Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Anne Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 130 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Sumter

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 27 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

After researching and prayerfully considering other schools in the area, we truly believe St Anne is the best school for our kindergartener. Our son enjoys school and being part of the St. Anne family. It is evident that the principle, teachers and staff are caring and committed to helping the students grow both academically and spiritually. As parents we love the structure the school provides and the positive impact that the St Anne's community is having on our son. Highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

St Anne is a great school. The curriculum is challenging, and the children get individual attention based on his/her learning needs. The principal, Kristi Doyle, is caring yet firm. She is open to parental suggestions. My kids are in sixth, third, and kindergarten. We have been at St Anne since my oldest daughter was in kindergarten. Of note, we are not Catholic, but we feel that St Anne is the right school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

St. Anne School has the best environment, curriculum and offers wonderful opportunities for our children. I have three children currently attending and all started in kindergarten. The faculty is not only concerned about the education of my children but also rewards and encourages Christian values and behavior. I have witnessed many acts of kindness from the students that go to our school and notice how thoughtful the students are to other students in different grades. Our two middle school children have taken part in many academic competitions and JV sports through the high school. The Principal and Vice-Principal make sure that the school is run efficiently, professionally and in a loving manner. My kids always feel comfortable coming to either of them to discuss any concerns or questions they might have. St. Anne is a school that is family oriented and our family has made many friendships for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

This is the first year my kids attended St Anne. The first thing I noticed that was truly impressive was that the principal knew every child's name in the entire school- even the new ones! The curriculum is challenging, but affords students the opportunity to excel-particulary with small class/grade sizes. The on site before and after school program and hours are great. No need to worry about transportation options. The rates are about the best in town, especially for families with multiple children. The tuition is affordable and the education and support is worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

We are new to St. Anne and South Carolina. We could not be happier with our choice. Even before the first day of school, the principal and staff went over and beyond our expectations to make sure our children were comfortable and excited about starting a new school. In fact they are still excited about going to school everyday. St. Anne has an incredible staff, caring environment, high scholastic standards, loving and involved parents which all combine to make this a wonderful place for children to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

St Anne Faculty and staff are truly interested in my daughter's success. They encourage and model respect for their students and for each other. Students are engaged in their learning process that is being provided.They provide a positive learning environment that strives to develop critical thinking and lifelong learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

St Anne is an awesome school. Our child has been there for three great years. We have over a 30 minute drive one way and we think it is worth every mile! The teachers and faculty encourage the children to do the right thing even when no one is looking. This is one of the best gifts any child can receive. Every day our child goes to St Anne he is being educated in both his mind and his heart. The staff at St Anne puts their best foot forward everyday and that is what every parent dreams of. Thank you St Anne Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

St Anne Catholic School is the obvious choice for quality education for the following reasons: 1) high academic and religious education standards, 2) dedicated teachers, 3) outstanding principal, and 4) and strong parent involvement. Small class sizes ensure individual student attention. This is why our 3 school-age children are at St Anne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

We have 2 children at St. Anne School, an 8th grade girl and a 2nd grade boy. Our 8th grader has been at St. Anne school since she was in kindergarten. Of all the area public and private schools in this area, we feel St. Anne has been the best choice we could have possibly made for our family. The teachers and faculty truly care for the intellectual and spiritual needs of every child as an individual. They always take time out of their busy day to talk to parents and children whenever a question or need arises. With the support of St. Anne School, I am confident our 2 children will grow up to become caring, confident and responsible individuals with strong moral values and character. Thank you St. Anne School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

St. Anne's Catholic School is THE best choice for my children. The teachers, staff and parents work well together to provide all students with a quality education. As a military family or a family that has lived in Sumter for generations, I have found the education to be top notch and one of the best that we have experienced. I have both elementary and middle school children. St Anne's is preparing them to be well educated, motivated and compassionate high school students and adults. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

St. Anne's is a wonderful school! Class sizes are small, allowing for more one on one interaction with students. Curriculum is challenging, keeping our son engaged throughout the educational day. I love that our son learns about God everyday. It has made a wonderful impact on our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

My daughter attends kindergarten at St. Anne's. This is her first year there and I am already thoroughly impressed! I love how she is not learning at an impressive rate academically, but spiritually as well. Her teacher and the rest of the staff are so kind and personable. You can tell that they really care about the students and take their vocation very seriously. My daughter and I very happy with the school overall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My wife and I have three children that attend, and we are very pleased with the quality of education and instruction. Our two youngest started in preschool and our oldest son started last year with fourth grade. We tried several other schools in Sumter, but none of them have matched St Anne's. The school has very high standards and they challenge the students, but they also take time to ensure each student is given the individual attention that they may need to succeed. Our son who is now a fifth grader is thriving and for the first time truly enjoys going to school. The school offers a curriculum that provides an excellent mix of academics, physical education, and spiritual growth. Our children have made many friends and really enjoy attending Saint Anne s. We are very grateful and thankful to have such a wonderful school in our community. Mr. John and Dr. Shari Martin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Both of our sons attend St. Anne; it is one of the best kept secrets in Sumter! St. Anne students consistently outperform ALL schools in the county when it comes to Iowa testing. Very high academic standards, strong curriculum and a faith-based approach toward growing the whole student are just a few reasons we think St. Anne's to be the best choice when it comes to our children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

We joined the St. Anne family in August 2012 and have had no regrets. St. Anne has a great learning environment and the small classes allow for more one on one time. It's nice to have a school where God is able to not only be recognized, but worshipped. Our son is thriving at this school. Robin and Marco Phifer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

We love St. Anne! We have two boys ages 6 and 8 who attend St. Anne and have had nothing but good experiences there. The teachers are wonderful and caring, the class sizes are small, and the administration responds very promptly to any concerns. We are so grateful that St. Anne is here in Sumter. Dr. and Mrs. Eric Reisenauer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

In early 2012, we found out that we were moving to Sumter so I immediately went onto GreatSchools.org to see what options we had for our son to attend 4th grade in the fall. Based on the comments we read, we decided to check out Saint Anne Catholic School as one of three schools. Without exception, St Anne impressed us the most, with their small family feel, strong academics and structure for their students. Our son recently started his second year at St Anne and I can't express how pleased we are with St Anne. Expectations are high at the school and my son is learning to rise to the higher standards. He has really grown in the last year and I am excited to see how much he progresses his year as well. Further, the tuition is one of the most reasonable for private schools in the area, making it the best investment you can find for your children's future! St Anne genuinely welcomes all so rest assured you and your children will feel right at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

I have two children at St. Anne School--one in middle school; one in lower school. We have been there 5 years now (in our 6th year). We came because I was impressed with the school's academics, their emphasis on character and the small classroom size. We have not been disappointed--and in fact have been more than pleased with all three. ACADEMICS. The level of teaching at St. Anne is excellent. The prestigious "big name" local prep school teaches at one level only (they openly admit this). Your child either rises to that level or must get outside challenges. They have lost students to St. Anne because of this. At St. Anne, teachers teach at the student's level, with groups of different levels in the same grade (help, if needed, but challenges for those that need it). Proof is our middle schooler, who recently tested a full FIVE grades above her current math level. (She's has also won statewide awards & honors.) We're also pleased with the emphasis on character, integrity & honesty. We like that it's small. The teachers and principal all know our kids (a problem only for those kids, when they want to get away with something!). It's a family, but a healthy one. Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

St. Anne's Catholic School is an excellent school. The teachers are compassionate and dedicated to their craft. The classrooms are clean and well maintained. The principal, Ms. Doyle, is very approachable and is very involved in all the school activities. She always takes the time to talk to the students. Their curriculum is very advanced and competitive. They do not tolerate bad behavior and always encourage the children to do good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

St. Anne's has helped my daughter blossom into a fantastic student. They are helping her realize her true potential! The teachers truly care that each student succeeds.They are very encouraging. And, the school offers a rich academic environment that allows student to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 80% 3%
Black 11% 36%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 South Magnolia Street
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: (803) 775-3632

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sumter Academy
Sumter, SC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT