Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
155 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted March 09, 2015
- a parent
our daughter attended the great local public schools for K5 and 1st grade and we moved her to SCS for 2nd grade. Imagine my amazement in the level of growth we have seen in her. Her reading had improved tremendously and her math skills bury those of her public school peers. Being involved in everything from school soccer to arts programs and everywhere in between, plus the individualized attention she gets from her teachers in the small student ratio, makes me never doubt our decision to send her to SCS. The teachers care about those students to an incredible degree. I'm impressed at the religious knowledge she's gained. But most of all, I love seeing her interacting with her peers. So many good kids have become such good friends, both inside and outside of school. I would recommend SCS to anyone who wants their child to receive a quality education with great team building additional activities to participate in.

Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
So happy we chose Summerville Catholic for our family! Great teachers, wonderful front office staff, and a warm welcoming community.


Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a parent
In a world of many choices, I am glad that we chose SCS for our family. Although it is hard for anyone or anything to be everything to everybody, it is nice to know that our family is part of the SCS family and community. Like a family, we look out for each other and look for what is best for our children. It is nice to know my child is receiving a wonderful education. Like anything,I found that if we do our part, homework, have great attendance, participate in extra activities, we receive the most from our school. I am proud to be a part of such a close, loving, faith based, and academic community.

Summerville Catholic School 2

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
After 4 years at SCS, we finally realized that the "superior private school education" that we thought we were paying for, was not that at all. We really wanted our son to receive a religious education, but it was not worth the anxiety and frustration we experienced with the other issues. After some VERY serious issues with our son were continually swept under the rug by the administration, we moved him to a public school. We were immediately shocked to discover that he was behind on several subjects. This had nothing to do with the teachers at SCS (who were amazing for the most part) and everything to do with the administration and the curriculum, as well as the apparent "takeover" of the school by a very aggressive group of "mean moms". Thankfully, we have been able to catch our son up, in just a short time, hopefully he doesn't suffer as he continues. Please research other options before "settling".

Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
Love this school. We enrolled our son in the K4 program with intent to move him out to public. We fell in love with the family atmosphere. My son is in K5 now and is reading 2nd level books, testing at 100%. I highly recommend this school.


Summerville Catholic School 1

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
We left SCS this year and went to public school instead. My middle schooler still asks me if something is a city or a state or a country? I heard that history teaching was a problem but he always got good grades so I didn't question it. Now he can't even identify basic places on a US map. My other two children just LOVE the public school. My middle child dreaded going to school each day, to the point of tears sometimes. Now each day we ask how school was he says AWESOME! I can tell that not only is he getting good grades, but he is LEARNING and his teachers are responsive to parental questions and concerns. Bullying is the last thing on our minds in the Dorchester elementary schools, whereas we had SEVERAL reported problems at SCS with no resolution. Yes, they pray at SCS and preach Catholic values. However, they fail to live them. My children all saw the hypocrisy and we discussed it over dinner several times. I can get my religion for free at church and a better education elsewhere. We have never been happier in our decision to leave. More than the cost of the school we regret having exposed our children to such a place during their formative years.

Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
Some parents or students may not like adherence to the uniform policy. There's no drama about what to wear each morning; just choose what's appropriate for the weather. The kids are less interested in what the others are wearing and are more focused on their instruction. The uniforms are purchased through Lands End and the dress code can easily be viewed that way. There is a wide variety of winter and summer clothes to choose from. Take a look at the miniskirts, see-trough items, and typed messages on things kids wear to other schools if you need a comparison.

Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a community member
SCS is certainly a school where faith and knowledge meet! I am thrilled the children get to experience activities like the All Saints Day Mass & Parade and the Living Saints Museum. The experiments that have taken place in the science lab are amazing!


Summerville Catholic School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
We are new to SCS this year. Three months into school, we still find ourselves DAILY praising this institution. The teachers offer the students individualized instruction and are amazingly supportive and caring to both the students and the parents. Our Catholic faith is reflected in everything the school does. Each morning the children assemble together for prayer, student recognition, and song. Academics are rigorous and teacher expectations are high, assuring us that our daughter will be ready for future academic challenges. The principal is highly visible around the school and is open to ideas and suggestions. Further, the PSA is creative in the MANY activities they plan to bring the school community together; we truly feel part of a big family at SCS. We feel so blessed to have found this school!

Summerville Catholic School 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a community member
This school seems to allow bullying. And the education is terrible. The staff and students here are extremely mean.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summerville Catholic School
226 Black Oak Boulevard, Summerville, SC  29485
(843) 873-9310
Last modified Summerville Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Summerville Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top