Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Summerville Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

SES is the absolute best. The teachers, the staff and most of all the amazing principle make it such a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

We love being a part of Summerville Elementary. Principal Dibble is amazing and so very kind and takes her time to speak with everyone that walks in the door. A few minor issues with a few teachers but overall an amazing staff. My girls love it there so that's truly what matters most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

The first grade teachers are awesome , but the second grade teacher my son has doesn't listen to my son concerns and the principal never has time to talk about the situations going on with my child and his teacher...I plan to move just so he can get the best where communication is important. Also every time I call or come up there the office staff is very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My daughters got the very best beginning of their long, public education at Summerville Elem. The Principal was the best ever! He knew all the students' names - every one of them! It was amazing. He had a petting zoo on school grounds, and lots of animals and birds inside the building. The teachers were all excellent - caring, yet firm. I walked my girls to and from school every day, in the middle of the historic district, and the atmosphere was very nurturing - much like when I was a little girl, and I'mno 'Spring Chicken' anymore. My kids are in college and high school now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I honestly can't say enough about Dr. Sires and the staff at SES. They are hands down the best team around! They have been a major support for my son when it seemed he just couldn't cope and helped me find the much needed resources to get him through and learn better ways to work things out. Dr. Sires and the entire staff at SES are heros in my book. Thank You Team SES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

This is the best school ever where children come first
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

This is my child first year at SES! She is in KD and is enjoying every minute of it. Comes home everything wanting to read, read and read. She talks all night about what she does in school and being able to go and see the animals. I am really impressed with the staff and the commitment the teachers and Dr. Sires have towards the kids. The involvemnt the parents play in the school is wonderfull as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

Dr Sires and the majority of the staff are fantastic. I have noticed a problem in communication among some of the teachers to the parents. Otherwise thsi school is really great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

I researched this area and bought my house so that my children would go to this school. I have a son who went through their GATE program in which he learned so much. He is well above his grade level. I have another son who is very smart, but has ADHD and a conduct disorder. I cannot believe how much the faculty at this school has gone out of their way to help him. It has been slow, but there is noticeable improvement. My daughter is smart and probably on her way to GATE classes as well. My stepchildren, on the other hand, are on a more general track, and I do not feel they are pushed enough. I have 3 stepchildren in 3rd and 4th grade who cannot multiply and divide. I learned this in 2nd grade. Students here, overall, are very polite and open doors for you. Thanks SES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2005

I have 3 daughters at this school. They all love going to school everyday. Dr. Sires holds 'Camp Sires' at his home every year for the kids who have met their reading goals and it is a VERY big deal to the kids to be able to attend this very special day. My 5th grader is on the petting zoo crew and on the WSES news staff-she will truly miss her teachers and especially Dr. Sires when she moves on to middle school next year-but I know she will be prepared to handle the challenges of her new school because SES has prepared her so well to move forward!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

This is the best school My children have been to and I have volunteered at! This school makes you feel like family from day one. Dr. Sires never forgets a child or their family. I wish my children were still young enough to attend this school! Great activities for the children. Young astronauts, GATE, Petting Zoo crew, WSES news, and so much more. The teachers are ALWAYS there for you and the children. Did I mention you feel like one big family here? WE LOVE SES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Dr. Sires (principal) and the school staff have created a good school environment for learning. Parents are actively involved in the school and it has many extra activities for students, such as art club, spanish club, a good news club and similar activities. There is also a 'gate program' for students who have a need for a greater challenge and a mentor program for students who need a little extra help. Overall, it is a good public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

All I can say is great school. I have no complaints at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

My Daughter just transferred to this school and they have made what was becoming a disaster for her into a learning and pleasent experience. So far we have had all the proper help and resources needed to get our daughter back on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students88%
Female91%
Male86%
African-American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals100%
Disabled59%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals98%
Disabled53%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male63%
African-American43%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Subsidized meals47%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled40%
Not disabled67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female90%
Male81%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized meals76%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%

Writing

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White84%
Subsidized meals67%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled41%
Not disabled82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students79%
Female80%
Male77%
African-American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled45%
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
African-American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabled45%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Science

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
African-American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Subsidized meals70%
Full-pay meals83%
Disabled45%
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%

Social Studies

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
African-American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White82%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals85%
Disabled55%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
African-American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals84%
Disabled35%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
African-American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals92%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant86%

Math

All Students88%
Female96%
Male80%
African-American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals97%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Non-migrant88%

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Subsidized meals78%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Social Studies

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
African-American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Subsidized meals52%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant68%

Writing

All Students81%
Female84%
Male76%
African-American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Subsidized meals73%
Full-pay meals89%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 53%
Black 38% 36%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (843) 821-3988

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

835 South Main St
Summerville, SC 29483
Website: Click here
Phone: (843) 873-2372

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT