Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kingsbury Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

Kingsbury Elementary School is the BEST school in which to be a student, parent, or staff member. Our focus is first and always about the children we teach. The quality of our teachers and administration is second to none. We strive each and every day to learn more and as educators, seek creative and innovative opportunities to allow ALL students to learn and experience success throughout the year. Our parents and volunteers are large in number due to our warm and inviting atmosphere which supports our belief that it DOES take a Village! Our teachers are positive, engaging, energetic, and first to do whatever it takes to make a better way for a better day in the lives of the students we serve. Our School Administrators support our students and staff every day, There is an open door policy allowing for open and honest conversation about what our students, and therefore our teachers, need to succeed. They work tirelessly every day of the year to secure what is needed for our teachers and students to succeed and they are always open to new ideas from students, parents, and staff. Our future leaders of tomorrow experience a nurturing and caring environment every day at KBE.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2014

The best school, great Principles , loving teachers . Good school curriculum . When i drop my kids , i know they are well taken care of , they have same teachers from alice drive school for challenge classes without the overly crowded small classes. You would see the principle outside during lunch or during pickup on any given day , unlike some schools where you dont even know who the principle is? Open bright classrooms , highly qualified teachers and every day the kids get to go out and play(which is imp. For my little boy) lol . If this dint work out our next option was to send our kids to private school. I personally know a dentist from palmetto dentistry , who sends his older kids in wilson hall ,but sends his younger kids to kingsbury .due to the top teacher rankings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

My daughter completed 2nd grade at Kingsbury Elementary. We absolutely loved this school. The staff and faculty were very friendly and helpful. Her 2nd grade teacher used a lot of outside resources to make learning fun. They rewarded achievements in academics, arts, and behavior. My daughter especially enjoyed the projects because her teacher allowed each child to use their creativity to complete the project. The field trips were awesome also (her words not mine). My daughter learned a lot, excelled academically, was rewarded for her achievements, and had fun through it all. Don't let test scores and stats keep you away from this school. You won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

I can't say one bad word about Kingsbury I have three children that attend the school it is one of the best schools any of my children have ever attended! Staff, teachers and the principal are awesome! The kids are great! I just love it I am so glad that we were blessed to find a house in the district for this school! My kids are getting a quality education from teachers who care what more could a parent ask for!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I love Kingsbury Elementary. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and I wouldn't take my children to any other school. At Kingsbury, they are loved and pushed to always do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Kingsbury is a wonderful school with a great faculty and staff. One of my children attended this school and the other two are currently attending. I am an active parent volunteer and Kingsbury provides many opportunities for parents to be involved in the educational process. Again this is a great school with a warm a friendly administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

Both of my children attended Kingsbury for five years. The principal now is the best they have had in years. The faculty and staff are a caring, supportive group of people. The teachers are highly qualified and are genuinely concerned about their students. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

My son goes to 1st grade here and we love the school. We are not thrilled with his teacher, but recognize that it is the person, not the school at fault. The school counselor is always available to discuss concerns and the principal is very active and responsive to parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

My 10yr old has attended KBE for the last 4 yrs. We think the Special Ed program overall is outstanding and his resource teachers have been wonderful to work with. My son has made great progress in overcoming his learning disability (social communication/interaction/attention). My 7yr old is thriving and reading at a 3rd grade level. Our boys' teachers have been very receptive to our involvement as parents. (Unfortunately, some of their students have parents who don't care quite as much about their education.) Punishment for school infractions seems fair. Parent involvement seems fairly high from what I've seen at PTA meetings, etc. As retired military, we highly recommend this school to all newly assigned military we come in contact with, who have elementary-aged children, especially those with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

I have had 2 children go all the way through elementary school at Kingsbury. My older child had a very positive experience, the teachers were great and very interested in the students and their learning environment. My second child was not so lucky, we had a bullying problem by a another student for the last 2 years (4th and 5th grades)My child was miserable, and cried everyday after school. to the school (as well as my husband) Nothing was ever done about this bully. We have since moved into another area of town and I am very thankful to have removed my child from that setting. I would not recommend this school now due to discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Subsidized mealsn/a
Full-pay mealsn/a
Disabledn/a
Not disabledn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 36%
White 32% 53%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (803) 775-7021

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

825 Kingsbury Rd
Sumter, SC 29154
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 775-6244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sumter Academy
Sumter, SC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT