Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Greer Middle College Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 401 students

We are best known for rigorous academics and dual-credit opportunities.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

The teachers and staff do an outstanding job communicating information and all opportunities for the students. They are proud of the staff, school, and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I have never seen a faculty and staff who cared more for their students. The leadership of this school sores above any other school in Greenville County. The teachers are always willing to help a child who may be struggling in a class. Personal Experience: my daughter needed help in Biology but had another school committment after school. The teacher told my daughter to complete her other 45 minute committment and she would wait for her - this was same day notice. The teacher dropped whatever she had planned after school to help my child. This is not the only time/teacher to do this. GMC is a young small charter school and doesn't have a building yet (still in portables), but they allow the limited resouces keep them from supporting the students. Most importantly, they strive to teach children "community service". The number of opportunites the school has provided to the students to focus on others and the less fortunate are amazing. I am just sad that I only have one child to experience the GMC life. She is ending her junior year which means I only have 1 year left with this school. It will be sad. GMC is doing amazing things for the students and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Greer Middle College is an amazing school The teachers show that they care and take the time to help the students. The school is also great because it allows high school student the opportunity to take college courses. This is very helpful because it both saves them money it helps narrow the perspective for college. Again the school shows that they care all the time. I think it is the best high school in all is South Carolina.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2014

Greer Middle College Charter High School is by far the best school we have been involved with. They care about their students and take a serious approach to education. It really feels like one big family. The kids care about each other in a way I have not seen in other schools. The academics help them to be better prepared for college and the real world. By having them do a senior project where they create a product and/or event this helps them become organized and more mature. I have a daughter who is a Senior and a son who is a Sophomore. These are two kids who were very shy and now are leaders in groups like FCA, Prom committee, Beta, student government, and others. They also play sports and love it. GMC has given them opportunities to be more than they ever expected. The teachers are very helpful. They stay late to help students with anything they are having difficulty in. My daughter has gotten help with her college math class. She wants to be an Education Math Major and can see herself coming back to GMC to be a teacher there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

The thing that makes this school great are the teachers, faculty and staff. The teachers at GMC bend over backwards to help your child to succeed. They have very friendly staff that are just an email away and answer your questions very promptly. The advisors are priceless. They spend so much time with your child from Freshman year forward, explaining to these kids how important grades are and spending time with them planning their college future. They meet with parent when ever parents would like to and are involved with your child throughout their high school experience. Great atmosphere to send your child to school. The principal knows the kids by name, he mingles with the kids and has a repair with them. The kids love him and they respect him. He is very involved in helping them be successful and is very open to meeting with parents if a problem arises or parents have concerns about a particular course of study and is willing to make changes if necessary. He is proactive in the students academic lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Our son is a freshman for the 2013-2014 school year. The teachers are involved with the kids, they care about the kids, and they challenge the kids. Teachers are available; they communicate well and keep parents informed. The office staff members are amazingly helpful. The whole organization works hard to prepare kids for their futures as productive citizens in the community and in the world. There is not enough praise for these outstanding individuals and the school. It is simply amazing and we are very blessed to be a part of GMC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about GMC. It has provided an incredible opportunity for my daughter to have some of the best teachers around. They have taught her that it is okay to ask for help and that the teachers are more than willing to help. The staff and the teachers know the kids and want all of them to succeed in everything that they do in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

GMC as it is referred to, is a warm and friendly public charter school. Teachers and administration are dedicated to their job, but genuinely care about the students growth in their education as well as becoming a productive, responsible adult. The school is supported by the parent volunteers who run the lunch program, clean classrooms, etc. The school encourages parents help at the school and our involvement in our teens daily life. Which is awesome these days. Students can attend college classes at the community college for dual credit. Teachers support a great academic assistance program for students.The school is housed in trailers until funds can be raised to build a school, but the students and staff make the best of it, even on rainy days. A school building with lockers and a gym where all the students could gather together at one time is the only thing that would make this a better school. Teachers are here who love to teach and care about the individual as a whole person, we have caring administrative staff, and parents that want to help their child succeed and take a part in that daily, all the right components are here at Greer Middle College Charter High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I love my school! I am a sophomore at Greer Middle College Charter High School, and I am taking my first college classes this semester. The academic opportunities here are unlike any other. The teachers do all they can to help me be successful, and the required community service hours provide a chance for me to give back to my community. I thrive in the close family-like atmosphere. There is no other school I would want to attend. I love being a Blazer!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2013

GMC has been a wonderful choice for our family. The small class sizes, excellent academic curriculum, respectful atmosphere, school dress code with uniforms, and the opportunity to take college classes are just some of the reasons we love Greer Middle College Charter High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

My kids in 9th and 11th grade love going to school here. I feel so fortunate to be a part of GMC. The teachers are excellent, one told me that after years of teaching in the public school system, working at GMC was the first time she felt like she could really teach. Being able to take college classes is an added bonus. Because of it's small size (400 students), my kids are not lost in the shuffle of a traditional high school. Just an all around great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Greer Middle College Charter High School is a high school and is finishing its second year as of now, March 2010. It started out last year with only 9th graders. Now it has 9th and 10th graders. Each year it will add another class until it has all four years. Currently the high school classes are taught in portables. Eventually the school will have a permanent building. My daughter's favorite part of this school are the college classes. The high school sits on the Greer campus of Greenville Technical College. In her sophomore year of high school she has taken college level computer, psychology, history, and music classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • William F. Roach, Jr.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (864) 469-7573

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Game club
  • National Honor Society
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • All are required to volunteer their time
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Greer Middle College is a public, charter high school on the Greer campus of Greenville Technical College. While offering students the opportunity to take dual credit college classes, students are required to follow a dress code and perform 50 hours a year of volunteer service in the community. We are open to any student in Greenville County. Our charter allows 100 students per grade with no more than 420 students in the school. A lottery is held to determine enrollment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
145
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
220

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

138 West McElhaney Rd.
Taylors, SC 29687
Website: Click here
Phone: (864) 469-7571

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT