with them and a great example to them. You wont be disapointed with SUMMERVILLE CATHOLIC. it has everything to offer your children that you want and expect for them plus more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

Very Good Having been at this School for over 11 years one can see the good and bad. Overall this school has prepared my children for life after high school in a loving environment. My children have excelled under the very capable teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 50%
Hispanic 10% 6%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

226 Black Oak Blvd
Summerville, SC 29485
Phone: (843) 873-9310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT