Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Millwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 643 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2013

Millwood is truly a great school. We were worried about relocating to Sumter, as our children were in an amazing private school prior to our move and the private options in Sumter are not so convincing. We did our homework and after visiting many schools, we decided it is the best option available. Millwood has exceeded our expectations and kept us from commuting from a larger city. The PTA is amazing and you have a lot of options for volunteering at the school. The teaches are welcoming and helped our children easily adapt to an American school. Leadership is great and ever-present.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

Mr. Hilton and the teachers at Millwood are wonderful, loving & caring! My children and I are thankful for this school. The secretary, however, sure could use an attitiude adjustment...always hateful and rude. She needs to take note from her fellow employees on how to treat people. She is a poor reflection of the school. School nurses could use a course or two on compassion...they talk to sick children as if they were dogs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

We are a military family, this was our children s 3rd school and they were only in the 1st and 2nd grade when we moved to Shaw. We had an AMAZING experience with Millwood. After 3 years we PCS-ed leaving behind a school that became family. From the principal to the custodians everyone was professional and inviting. My husband and I were able to volunteer and be an active part of Millwood. The education my children received pleasantly exceeded our expectations. The teachers are invested in each student and not only challenged our children but were quick to inform us when they had concerns. Our family HIGHLY recommend Millwood Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

Millwood Elementary is an outstanding elementary school due to the excellent leadership and teaching! Everyone works together as a family in order to best meet the needs of each child. The parents of students at Millwood are encouraged to be involved. Because of this encouragement by the leadership and teachers, the Millwood PTA is very strong. It's no wonder Millwood receives top awards for its performance!


Posted September 26, 2011

When moving here I thought that my daughter would be stuck in a school with low ratings as that is what all the reviews had said when we were looking. However we found Millwood and we would highly recommend it. The Staff in the office and the teachers are great. You feel welcomed at the school. PTA is great at the school better then the one I came from. The Staff at Millwood take great pride in the education and the students well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

My kids have thrived here at Millwood. Both became straight A students in the first year they were here. The teachers are caring and the administration keeps the school running smoothly. Can't recommend this school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

This is probably the best school I will ever go to. Dr. Hilton is amazing and so are all the teachers, I have never had a teacher who will let me stay after school for two hours will they help me with divison. I will never forget going here!!!!


Posted May 2, 2011

Millwood is like a well-oiled machine. It runs smoothly and flows from one event, day, year to the other without any interuption. The teachers and faculty have great pride in the school and it shows in what they do on a day to day basis! The PTA has new events for parent and children involvement regulary. Everyone involved with Millwood make parents and students feel welcome and like a part of the "family"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

Best elementary school in Sumter! We were stationed here 3 years ago, and chose our house based on recommendations for this school. I am so glad we did. I have had 4 children in this school, and every one has loved it. Every teacher is dedicated to their students and their education. The office staff is absolutely wonderful. Dr. Hilton is a true leader with a soft heart. The children respect him, but adore him. The PTA is involved with multiple programs, and parent volunteer involvement is evident on a regular basis. You will not regret sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My children have been going to Millwood for 3 years and I really think it's the best elementary school in Sumter. The teacher's are very receptive and welcoming and the class counts aren't too high. They have a wonderful PTA and many different programs to help parents and the students. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

My child has been at Millwood for a year and a half. We were relocated here halfway through kindergarten, and I was hesitant to leave her old school because it was so good. Millwood has surpassed that! This is an incredible school with dedicated staff and a wonderful principal. Dr. Hilton is more involved than any principal I have seen before. The PTA is very active and welcoming, the classrooms are not overcrowded, and the teachers are incredible. My daughter LOVES school, and I attribute much of that to the love of learning she is gaining from her outstanding first grade teacher! My toddler already cannot wait to attend! This is the school to go to in Sumter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

To be honest, we were expecting the worst when relocating to Sumter but Millwood surprised us. The 3rd grade teacher for our son has been excellent. The academic worload has been pretty rigorous and the principal, Dr. Hilton, is strict but seemingly fair. I feel my children are getting a good eductation at Millwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

The academics at Millwood is superior to most schools in this area. The teachers that my children have had have been fantastic. They have been good at communicating with parents. There are some extracurricular activities including sports, chorus, and a jump rope team. The parent involvement is top notch, due to the efforts of the principal. Parents are welcome anytime to assist in classrooms, eat lunch with students, and become involved in the numerous activities that the PTA carries out. I would recommend this school to anyone moving to the area. Choosing a school wisely in Sumter is very important, but I wouldn't hesitate to choose Millwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

I love Millwood Elem. School. After touring A private school and Millwood to decide what school would be best for our children, we decided on Millwood. The teachers are wonderful. I feel as if my children are safe with Dr. Hilton in charge. Any situations that have come up has always been handled. Millwood has an excellent PTA program and lots of activities for the children. Parents feel very welcomed in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I love this school. The teachers are great. I have a child now at Alice Drive Middle and it has been a far cry for what I was use to at Millwood. I think I was spoiled and middle school has been a rude awakening. Dr Hilton is a fine principle and runs his school with great pride. There are many wonderful teachers. Parents are encouraged to be a part of their childs in school learning and it really helped my oldest who needed the extra push. I still have a child, my youngest, left in the 4th grade and am not looking forward to the middle school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2004

My two children attended Millwood last year and we thought it was terrific. Not until we have moved to Florida and seen the differences, have we really appreciated the special attention our children received. Mrs.M. Johnson in the 4th grades was superb. The kindergarten teachers are also fantastic. Mrs. Lynn, Mrs. Stanley and all the aides work hard so the students can learn and succeed. I highly recommend Millwood over all Elementary schools in the county including every private school. Make sure you move in the correct area to receive full benefits for this school. Lunches are great and the PTA is super. The teachers even eat lunch with their students. Can't say they do that in Fl. Enjoy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

Very orderly school, projects school pride. Principal does excellent job drawing parents into the school. Strong PTSA but never saw anything beneficial they did with fundraising money. Some excellent teachers in this school...but the teacher awards seemed to always go to a select few teachers with many good teachers never recognized. High turnover in Assistant Principals each year there was a new one. Academics were above average for this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 36%
White 43% 53%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 436-2987

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 Pinewood Rd
Sumter, SC 29150
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 775-0648

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Wilson Hall
Sumter, SC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT