Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wilder Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2013

Outstanding school for the area! Principal and teachers are excellent and discipline is great! My son is a non-native english speaker, and the Teachers and principal were VERY good with his english. He is scoring higher in math and can read at a (Scholastic Book)Level 3 by the end of his kindergarten year. Very military friendly with a great Veterans day tribute that all classes participate in! The bus commute can be tough for younger kids (30 min) but it has not been a huge problem. I was initially dubious due to past performance on the standardized testing, but for AY 11-12, Wilder was highest in the district. Dont believe the "other school hype" That was 5-10 years ago. Wilder is Soaring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

I love this school. I want to address the parent comment posted September 11, 2010 about the science projects (called science fairs), it is just not true. The first science project of the year is taught in class - by every science teacher. Even those in the lower grades participate. Depending on grade level the students then do (or re-do) projects on their own the rest of the year. The research requirements go up by grade level according to a school wide rubric (scoresheet) the teachers designed. I am sorry if this parent had a bad experience, but appreciate the opportunity it gives me to clarify one of the many great (and rigorous) programs we have at Wilder.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 11, 2010

i have not been pleased with wilder. the principal is hard to read and her mood flip flops daily. the 3rd thru 5th grade does 4 science fairs in one school year. it's way too much considering the teachers have not taught them how to write research papers, and kids are just learning about the scientific method. requires lots of teaching from the parents and not the teachers. after that many projects, it makes it difficult to enjoy science experiments. thus defeating the purpose. i've observed some demeaning comments made by teachers, but not all. this is not the best school in sumter, but there are worse. i'd say it's in the middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

Wilder could be a great school but the principal needs to focus on priorities (less on personal issues and more on the school itself).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

My granddaughter has completed two years as a student at Wilder Elementary. She enrolled in the Pre-Kindergarten class with Mrs. Dean, who is a wonderful teacher and cares a great deal about her students. The second year she was enrolled in Mrs. Geter s class. I liked the idea that Mrs. Geter would strongly encourage the students to perform at peak levels. My granddaughter has started her third year with Mrs. Wilson who as already seen the potential in her and is providing advanced class and school work to keep her challenged. I appreciate and agree with the idea of individualized educational plans for students. Students, even though they maybe in the same grade, do not necessarily possess the same ability to grasp new concepts or comprehend material at the same rate.


Posted September 18, 2008

I love this school! This is my child's 1st year at Wilder and I just love everything so far. They really involve parents and have a wonderful program with an excellent principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I attended this school as a child and it was wonderful. Now that my children have attended there it has been a big disappointment. There is poor leadership, reason being that issues were report to the principal by numerous parents and not much was done to take action and in return the kids suffered. For instance my child didn't receive the level of education I felt she needed to be prepared for the next grade level. The teacher didn't have a clue as to what was going on, for ex: I received notices late, incomplete information on different projects that my child had to complete, the children sometimes had more control over then the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

The school is great! This was the first year that our children attend Wilder, we relocated to Sumter in October 2006. Mrs.Dean was a excellent teacher whom knows how to deal with children very well, along with my daughter's teacher Mrs.Rembert whom 'We take our hat's off too!!' Our children were excited everyday to see their teachers. That is a big thing for us because we came from a big city where learning was not top priority. We done Wilder!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2007

I am pleased with the music, art, and gym at Wilder Elementary. The assistant principal and principal are questionable. I don't always agree with how they do things. I wish this school was a high academic performing school. I also wish the classroom size was smaller and the kids received more individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

Wilder does have some good teachers but you can feel the tension between the teachers and the principal. Over we as parents are falling our kids by not making these things known to the board of education. The only reason Wilder is not on the same level as Alice Drive is because of its poor leadership. Wilder parents get involved in your child curriculum and speak out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I am very pleased with Mrs Ladouceur. She is very caring and it shows with her students. She is a wonderful teacher. I have totally enjoyed working with her this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

My child attended the pre-school program here. This was Mrs. Dean's first year teaching. She was wonderful in her drive to give these children as much as she could. Her room was set up so inviting. However her assistant was more of a hinderence as my child & as did other children feared her. The principal was wonderful. She is so involved in the school & knows every child by name & what their homelife is like. The pre-school experience was great. We have since moved so I can not comment on any other grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Wilder has so much to look forward to in its future. The demograghics is going to improve very soon. The children there are some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Just look at their school pictures in the Yearbook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2004

This is a good school with great teachers. The demographics are difficult, but will hopefully improve as a nice new neighborhood (Meadowcroft) is zoned for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 36%
White 22% 53%
Hispanic 2% 6%
Asian 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 778-2918

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

975 South Main St
Sumter, SC 29150
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 773-5723

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sumter Academy
Sumter, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT