Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cane Bay High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Goldammer taught all my children in Algebra. Super fantastic teacher. She zones in right away on the childs learning style and makes them LOVE math. Mrs Wolfsen taught my 9th grader Bio-medical Engineering and really engaged and encouraged her love for the medical field. Mr Swilling taught my son JROTC. I can not say enough good things about him and his program. Mr Lewis taught my son history and really was open minded and engaged my sons love for politics and history. We were lucky to have had these teachers this year. I saw the growth my children had from their positive influence and love for teaching.

Cane Bay High School 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Canebay's academy s, AP, and honors class's are top notch. Beautiful safe school. Wonderful staff. The JROTC and Robotics programs are very enriching. Opportunity's for extra curricular are awesome!


Cane Bay High School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
My son is a junior at Cane Bay High and has had nothing but great experiences. The arts teachers are second-to-none and the content teachers, in addition to being experts in their fields, are supportive and encouraging. The administration is heavily involved in making sure that all students are encouraged to excel. Although he had the opportunity to attend both a magnet school in the district and a school in the feeder pattern in which his father works, our family chose Cane Bay because of the excellent opportunities it affords. feel very blessed that my son has had the opportunity to get his education at Cane Bay High where the school is a community, pulling together for the success of all students.

Cane Bay High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
I have no complaints about the amount of homework, considering it an effective amount to support continued learning.

Cane Bay High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Readers, please remember that only those who have a complaint usually respond in forums like this one. However, I can say without a doubt that the teachers at Cane Bay High are supremely effective.


Cane Bay High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Dr. David Carter is the best example of talent and determination a student could have to look up to. Dr. Lee Westberry is a fabulous role model for our young women to look up to.

Cane Bay High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Students who struggle in any way (academically, athletically, artistically) are provided with support and encouragement, holding fast to their goals and given the tools with which to reach them. Giving up is not an option at CBH.

Cane Bay High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
I have witnessed the courteous nature students exercise in this school: the way they greet and hold doors for visitors and the kindness with which they treat the retired gentleman who volunteers in the school store. The atmosphere in the school is one of supportive respect, as modeled by administrators and faculty members, alike.


Cane Bay High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Through a variety of methods, Cane Bay High develops caring and empathy in students. Beginning with service opportunities (e.g., helping the Water Missions project and working with Special Olympics), including advocacy opportunities (e.g., collecting can tabs for charity and working with fund raisers for the American Cancer Society), as well as direct service opportunities (e.g., the band marching in the MLK Day parade and football players reading to elementary students), CBH helps students be aware of others besides themselves and to see what they can do to help in the world.

Cane Bay High School 3

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a straight A student. Has been since kindergarden. The only problem I have with this school is that there is no credit or encouragement given to the students. My daughter was use to hearing from her teachers that she does an amazing job and that she's an outstanding student. I find there are a lot of young teachers also that do not know how to professionally talk to a parent when they have a concern. One is particular but I'll keep the name to myself. We came from Florence school district where the teachers were into encouraging there students but here my daughter feels like just another student. I was happy recently that one teacher has stepped up to the plate and tells my daughter how proud she is of her. It makes her feel that all the hard work she is putting in means something. I am just glad that my daughter has two parents who encourage her other wise she wouldn't get that from 99 percent of her teachers.

Nearby schools

Cane Bay High School
1624 State Rd, Summerville, SC  29483
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (843) 899-8786
Last modified Cane Bay High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top