Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public district
Summerville, SC
Students enrolled: 843
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newington Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Dorchester county schools are awesome! great football. My son attends newington. He loves his school. I cant wait till he is old enough to play football!

Newington Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 11, 2008
- a parent
great school, poor parking and drop off route


Newington Elementary School 3

Posted July 19, 2005
- a parent
This past school year was my daughter's 1st year in a public school setting. She had been attending private school and wanted the chance to go to a school where her neighborhood friends attended. Newington was an experience. Quite a different atmosphere than that of her old school. I will say that it took some time before she warmed up to the teachers and vice versa. Valid effort was made to make sure that the transition would be good for my baby. Newington has so much more to grow before I would consider them being 'Palmetto's Finest'.

Newington Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2005
- a parent
i would like to say that Newington is wonderful. My child has been here since K. He is now in the 5th grade and about to go to his next level of education. I would like to commend Mrs. Gunter & Mr. Pye, my son's has done so well this year. The school is wonderful . thank you Newington for my son's elementary education.

Newington Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2005
- a parent
Thank God for Newington Elementary! What a wonderful school! The leadership and teaching abilities of the staff members there are above and beyond what one could hope to find.


Newington Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2004
- a parent
Newington is a wonderful school for your children to attend. There is a warm feeling of acceptance and genuine concern for a child's well-being. Everyone there really loves each and every child and they all work hard to make sure the students know that. What a great school.

Newington Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2004
- a parent
My children have been attending Newington for 3 years. I enjoy that they really encourage parent involvement. At this time most of the staff and teachers know who I am on a first name basis. I believe that they are doing a wonderful job of shaping our future leaders. They have taken all my concerns seriously. They have done every thing in their power to help the my children from academic help to counseling. I hope that my children will attend Newington until the move to middle school.

Newington Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2004
- a parent
What a wonderful place to have your child! The 'family' environment is most appealing and the teachers and administrators are conccerned with putting the learners first. This school truly exemplifies what a 'Palmetto's Finest' school is all about!


Newington Elementary School 3

Posted July 08, 2004
- a parent
The academic experience my child had while attending this school was not a favorable one. The teachers as well as the principal were more concerned w/ appearance(s)rather than the true needs of the students. More emphasis was placed on the children passing the statewide PACT test. Modern teaching methods should be implemented. Gone are the days of Grandma's 'old school' tactics. My feelings toward this school are one of anger and disgust at the faculty and staff of Newington. Please look at all schools before you make a decision of having these people shape and mold the young minds of your most precious gifts. I will say that one techer in particular was very caring and committed in having her students strive to meet the mark. Mrs. Cisar is a God send.

Newington Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2004
- a parent
This is a warm, welcoming school! Teachers, students, and administrators make up a big, happy family. For good reason, Newington has just been named a 'Carolina First Palmetto's Finest School!' Congratulations, Dolphins!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newington Elementary School
10 King Charles Circle, Summerville, SC  29485
(843) 871-3230
Last modified Newington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newington Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top