Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Springdale Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 17, 2013

My three children attend this school. It has been by far the BEST ever experience with a School. They genuinely care for the children there and do their best to help the children reach their goals. I would recommend this School to everyone. They have wonderful teachers that want to take part in kids lives instead of just being there for a paycheck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My three children have all attended Springdale Elementary. I am very pleased with the quality education they've received as well as the love & care from the teachers, administrators & staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this school, even so I think it's one of the best in SC. The school was very fast to express that my oldest son was perfect for "Gifted" program, sending notes home and such from the start of the school year. However, my youngest son is having a hard time, but the first I heard of this was on his first report card "I am VERY concerned about "child's name" with this and the things he is telling me he's been "pushed to the back of the class" But not once have we recived and phone calls about him, just notes quoting notes I send. I feel the are spending more time helping the kids that make them look good and casting out a child who need extra att. I know my children's education is very important and I try to help him, but I'm no teacher nor very good at it, this is why I send him to school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

My son started kindergarten at this school (2012) and we just love this school! all the teachers and staff were GREAT! Sadly we have moved to NC during the Christmas break... I can not express enough how much we will miss everyone!! Thank you for everything guys!! Missing you all :( Zakk and Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

My daughter attends Springdale currently and my son attended Springdale. We love, love, love this school, the staff, the teachers, principal, vice principal and custodian!!!!! I cried when my son finished his 5th grade year; one because he was growing up and moving on to middle school, but secondly, because he was leaving the most extraordinary school I have ever had dealings with. The parent involvement is like none other I have ever seen and I have dealt with every elementary school in our district. My oldest daughter attended all of them, except Springdale unfortunately (due to our moving) and Springdale is by far the most exceptional school of them all!!! I wish Springdale went all the way through the 12th grade!!!!! Children are truly treasured at this school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I love this school! This is my daughter's first year and I couldn't be more pleased. The staff welcomed us the first time we stepped in the school. When the principle and vice principle heard that I was enrolling my child, they both came out of their offices and made us feel like we were home. Since the first of the year, all staff including office, teachers and custodians make us feel like were are all family. The programs, events and ALL the interactions between staff, parents and children have surpassed all of what I had hoped and prayed for. I could never say enough awesome thiings about Springdale. The love and dedication they have for every student speaks for itself. So thank you for all that you do for our children..... Go dolphins!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I have had 3 children attend this school and have had the best experiences in every grade. The faculty and staff are absolutely the best! Even the custodian is actively involved and loves the children just as he is loved by the children and parents. My family sadly had to move away and we miss Springdale so much! No other school could compare!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2009

In my opinion Springdale is a very good schoo. All three of my children attend there now, and I have been pleased with the parent-teacher involvement. The principal is outstanding and works with the parents and kids himself. I have been very pleased so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter is a 3rd grader of Springdale and has been attending since kindergarten. This year has been and adjustment with the new principal. He has brought a lot of change and he has a great vision. He seems to be very dedicated and I applaud him. The teachers and staff have always been amazing. Springdale is a great school used to provide higher learning for students K-5th grade. I am awaiting to send my son on next year. Keep up the good work Springdale.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 80% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 75% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 74% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students72%
Female82%
Male63%
African-American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White72%
Subsidized meals69%
Full-pay meals74%
Disabled32%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%

Math

All Students66%
Female63%
Male68%
African-American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White70%
Subsidized meals63%
Full-pay meals68%
Disabled35%
Not disabled79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%

Science

All Students62%
Female64%
Male60%
African-Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White63%
Subsidized meals61%
Full-pay meals62%
Disabled30%
Not disabled72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Social Studies

All Students75%
Female79%
Male69%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Subsidized meals59%
Full-pay meals87%
Disabled46%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%

Writing

All Students67%
Female76%
Male59%
African-American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White67%
Subsidized meals66%
Full-pay meals68%
Disabled17%
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students85%
Female89%
Male82%
African-American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White87%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals86%
Disabled64%
Not disabled89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Not migrant85%

Math

All Students88%
Female95%
Male82%
African-American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled58%
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Science

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
African-American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White81%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals81%
Disabled42%
Not disabled84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant78%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female92%
Male82%
African-American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals79%
Full-pay meals93%
Disabled67%
Not disabled91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant87%

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male84%
African-American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Subsidized meals85%
Full-pay meals90%
Disabled54%
Not disabled95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

English/Language Arts

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
African-American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals91%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%

Math

All Students81%
Female77%
Male85%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Subsidized meals81%
Full-pay meals81%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant81%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Subsidized meals87%
Full-pay meals78%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant82%

Social Studies

All Students86%
Female81%
Male90%
African-Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Subsidized meals75%
Full-pay meals95%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant86%

Writing

All Students75%
Female72%
Male79%
African-American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Subsidized meals74%
Full-pay meals76%
Disabledn/a
Not disabled81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Carolina used the Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (PASS) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in Writing, English/Language Arts, Math, Social Studies and Science. The PASS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of South Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the South Carolina Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Carolina Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 53%
Black 19% 36%
Hispanic 16% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

361 Wattling Rd
West Columbia, SC 29170
Website: Click here
Phone: (803) 739-7175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Covenant Christian Academy
West Columbia, SC





Pineview Elementary School
West Columbia, SC


Grace Christian School
West Columbia, SC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT