Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cane Bay High School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
My son is a junior at Cane Bay High and has had nothing but great experiences. The arts teachers are second-to-none and the content teachers, in addition to being experts in their fields, are supportive and encouraging. The administration is heavily involved in making sure that all students are encouraged to excel. Although he had the opportunity to attend both a magnet school in the district and a school in the feeder pattern in which his father works, our family chose Cane Bay because of the excellent opportunities it affords. feel very blessed that my son has had the opportunity to get his education at Cane Bay High where the school is a community, pulling together for the success of all students.

Cane Bay High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
I have no complaints about the amount of homework, considering it an effective amount to support continued learning.


Cane Bay High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Readers, please remember that only those who have a complaint usually respond in forums like this one. However, I can say without a doubt that the teachers at Cane Bay High are supremely effective.

Cane Bay High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Dr. David Carter is the best example of talent and determination a student could have to look up to. Dr. Lee Westberry is a fabulous role model for our young women to look up to.

Cane Bay High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Students who struggle in any way (academically, athletically, artistically) are provided with support and encouragement, holding fast to their goals and given the tools with which to reach them. Giving up is not an option at CBH.


Cane Bay High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
I have witnessed the courteous nature students exercise in this school: the way they greet and hold doors for visitors and the kindness with which they treat the retired gentleman who volunteers in the school store. The atmosphere in the school is one of supportive respect, as modeled by administrators and faculty members, alike.

Cane Bay High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Through a variety of methods, Cane Bay High develops caring and empathy in students. Beginning with service opportunities (e.g., helping the Water Missions project and working with Special Olympics), including advocacy opportunities (e.g., collecting can tabs for charity and working with fund raisers for the American Cancer Society), as well as direct service opportunities (e.g., the band marching in the MLK Day parade and football players reading to elementary students), CBH helps students be aware of others besides themselves and to see what they can do to help in the world.

Cane Bay High School 3

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a straight A student. Has been since kindergarden. The only problem I have with this school is that there is no credit or encouragement given to the students. My daughter was use to hearing from her teachers that she does an amazing job and that she's an outstanding student. I find there are a lot of young teachers also that do not know how to professionally talk to a parent when they have a concern. One is particular but I'll keep the name to myself. We came from Florence school district where the teachers were into encouraging there students but here my daughter feels like just another student. I was happy recently that one teacher has stepped up to the plate and tells my daughter how proud she is of her. It makes her feel that all the hard work she is putting in means something. I am just glad that my daughter has two parents who encourage her other wise she wouldn't get that from 99 percent of her teachers.


Cane Bay High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
To the parent who's child (for unknown reasons) missed 40 days of school, Did you expect the school to teach your child through osmosis? If she wasn't there long enough to learn all of the material, how would she do anything more than just pass by the skin of her teeth? At what point do people stop playing the victim and own up to personal responsibility? Don't get me wrong.. There is definitely a uncalled for amount of poor performing schools all over SC, but your situation doesn't seem to reflect that. Whether it be Cane Bay, Berkeley or Sweet Valley High, parents need to realize that a good foundation for their child's education starts at home.

Cane Bay High School 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
In response to the parent below, all students in SC have to pass the HSAP in order to graduate. Also, you do realize that as a parent you can speak up and ask that your child be held back? The only way I know to pass with 40 absences is with medical notes and parental support. We have been very pleased with Cane Bay. Berkeley County has other school options if your child is very behind or truly advanced. I have met only caring teachers and a good support staff. They offer core classes on 3 levels - basic, college prep and advanced. Their electives are way beyond anything I was ever offered in high school. The school buildings are less than 8 years old and very clean. High school is not meant to entertain you, but to provide you with opportunity to educate yourself. Cane Bay is a rural school, with decent course offerings and a good amount of sports and after school organizations. If you want school to be like high school on TV, then either get very involved in extracurricular activities or move to a city where the average income is about 6 times higher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cane Bay High School
1624 State Rd, Summerville, SC  29483
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (843) 899-8786
Last modified Cane Bay High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top