Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis Xavier High School

Private | 9-12 | 34 students

We are best known for individualized attention.

 
 

Living in Sumter

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

St Francis is a wonderful school that cares. All of our children graduated from St Francis and either have gone to college or graduated from college. St Francis prepared them very well for college and careers. Their college dual enrollment gave valuable experience that AP courses just can't provide. The Principal cares and is an outstanding administrotor of the school. I am both pleased and proud that St Francis is there for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Sending my children to the public high school was NOT going to happen and being Catholic, SFXHS seemed the wisest choice. We visited the school when our oldest child was in 8th grade and decided then and there that he would attend SFXHS as a freshman. When the decision was needed for our other child, it was easy. We got exactly what we expected, plus a little more. Sure, there are some drawbacks to a small enrollment, but the benefits overshadow the drawbacks. The emphasis on education, discipline, values and community service is what I wanted for my children. The low tuition is a bonus, but I would easily pay more to affect an improvement in facilities and overall quality of some of the instructors. More enrollment would hopefully equal more parent involvement, which unfortunately is lacking currently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

This school placed me at a disadvantage. Self touted as "college prep", I can attest that this institution failed to provide me with the knowledge base to allow me to succeed at the college level. I found that throughout my college career, I credit myself far more than my high school with any success I have had. The largest problem with this school is the lack of AP classes offered. AP classes provide the most gifted of high school students to enter into college with a number of credits already earned. Another problem the school faces is it's size in general. This school is small, even by private school standards. Throughout my time here, there was anywhere from 40-50 students at most. While the school will be quick to recite how the ratio of staff to students leads to more one on one interaction, there is an issue here that won't be recited. One of the best things about having a large student body is that a student will be able to find a place to fit in, and a group if not several groups of friends. At such a small institution, a single disagreement carries throughout the entire school, and the typical high school drama gets condensed. Overall, there are better options.


Posted October 25, 2013

I am a parent of five children. Our oldest four all graduated from St. Francis Xavier High School. Our youngest is now a student there. Our oldest children have all gone on to college and YES...they went on to large colleges: USC in Columbia, Marquette University, and the College of Charleston. They have gone on for master's degrees and been commissioned as officers in our military...with college educations financed by ROTC scholarships earned by their work at this great school! Size means nothing if a student becomes a number, or a another seat filled in a classroom. At St. Francis Xavier HS, they are individuals, with unique personalities, dreams, needs, and desires. Their uniqueness is appreciated and celebrated. They gain self-confidence because they do have to participate in class, they do assume leadership roles...all under the guiding eyes of caring faculty. Sure, the building is old but is a high tech new building worth it if your child's teacher doesn't have the time to help your child and the counselor doesn't even know your child exits....? The families at this school truly care about education, children and each other...what more could you ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

St. Francis Xavier is definitely a family of students, parents, and teachers. SFXHS has small class sizes, teachers which enable the teachers to capitalize on student strengths by challenging them more, and also able to provide more individualized attention to the students who need it. The staff really knows" each student as an individual. This helps to create a "school home" where the students can feel comfortable. I truly like the fact that students are held to a strict dress and disciplinary code. Students are held accountable for their work, or lack thereof, as the case may be. Communication from teachers and staff with parents/guardians is constant. Community service and volunteerism is also a large part of what makes this school successful. Students are taught the value of giving their time and talent to the community and volunteer in different ways with the school. This is truly one of the best kepy secrets in Sumter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

St. Francis Xavier is a school paying utmost attention to academic, spiritual, personal, and physical growth. Offering personalized atmosphere with individualized attention. Striving to strengthen student morale and help them realize their intellectual and personal potential. St. Francis Xavier High School encourages community involvement, helping insure our students become responsible, productive members of society. Mrs. Lavergne (principal) and teachers all have open doors to students for any help they may need, weather school related or personal. I could not have found a better place for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

St. Francis Xavier is a remarkable school! Our daughter graduated in 2010 and is in her Senior year at Canisius College in Buffalo, New York, on a full scholarship. She was very well-prepared for college after four years at SFX HS, and participated in three different sports for the Padres. We recently hosted two European high school students who very much enjoyed a year of study at St. Francis. Our son just began his first year of high school at SFX HS. We love the family atmosphere and genuine, caring investment that the teachers make in each student. Classes are small with plenty of time for individualized instruction. Our teachers are very high caliber, very devoted to academic excellence. All students have the opportunity to engage in athletics; the emphasis is on learning about sports and anyone can join the team. It is also nice that everyone is welcome, you do not have to be Catholic, all children are valued and made to feel that they belong. We have two younger daughters and plan for them to attend St. Francis Xavier in the future. We will be a part of the Padres for many years to come. We hope to see SFX HS continue to grow; it is a wonderful place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

Do NOT let the class sizes or building appearance steer you away from this school! Unlike other private schools in Sumter, St. Francis Xavier is truly a family of students, parents, and teachers.This is our son's 8th school in 10 years of military moving. By far the smoothest transition EVER!!! He was embraced from day one and has had the opportunity to participate in Varsity cross country, basketball (amazing coaches!), student council, and various clubs-all as a new freshman. The students in his class, while all very different, have each others' backs, and respect for all is a given. St Francis, while small, is a very diverse group of students; surprisingly, many are not Catholic, and they all fit right in. The teachers have the time and resources to provide very individualized attention at a college prep level (or higher), and the principal is a gem! I am astounded at the amount of scholarships she helps her seniors obtain. In addition to all of this, our son is experiencing a faith-based education in a safe environment. This is the high school experience all students deserve!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Love St Francis for my son. We are not Catholic, but that is not a prerequisite for attending the school. It is a small school, which gives teachers plenty of time to focus on the individual. The classes are College Prep and challenge the students to expand their minds. The teachers are always ready to tutor by staying after school, during lunch, or coming in early to help. Their basketball team is awesome! The Coach is the best. The school doesn't offer all the niceties that other schools offer, but much of that is all fluff that most students don't utilize anyway. St Francis is a family led by the matriarch/principal (Susan Lavergne). Best choice we made for our kid was to take him out of Sumter School District!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

SFXHS is the most caring and supportive school with which I have ever been associated. The staff is excellent and dedicated. If a child is having problems, they are there to tutor or guide. Even the kids who are not the best at athletics play varsity sports. They religious - not just Catholic-values are encouraged and reinforced. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

The best thing about SFXHS is the warm and caring environment. My daughter actually wants to talk to the Principal when she has a problem - and she can! The staff is completely accessible to the students and the school is small enough for people to know each other on sight. SFXHS is not only a school that has received extremely high numbers of scholarships for their graduates but makes parents feel comfortable that their students are in a safe, academically oriented school that is the next best thing to home schooling your child yourself. Negativity, fighting, bullying and other behaviors are simply not tolerated. I know when I drop my daughter off at school that I can be comfortable that not only is she getting the best quality education possible but also she is learning in the best possible atmosphere. Give this gift to your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This school really is Sumter's best kept secret. The students have gotten great scholarships to schools like Marquette, Villanova, Notre Dame, Catholic University of America as well as USC, Clemson, The Citadel and COC. The teachers are very qualified and caring. The students get to participate in most sports and even won the state championship in basketball one year. Students participate in Mock trial(taking four firsts), quiz bowl and many community activities. You owe it to yourself and your student to check this great school out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

SFXHS is Sumter's best kept secret!! Caring and qualified staff. Small class size so students get more one on one attention. The kids are very involved in their community and give of their time and talent. It is college prep and the students are well prepared for college. 90% of students go on to college. Scholarships for students are out of thi


Posted November 1, 2005

SFXHS is a great school. Yes, it is very small and no it is not cheap. However, it is a college prep school and it definitely does prepare it students for college. Because of it's small size the teachers are able to work closely with the students and the teachers and staff actually care about the kids and seem to enjoy their jobs--certainly not true in some schools. I encourage anyone looking for a high school in the Sumter area to check out SFX.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 50%
Black 21% 43%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St. Anne School
Alice Drive Middle School
Sumter High School
Colleges most students attend after graduation USC Columbia,
College of Charleston
Clemson
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Susan V. Lavergne
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (803) 775-0119

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • We have ideal student-teacher ratio. This allows us to monitr the work and progress of each individual student. Students are also given more opportunities to participate in sports and extra-curricular activities due to our size. Many of our parents have commente don our &#34family&#34 atmosphere&#34. We care about each and every student as a family member and parents are fully involved in the educational process.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Anne School
Alice Drive Middle School
Sumter High School

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
USC Columbia,
College of Charleston
Clemson
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 School St
Sumter, SC 29150
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 773-0210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sumter Academy
Sumter, SC






Wilson Hall
Sumter, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT